The 5 most important factors for a property search | key4.ch

The 5 most important factors for a property search

© Getty Images
13.01.2021 | 5 minutes

Your own house and garden, designed according to your personal wishes and ideas: this is a dream shared by many people. Whether you want to live close to the city or in the middle of nature, your choice of home must be well thought out.

Serious financial planning is essential when preparing to buy real estate. It is equally important to take a close look at your desired property and future place of residence. The following five points should be on every home buyer’s checklist:

1. Property location

Many people think this is first and foremost a matter of personal inclination: a short commute or proximity to family. While preferences of this kind are not insignificant when buying a home, many other factors put property location at the top of the list of criteria. After all, it determines the purchase price – and its future development – to a considerable extent. That’s why it’s so important to inform yourself in detail about the location, the infrastructure and the neighborhood or surrounding area before making a decision:

Infrastructure

Anyone who examines property details, monitors real estate listings and studies sales particulars will find that a fundamental distinction is made between the macro-location and micro-location, i.e. the spatial environment in the broader and narrower sense. When it comes to the macro-location, the city’s infrastructure is crucial: are there stores, schools, doctors, restaurants and recreational facilities available locally? How good are the local or public transportation connections?

The following points are often taken as key criteria for determining the macro-location:

  • Population structure
  • Economic development, industries
  • Public institutions (offices, courts, administrations, etc.)
  • Transportation infrastructure and connections (airport, rail, roads, etc.)

The focus is therefore on economic and structural aspects. The macro-situation covers the bigger picture: the region, the canton, the city or the district. The quality of the infrastructure and hence the attractiveness of the region is vital for determining the price of the property.

If you are looking for an investment property, you can focus on objective criteria that influence the value of the property. When buying your own home, on the other hand, the macro-location is often based on subjective criteria such as proximity to the workplace.

Neighborhood

The micro-location describes the direct surroundings of a property, i.e. the immediate neighborhood: what population groups live in the area? Is it a quiet or lively area? Is there a bus stop right outside the door, or will you need a car?

The following points are usually relevant for the micro-location:

  • Noise influences
  • House condition
  • Shopping facilities and provision of services (doctors, schools, etc.)
  • Public transportation and road access
  • Distance from the city or town center
  • Leisure and recreational opportunities
  • Social status

2. The municipality as a location factor

The municipality the property is situated in has an impact on the taxes you will have to pay. Local factors also affect the property value and future price development.

Taxes

Generally, all taxes related to a property are paid to the canton or municipality in which it is located.

These include:

  • income tax
  • property tax
  • real estate gains tax on the sale of a property
  • real estate transfer tax, which is due even without a sale if you inherit (receive) or give away a property
  • real estate tax, which depends on the market value of the property

The complexities of tax legislation can quickly become confusing, so it’s advisable to seek advice from a professional. Click here for an overview of potential tax deductions in connection with home ownership.

A lake and a church with a pointed tower can be seen in front of a mountain panorama.
© Getty Images

3. Assess renovation needs

Another important question to answer before buying a property is: what condition is the house in? Especially when acquiring an older property, you should think about the costs of renovation early on. Tax savings are possible thanks to modernization measures.

The following tips will help you to assess the renovation requirements of the property:

Tip 1: stay realistic

With a little paint here and some new flooring there, you will be able to transform a tumbledown property into your dream home. At least this is the impression given by various TV shows. But renovation is not quite that simple. And in the worst-case scenario, you will not only exceed your budget, but also delay the move-in date.

That’s why it’s worth visiting a property with a cool head. Don’t underestimate the work involved and above all, don’t let yourself be blinded by appearances. This is true in both a positive and negative sense: always ask yourself if you could be losing interest in a property simply because you are bothered by minor “cosmetic” details such as the wall color, decorating style or landscaping, or whether you are allowing yourself to become distracted from genuine shortcomings by perfect visual staging.

