The bidding process: buy your dream home at auction

© Getty Images
28.01.2021 | 2 minutes

In Switzerland, more and more properties are changing hands through the bidding process. This purchase method is becoming increasingly popular, especially in metropolitan areas. In this process, several competing prospective buyers submit bids for a property. We explain how it works.

Anyone who wants to buy a house is more and more frequently encountering the bidding process as a method of sale. In this process, the seller advertises the property, lists all the relevant information about it and proposes at least one viewing appointment. After inspecting the property, the prospective buyers submit their bids in several bidding rounds, like in a standard auction.

In some cases, however, the process starts with initial bids from prospective buyers. After that, the seller decides who to invite to look round the property. In contrast to a conventional auction or forced sale, the bids are not binding for the interested parties. This means that even the highest bidder can withdraw their purchase offer at any time.

Buying your dream home via the bidding process: this is how it works

Anyone wishing to participate in a bidding process should be familiar with what’s involved. To ensure a transparent and fair auction, the seller should clearly communicate at the outset what the process will be. They should be as open as possible about when a viewing will be organized, the number of rounds in which interested parties can submit bids, and the deadline for each one. Typically, the bidding process then proceeds as follows:

1. Look at the exposé

Each bidding process starts with the exposé. In it, the seller provides all the relevant information about the property such as the location, size, year of construction, floor plan and condition. Ideally, informative pictures, a viewing date and a clear schedule should also be given. A minimum bid is not required, so in some cases interested parties are asked to estimate the price. According to the basic information from the exposé, a price range of how much the property is worth can be calculated using the key4 property assessment tool. The calculator is available free of charge and enables you to gain a more precise idea of the price before the bidding process begins.

2. View the property

During the viewing, prospective buyers get a feel for whether the property really could be their dream home. They also have the chance to make sure that the information in the exposé is accurate. This is especially important when no minimum price is required for a purchase: first visit the house, then make an offer.

In the course of the actual viewing, it’s advisable to have an expert with you – this could be a representative from your bank, a real estate agent or an architect. They can help determine a fair price for the property.

3. Apply for a financing certificate

If a property has attracted the interest of a potential buyer, it’s a good idea to obtain financing confirmation from a mortgage provider. The financing certificate is a non-binding assessment of your financial situation and shows that you can afford a property up to a certain purchase price. Especially when buyers are taking part in a bidding process, this shows them exactly what’s feasible and how high their maximum bid for the property can be. The seller, in turn, can be sure that the buyer can actually finance their bid. This can give participants an advantage over other bidders. The financing certificate, also called financing confirmation, can easily be applied for online from key 4 and is issued within 24 hours.

A woman is sitting at a desk, looking thoughtfully at a tablet; papers with diagrams and a laptop are lying on the desk.
© Getty Images

4. Place a bid

Purchase offers are collected by a fixed deadline announced in advance. You are relatively free when making your initial bid because the bids of the other interested parties are not yet known. The basis for your bid is of course the purchase price range specified on the financing certificate. Especially for laypersons, it makes sense to obtain advice from the bank to ensure that you make an adequate bid. You shouldn’t exhaust the purchase price range in the first bid because you need to be able to go on to outbid the highest bid in the next round. However, if your bid is too low, this could indicate lower interest on the part of the buyer. It’s important to find the right balance.

5. Wait for the highest bid and outbid it

After all the prospective buyers have placed their bids, the seller announces the highest bid. The participants then have the opportunity to outbid the highest bidder. The seller usually sets a deadline for this. If necessary, it should be possible to renegotiate, ask additional questions about guarantees on the construction or make further visits.

6. Further bidding rounds

In some cases, a bidding process may have up to four rounds. However, the seller should specify this beforehand. This means that after the first bid and the announcement of the highest offer, the interested parties are given a chance to bid several more times. This drives up the price, but interested parties can also drop out and withdraw their bids at any time. It’s important not to exceed the budget specified on the financing certificate.

7. Your offer is accepted

If the seller accepts the bid submitted by an interested party, the bidding process is over. The next steps are the same as for any type of real estate purchase: signing the purchase contract and recording a new entry in the land register.

The highest bid doesn’t always win

Buyers should keep in mind that not only the highest bid is decisive. As with ordinary house sales, many sellers decide on the basis of whether they like the potential buyer, despite the bidding process. As well as the actual amount of the offer, the seller may appreciate the fact that a buyer doesn’t want to convert the property, or is looking for a home for their family. So even if you don’t have a huge budget, you may be able to score points with a personal interview or cover letter.