Tip 2: uncover any hidden renovation needs

In addition to obvious defects such as the condition of the facade, windows and floor, there are usually some virtually invisible traps lurking in most properties. There could be a latent need for modernization in the following areas:

  • Heating system
  • Moisture damage
  • Heating, ventilation, air conditioning etc. (electricity and plumbing)
  • Thermal insulation

Especially when it comes to thermal insulation, you can do your share of research: the incidental expenses give an indication of the energy status of a house, for example. Likewise, documents about any renovations carried out by the current owner provide a certain amount of key data on the condition of the property. This information can be requested from the seller.

Tip 3: call in experts and draw up an inventory

If you’ve lost your heart to an older property, you won’t be able to avoid comprehensive modernization, or perhaps rehabilitation. But more recent properties generally require renovation too. Even if you follow tip 2 and investigate potential defects yourself, it’s not easy for a layman to evaluate the resulting renovation costs and the work involved. To get a reliable result, it makes sense to seek advice from an expert, be it an architect, a construction manager or a real estate consultant.

In order to maintain an overview, it’s a good idea to draw up an inventory of the current state of the property with the help of the expert. Make a note alongside each component if and when it will need replacing. You should also ask an expert to estimate the cost of each measure and specify it on your list.

This estimate will also allow you to plan the annual reserves, which must cover the cost of any work that arises.

4. Purchase price and financial viability

Before taking out a mortgage, there are some important questions to answer about financing the property: what is your current financial situation? How much equity do you have available? What about affordability? What type of mortgage is suitable? And finally: is the offer price within your range?

When you first start searching for property, however, the one vital question is: what can I afford? The answer: the maximum cost of a new home depends on the income of the prospective buyers – and on how much money they can invest from their savings. Our purchase price calculator will give you an idea of the purchase price you can afford in your current financial situation.

The key4 mortgage calculator is another useful tool. It calculates the approximate monthly mortgage costs, taking into account the purchase price, equity and gross income, giving an idea of what to expect for different purchase prices.

A balcony and neighboring house are visible from an unclad converted attic.
© Getty Images

5. Have your dossier ready

Attractive properties are in short supply and, given the large number of interested parties, your offer for your dream house won’t necessarily be accepted. Consequently, an essential question for buyers is: how do I improve my chances of obtaining a purchase contract? One method is to prepare your financing documents in advance.

These documents can be requested beforehand. This means you won’t lose valuable time when submitting your mortgage application, which could prevent another prospective buyer from beating you to it.

Documents can be useful even when arranging an initial viewing appointment. Sellers and real estate agents appreciate it when prospective buyers can produce a financing certificate. This indicates whether potential customers can, in principle, afford their desired property – in the opinion of a financing partner. At key4, you can easily have a financing certificate issued digitally within one business day. This will enable you to emphasize the seriousness of your interest right from the start.

Speed and the right preparation are also assets in the next step: the mortgage application. Before granting a mortgage, all banks and insurance companies are required by law to examine each loan application specifically and comprehensively. In addition to full documentation about the property, the mortgage dossier also includes credit assessment documents:

  • Your last tax return
  • Your current salary statement incl. bonus information for the last three years
  • Details of the composition of equity
  • Your current debt collection statement
  • A list of expenses for fixed financial obligations (e.g. costs of main and/or second home, leasing, alimony, etc.)
  • Pension assets (pension fund statement, vested benefits accounts, pillar 3, life/death risk insurance policies)
  • Valid official ID
  • For self-employed persons: financial statements / balance sheets from the last three years

These documents can be requested beforehand. This means you won’t lose valuable time when submitting your mortgage application, which could prevent another prospective buyer from beating you to it.

Conclusion: good preparation is the key to success

Buying your own home is a big investment. This makes it all the more important to take a close look at your desired property and your future place of residence. The factors listed above represent a guide so that you will know what to pay special attention to and how to prepare. Because narrowing down your search not only saves valuable time and nerves, but also costs.


Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

5 facteurs essentiels pour la recherche d’un bien immobilier

© Getty Images
13.01.2021 | 5 minutes

Quatre murs à soi, un jardin, tous deux conçus selon ses envies et ses idées personnelles: beaucoup de gens ont ce projet en tête. Que ce soit à proximité de la ville ou en pleine nature, le choix d’un logement en propriété doit faire l’objet d’une réflexion approfondie.

Une planification financière sérieuse est essentielle lors de la préparation. Toutefois, il est tout aussi important d’examiner de près le bien immobilier envisagé et le futur lieu de résidence. Les cinq éléments suivants doivent figurer sur chaque check-list lors de l’achat d’une maison:

1. Emplacement du bien immobilier

La plupart des gens pensent, ici, avant tout à leurs préférences personnelles: un court trajet pour se rendre au travail ou la proximité de la famille. Si ces préférences personnelles ne sont pas sans importance lors de l’achat d’une maison, de nombreux autres facteurs font de l’emplacement le critère le plus important lors de l’achat d’une maison. Après tout, c’est lui qui détermine dans une large mesure le prix d’achat – et les développements de valeur futurs. Il est donc important de s’informer de près sur l’emplacement, l’infrastructure et le voisinage ou les environs avant d’acheter:

Infrastructure

Lorsque l’on s’informe au sujet d’un bien immobilier, que l’on sonde les annonces publicitaires et que l’on étudie les exposés, on remarque qu’une distinction fondamentale est faite entre la macro-localisation et la micro-localisation, c’est-à-dire l’environnement spatial au sens large et étroit. Dans le cas de la macro-localisation, la prise en compte de l’infrastructure d’une ville est déterminante: y a-t-il à proximité des magasins, des écoles, des médecins, des restaurants et des équipements de loisirs? Quelles sont les liaisons en transports locaux ou transports publics?

Les points suivants sont souvent utilisés comme critères centraux pour déterminer la macro-localisation:

  • structure de la population
  • développement économique, industries
  • institutions publiques (bureaux, tribunaux, administrations, etc.)
  • infrastructures de transport et leurs connexions (aéroport, train, routes, etc.)

L’accent est mis, ici, sur les aspects économiques et structurels. La macro-localisation couvre donc l’ensemble: la région, le canton, la ville ou le quartier. La qualité des infrastructures et donc l’attractivité de la région est déterminante pour le prix du bien immobilier.

Les personnes qui recherchent un bien immobilier comme investissement peuvent se concentrer sur des critères objectifs qui déterminent la valeur du bien immobilier. S’il s’agit de la maison personnelle, en revanche, ce sont souvent des critères subjectifs qui déterminent la macro-localisation, comme par exemple la proximité du lieu de travail.

Voisinage

La micro-localisation désigne l’environnement direct d’un bien immobilier, c’est-à-dire le voisinage immédiat: quels sont les groupes de population qui vivent à proximité? S’agit-il d’un quartier calme ou animé? Y a-t-il un arrêt de bus juste devant la porte ou a-t-on besoin d’une voiture?

Les points suivants sont généralement pertinents en matière de micro-localisation:

  • exposition au bruit
  • état des maisons environnantes
  • commerces et services (médecins, écoles, etc.)
  • transports publics et liaisons routières
  • distance par rapport à la ville ou au centre-ville
  • équipements de loisirs et de détente
  • statut social

2. La commune comme facteur de localisation

La commune a un impact sur les impôts en tant que localisation. En outre, des facteurs locaux influencent la valeur et l’évolution de la valeur d’un bien immobilier.

Fiscalité

En principe, tous les impôts relatifs aux biens immobiliers sont versés au canton ou à la commune dans laquelle se trouve le bien immobilier.

Il s’agit notamment de:

  • l’impôt sur le revenu
  • l’impôt sur la fortune
  • l’impôt sur les gains immobiliers lors de la vente d’un bien immobilier
  • les droits de mutation, qui sont dus même sans vente si vous héritez (recevez) ou donnez un bien
  • l’impôt foncier, dont le montant dépend de la valeur marchande du bien immobilier

Les complexités du droit fiscal pouvant rapidement devenir confuses, il est conseillé de demander l’avis d’un spécialiste. Vous trouverez, ici, un aperçu des déductions fiscales possibles pour les logements en propriété.