A toddler is smiling as he crawls through a tunnel made out of a cardboard box. A man and a woman, also smiling, can be seen behind him.
© Getty Images

Advantages and disadvantages of the bidding process

Under certain circumstances, it’s possible to obtain a property faster via the bidding process than through a real estate agent
Competition from fellow bidders can provide security, as it clearly shows that the property is in demand
The submission of a bid is not binding
The price can rise above market value due to competition
Bidding on a house can put pressure on you and lead to emotional decisions. This could ultimately cause you to exceed your budget
In bidding processes without a minimum price, the amount of the first bid is difficult to estimate

Conclusion: ensure success in the bidding process

With a little assistance, buying a house through a bidding process is as promising as any other method of sale. It is true that bidding can drive up the sale price of a property, and competitive pressure can lead to emotional decisions. However, the house does not always go to the highest bidder and offers can be withdrawn. Consequently, it’s crucial to keep your nerve and obtain advice. If you know your financial situation beforehand and make sure you don’t exceed the set budget, you can’t go far wrong and may soon have a new home.

> Apply for a financing certificate from key4

Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

This website uses cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. You can find more information under the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Procédure d’appel d’offres: achetez aux enchères la maison de vos rêves

© Getty Images
28.01.2021 | 2 minutes

En Suisse, de plus en plus de biens immobiliers changent de mains dans le cadre d’une «procédure d’appel d’offres». Cette procédure ne cesse de gagner en popularité, surtout dans les centres urbains. Dans le cadre de cette procédure, plusieurs acheteurs potentiels concurrents soumettent des offres pour un bien immobilier. Nous vous expliquons le fonctionnement de la procédure.

Ceux qui cherchent à acheter une maison ont de plus en plus souvent affaire à la procédure d’appel d’offres comme méthode de vente. Dans le cadre de cette procédure, le vendeur fait la publicité de son bien immobilier et indique toutes les informations pertinentes concernant la propriété avec, au moins, une date de visite. Après la visite, les acheteurs potentiels soumettent leurs offres en plusieurs tours d’enchères, comme lors d’une vente aux enchères.

Dans certains cas, cependant, la procédure commence par une offre initiale des acheteurs potentiels. Ensuite, le vendeur décide qui inviter à la visite. Contrairement à une vente aux enchères classique ou à une vente forcée, les offres ne sont pas contraignantes pour les parties intéressées. Cela signifie que même le plus offrant peut, à tout moment, retirer son offre d’achat.

Accéder à la maison de ses rêves avec une procédure d’appel d’offres: voici comment cela fonctionne

Toute personne souhaitant participer à une procédure d’appel d’offres doit en connaître le déroulement. Pour garantir une procédure transparente et équitable, il incombe au vendeur de communiquer clairement, dès le départ, ce que sera la procédure. Il doit indiquer aussi ouvertement que possible la date de visite, le nombre de tours de table au cours desquels les parties intéressées peuvent soumettre des offres et les délais pour chacun d’eux. La procédure d’appel d’offres se déroule alors généralement comme suit:

1. Consulter l’exposé

Le déroulement de chaque procédure d’appel d’offres commence par l’exposé. Dans ce document, le vendeur fournit toutes les informations pertinentes sur le bien immobilier, telles que l’emplacement, la surface, l’année de construction, le plan et l’état du bien. Idéalement, des images informatives, une date de visite et un calendrier de déroulement précis sont aussi indiqués. Une offre minimale n’est pas requise, et dans certains cas, les parties intéressées sont invitées à estimer le prix. En utilisant les informations de base de l’exposé, l’outil d’évaluation des biens immobiliers key4 peut calculer une fourchette de prix correspondant à la valeur du bien immobilier. Le calculateur est disponible gratuitement et vous permet d’entrer dans la procédure d’appel d’offres avec une idée plus concrète.

key4 Immobilienbewertungs-Tool eine Preisspanne errechnen, wie viel die Immobilie wert ist. Der Rechner ist kostenlos verfügbar und bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit, mit einer konkreteren Vorstellung in das Bieterverfahren einzusteigen.

2. Visiter le bien immobilier

Lors de la visite, les acheteurs potentiels ont la possibilité de savoir si le bien immobilier est vraiment la maison de leurs rêves et peuvent s’assurer que les informations contenues dans l’exposé sont correctes. Lorsqu’aucun prix minimum n’est demandé dans une vente, il est essentiel de commencer par inspecter la maison avant de faire l’offre.

Pendant la visite elle-même, il est recommandé d’être accompagné(e) d’un expert – par exemple de la banque, d’un agent immobilier ou d’un architecte. Ces derniers peuvent en effet aider à déterminer un prix équitable pour la propriété.

3. Demander un certificat de financement

Une fois qu’un bien immobilier a suscité l’intérêt d’un acheteur potentiel, il est conseillé d’obtenir la confirmation du financement auprès d’un fournisseur de crédit hypothécaire. Le certificat de financement est une évaluation non contraignante de votre situation financière et montre que vous pouvez vous permettre d’acheter un bien immobilier jusqu’à un certain prix. Les acheteurs savent donc exactement ce qui est faisable pour eux et à quel niveau l’offre maximale pour l’objet doit se situer, surtout lorsqu’ils font une offre. Le vendeur, à son tour, peut s’assurer que l’acheteur sera en mesure de financer son offre. Cela peut constituer un avantage par rapport aux autres soumissionnaires. Le certificat de financement, également appelé confirmation de financement, peut être facilement demandé en ligne sur key4 et est adressé sous 24 heures.