Devant un panorama de montagnes se trouvent un lac et une église avec une flèche pointue.
© Getty Images

3. Évaluer les besoins de rénovation

Autre question importante à laquelle il faut répondre avant d’acheter un bien immobilier: dans quel état se trouve la maison? Notamment pour les biens immobiliers anciens, il convient de réfléchir très tôt aux coûts de rénovation. Il est également possible d’économiser des impôts grâce à certaines mesures de modernisation.

Les conseils suivants aident à évaluer les besoins de rénovation du bien immobilier.

Conseil 1: rester réaliste

Un peu de peinture par-ci, un nouveau revêtement de sol par-là, et le taudis se transforme en maison de rêve. C’est du moins l’impression que l’on a en regardant diverses émissions de télévision. Cependant, une rénovation est loin d’être aussi simple. Et dans le pire des cas, on dépasse son budget en plus de retarder la date de l’emménagement.

Cela vaut donc la peine de visiter un bien immobilier avec la tête froide, de ne pas sous-estimer les travaux nécessaires et surtout de ne pas se laisser éblouir par les apparences. Cela vaut dans un sens à la fois positif et négatif: demandez-vous, dans chaque cas, si vous perdez l’intérêt pour un bien immobilier simplement parce que des éléments «cosmétiques» mineurs, comme la couleur des murs, le style de décoration ou l’aménagement du jardin, vous gênent. Ou bien si vous passez outre de véritables défauts en raison d’une mise en scène esthétique parfaite.

Conseil 2: découvrir les besoins cachés en matière de rénovation

Outre les défauts évidents, comme l’état de la façade, des fenêtres et du sol, il existe quelques pièges quasi invisibles qui se cachent dans la plupart des biens immobiliers. Un besoin de modernisation potentiel peut notamment être dissimulé dans

  • le système de chauffage
  • des dégâts causés par l’humidité
  • l’équipement technique (installations électriques et sanitaires)
  • l’isolation thermique

Vous pouvez faire votre part de recherche, surtout en matière d’isolation thermique: on peut trouver des indications au sujet de l’état énergétique d’une maison dans les charges, par exemple. De même, les documents relatifs aux rénovations effectuées par le propriétaire actuel fournissent certaines données clés sur l’état du bien immobilier. Ceux-ci peuvent être récupérés auprès du vendeur.

Conseil 3: faire appel à des experts et dresser un inventaire

Si vous avez eu un coup de cœur pour un bien immobilier vieillissant, vous ne pourrez pas éviter une modernisation complète voire un assainissement. Néanmoins, même les biens immobiliers plus récents doivent généralement être rénovés. Même si vous suivez le conseil 2 et si vous vous informez au sujet des défauts éventuels, il n’est pas facile pour un profane d’estimer les coûts ainsi que l’ampleur des travaux de rénovation. Pour obtenir une estimation fiable, il est donc recommandé de demander l’avis d’un expert, qu’il s’agisse d’un architecte, d’un maître d’œuvre ou d’un conseiller immobilier.

Afin de garder une vue d’ensemble, il est conseillé de dresser, avec l’expert, un inventaire de la situation actuelle. Derrière chaque élément, notez si celui-ci doit être renouvelé et à quel moment. Il est également conseillé de demander à un expert d’estimer le coût de chaque mesure et de le noter ici.

Sur la base de cette estimation, il est également possible de planifier les réserves annuelles, qui devront couvrir les coûts des éventuels travaux.

4. Prix d’achat et viabilité financière

Avant de souscrire une hypothèque, il est important de répondre à quelques questions importantes concernant le financement du bien immobilier: quelle est la situation financière actuelle? Quelle est la quantité de fonds propres disponibles? Qu’en est-il de la
capacité financière? Quelle forme d’hypothèque convient le mieux? Et enfin: le prix de l’offre se situe-t-il dans la fourchette?