Une femme est assise à un bureau et regarde attentivement une tablette; sur le bureau se trouvent des papiers avec des diagrammes et un ordinateur portable.
© Getty Images

4. Faire une offre

Les offres d’achat sont ensuite recueillies dans un délai fixé et clairement communiqué. Avec votre première offre, vous êtes relativement libre, car les offres des autres parties intéressées vous sont inconnues. La fourchette de prix d’achat indiquée dans le certificat de financement fait, bien sûr, office de base. En outre, surtout pour les «profanes», les conseils de la banque sont également utiles pour faire une offre adéquate. Afin de pouvoir surenchérir sur l’offre la plus élevée lors du prochain tour, la fourchette de prix d’achat ne doit pas être déjà épuisée lors de la première offre. Toutefois, si elle est trop faible, cela pourrait indiquer un intérêt moindre de la part de l’acheteur. Il est donc important de trouver, ici, le bon équilibre.

5. Attendre l’offre la plus élevée et surenchérir

Une fois que tous les acheteurs potentiels ont fait leur offre, le vendeur annonce l’offre la plus élevée. Les concurrents peuvent alors surenchérir sur le plus offrant. Le vendeur fixe généralement un délai pour ce faire. Il devrait également être possible de renégocier, de poser de plus amples questions sur les garanties du bâtiment ou d’effectuer des visites supplémentaires si nécessaire.

6. Autres tours d’enchères

Une procédure d’appel d’offres peut éventuellement comporter jusqu’à quatre tours. Toutefois, le vendeur doit le préciser au préalable. Cela signifie qu’après la première offre et l’annonce de l’offre la plus élevée, les parties intéressées peuvent faire plusieurs offres supplémentaires. Cela fait augmenter le prix, mais les parties intéressées peuvent également abandonner et retirer leurs offres à tout moment. Il est important de ne pas dépasser le budget indiqué dans le certificat de financement.

7. Remporter l’offre

Si le vendeur accepte l’offre d’une partie intéressée, la procédure d’appel d’offres est terminée. Les étapes suivantes sont, comme d’habitude pour les autres types d’achat de biens immobiliers, la signature du contrat d’achat et l’inscription au registre foncier.

L’offre la plus élevée n’est pas toujours gagnante.

Les acheteurs doivent garder à l’esprit que ce n’est pas seulement l’offre la plus élevée qui compte. Comme pour la vente classique d’une maison, de nombreux vendeurs décident en fonction de la sympathie qu’ils éprouvent pour l’acheteur potentiel, malgré la procédure d’appel d’offres. Ainsi, outre le montant de l’offre, le vendeur peut également considérer favorablement le fait qu’un acheteur ne souhaite pas faire de travaux de transformation ou qu’il cherche un logement pour sa famille. Si vous n’avez pas le plus gros budget, vous pouvez donc marquer des points grâce à un entretien personnel ou à une lettre de motivation.

Un bambin rampe dans un tunnel fait d’une boîte en carton et sourit, derrière lui se trouvent un homme et une femme qui sourient également.
© Getty Images

Avantages et inconvénients de la procédure d’appel d’offres

Dans certaines circonstances, la procédure d’appel d’offres aboutit plus rapidement au bien immobilier que la médiation par un agent immobilier
La concurrence des autres soumissionnaires peut fournir une garantie, car elle montre que le bien immobilier est demandé
La soumission d’une offre n’est pas contraignante
Le prix peut dépasser la valeur du marché en raison de la concurrence
Enchérir sur une maison peut créer une certaine pression conduisant par la suite à des décisions émotionnelles et finalement à un dépassement du budget
Dans les procédures d’appel d’offres sans prix minimal, le montant de la première offre est difficile à estimer

Conclusion: réussir par l’appel d’offres

Avec un peu d’aide, l’achat d’une maison dans le cadre d’une procédure d’appel d’offres est tout aussi prometteur que n’importe quelle autre méthode de vente. Il est vrai que le prix de vente d’un bien immobilier peut être poussé à la hausse par les enchères et que la pression de la concurrence peut entraîner des décisions émotionnelles. Toutefois, la maison ne va pas toujours au plus offrant et les offres peuvent être retirées. C’est pourquoi il est important de toujours garder son sang-froid et de se faire conseiller. Si vous connaissez votre situation financière à l’avance et que vous ne dépassez pas le budget fixé, vous êtes en sécurité et devriez bientôt pouvoir avoir un nouveau logement.

> Demande de certificat de financement auprès de key4

Prêt(e) pour la meilleure offre?


Restez au fait de l’actualité

Lisez régulièrement des articles passionnants et recevez des conseils utiles en lien avec l’achat d’une maison ou d’un appartement.

S’abonner à la newsletter key4

Ce site utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience sur notre site. Vous trouverez plus d’informations dans la déclaration de confidentialité. Vous pouvez modifier vos paramètres de cookies dans les paramètres de confidentialité. Accédez aux paramètres de confidentialité