Au tout début de la recherche du bien immobilier, il y a cependant une question centrale, à savoir: que puis-je me permettre? La réponse: le coût de la nouvelle maison dépend des revenus et des économies que les acheteurs potentiels peuvent investir. Notre calculateur de prix d’achat vous donnera une impression du prix d’achat que vous pouvez vous permettre dans votre situation financière actuelle.

Le calculateur d’hypothèque de key4 apporte une aide supplémentaire. Il calcule les coûts hypothécaires mensuels approximatifs, en tenant compte du prix d’achat, des fonds propres et du revenu brut, et donne ainsi une impression de ce à quoi il faut s’attendre selon différents prix d’achat.

Depuis un grenier aménagé sans revêtement, on peut voir le balcon et une maison voisine.
© Getty Images

5. Avoir un dossier prêt à présenter

Les biens immobiliers attrayants sont rares, et en raison du nombre élevé d’acheteurs potentiels, il n’est pas évident de recevoir une réponse positive pour la maison de ses rêves. Une question essentielle pour les acheteurs est donc: comment améliorer mes chances d’obtenir un contrat de vente? Une méthode consiste à préparer les documents de financement.

Ces documents peuvent être préparés à l’avance. Ainsi, vous ne perdez pas un temps précieux lors du dépôt du dossier d’hypothèque et vous évitez qu’une autre partie intéressée ne vous passe devant.

Cela commence dès l’organisation du rendez-vous pour la visite. Les vendeurs et les agents immobiliers apprécient que les acheteurs potentiels puissent présenter un certificat de financement. Celui-ci montre si les clients potentiels peuvent théoriquement se permettre le bien immobilier souhaité selon un partenaire financier. Chez key4, vous pouvez facilement demander un certificat de financement par voie numérique en un jour ouvrable. De cette manière, vous confirmez d’emblée le sérieux de votre intérêt.

La rapidité et une préparation appropriée sont également des atouts pour l’étape suivante: la demande d’hypothèque. Lors de l’octroi d’hypothèques, toutes les banques et les compagnies d’assurance sont tenues par la loi d’effectuer des contrôles spécifiques et complets du crédit en question. Outre une documentation complète sur le bien immobilier, le dossier d’hypothèque doit également comprendre des documents relatifs à la vérification de la solvabilité:

  • dernière déclaration d’impôt
  • certificat de salaire actuel, y compris les informations sur les primes pour les 3 dernières années
  • composition des fonds propres
  • extrait actuel du casier judiciaire
  • compilation des dépenses pour les obligations financières fixes (p. ex. frais domicile principal et/ou secondaire, crédit-bail, pension alimentaire, etc.)
  • avoir de prévoyance (certificat de caisse de pension, comptes de libre passage, 3e pilier, assurance vie / risque de décès)
  • carte d’identité officielle en cours de validité
  • Pour les indépendants: états financiers / bilans des 3 dernières années

Ces documents peuvent être préparés à l’avance. Ainsi, vous ne perdez pas un temps précieux lors du dépôt du dossier d’hypothèque et vous évitez qu’une autre partie intéressée ne vous passe devant.

Conclusion: la préparation est la clé du succès.

L’achat d’un logement en propriété est un investissement important. Il est donc indispensable que vous examiniez attentivement le bien que vous souhaitez acquérir et votre futur lieu de résidence. Les facteurs mentionnés ci-dessus vous donneront une orientation sur ce à quoi vous devez prêter une attention particulière et votre manière de vous préparer. En effet, le fait de limiter votre recherche vous permet de gagner du temps, de ménager vos nerfs et aussi de réduire les coûts.


Prêt(e) pour la meilleure offre?


Restez au fait de l’actualité

Lisez régulièrement des articles passionnants et recevez des conseils utiles en lien avec l’achat d’une maison ou d’un appartement.

S’abonner à la newsletter key4

Ce site utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience sur notre site. Vous trouverez plus d’informations dans la déclaration de confidentialité. Vous pouvez modifier vos paramètres de cookies dans les paramètres de confidentialité. Accédez aux paramètres de confidentialité