Is your investment property profitable? | key4.ch

Is your investment property profitable?

@Getty Images
26.01.2022 | 6 minutes

You invested equity (and probably took out a mortgage) to purchase your multi-family unit. This makes it a capital investment – which competes with other forms of investment such as bonds, equities, precious metals or foreign currencies.

As with all other capital investments, you expect a return on investment when you invest in real estate: it should yield a return – either in the form of regular dividends or from an increase in value over time, which is reflected in a capital gain when it is sold at a later date. Ideally, you should achieve both. The fact that your multi-family unit offers families with children a roof over their heads and contributes to their quality of life is something we will disregard emotionally for the time being as we consider your investment in objective terms.

Does the calculation add up?

Let’s assume you bought your 8-apartment multi-family unit in 2012 and paid CHF 5 million for it. At the very least, your aim is to recoup that CHF 5 million, adjusted for inflation, in a future sale. From this point of view, you can equate the value of your capital investment with the cost price (even though there is a difference between price and value from a business perspective). The main components of price, and therefore value, are:

  • the plot of land
  • the multi-family unit
  • the rental income
  • the market environment

The effective value of your property depends on who the calculation is intended for. What counts for taxes and insurance is the market value, i.e. the presumed price that the house is likely to fetch when it is sold, as estimated by experts. For mortgage lenders, on the other hand, what counts most is the capitalized income value, i.e. the net rental income that you would generate if the property were fully rented.

Expense and income

The current return on your investment therefore consists of the rental income plus any interest on provisions.

However, your residential building not only generates income, it also incurs costs. These may be for maintenance of the buildings and land, for administration or for insurance, for example. On top of that, there are capital costs and amortization; taxes; provisions for refurbishment; reserves for rent losses and vacancies, and many more expenses. It is important to compare revenue and costs.

The prime example of a return

The following calculations are based on the following assumptions:

  • Multi-family unit with 8 apartments
  • Rental income per apartment: CHF 2,200 per month (CHF 26,400 p.a.)
  • Purchase price in 2012: CHF 5 million
  • Purchase price adjusted for inflation in 2022: CHF 5.035 million
  • Equity: 35% (CHF 1.75 million)
  • Borrowed capital: 65% (CHF 3.25 million)
  • Cost of capital: interest rate of 2% (CHF 65,000 p.a.)

Income in
CHF

Expenses in
CHF

Provisions in
CHF

Net rental income

211,200

Administration1

12,700

Maintenance (CHF 1,000 apartment/year)

8,000

Insurance

4,000

Reserve for vacancies and rent losses2

4,200

Cost of capital

65,000

Taxes (flat rate)

10,000

Provisions for refurbishment3

50,000

211,200

103,900

153,900

Profit before provisions

107,300

Profit after provisions

57,300

1 6% of net rental income/year
2 2% of net rental income/year
3 1% of the purchase price/year

Do you have questions about financing your investment property?

Our team of advisors will be happy to help you.

Gross, net and other returns

No matter whether you’re talking about profit or loss, since the figure always relates to the capital employed, the rate of return allows a comparison of different capital investments. And as various types of revenue are accrued, so are different returns.

Let’s start by looking at gross and net returns. The gross return is the least meaningful because it ignores costs that reduce earnings. However, it can still help you to gain a rapid initial picture, because real estate hardly ever covers costs with a gross return of less than 2%. The net return is determined by subtracting running costs from income, i.e. the return actually generated from the invested capital. Learn more in the infobox “Net for gross?”

Gross return

Net rental income × 100 / Purchase price4

211,200 × 100 / 5,035,000 = Gross return: 4.19%

4 See info box “Net for gross?”

Net return

(Net rental income – Costs) × 100 / Purchase price

107,300 × 100 / 5,035,000 = Net return: 2.13%

Return with leverage (leverage effect)

Rented multi-family units – also called investment properties – are one of the capital investments that you are allowed to finance from borrowed funds. The return is 100% yours, but since you didn’t have to put up 100% of the capital, there is tremendous leverage: the higher the proportion of borrowed capital, the greater the return on equity employed (for better or worse, more on this later).

Return on equity

Net rental income – Costs4 × 100 / Invested capital5

107,300 × 100 / 1,762,000 = Return on equity: 6.09%

4 See info box “Net for gross?”
5 2012: CHF 1.75 million, inflation-adjusted as at 2022

This is an example of the leverage effect: the return on equity is three times higher than the net return. This is not surprising, since equity is equal to one-third of the total capital.

Until a few years ago, multi-family units could be financed with a maximum of 80% of borrowed capital; since 2020, you must raise at least 25% of equity for the purchase. In addition, the proportion of borrowed capital must be reduced to a maximum of two-thirds of the purchase price within 15 years – the borrower must therefore repay at least 8.33% of the mortgage amount within this time.

But in the end, it doesn’t really matter whether you finance your capital investment with two-thirds, 75% or 80% of borrowed funds. After all, the share of borrowed capital corresponds to between twice and four times your equity – and the return on equity will be correspondingly higher.

A painter is carrying out renovation work on a multi-family unit.
@Getty Images

Provisions for refurbishment

Buildings are commodities that wear out and require regular maintenance, even when used properly. And after a few decades, total refurbishment is needed to prepare the property for another 30 to 50 years and maintain its value. The costs of such refurbishments are high; and in the case of total refurbishment with a vacancy notice, you will lose out on rental income during the construction period. It is advisable to prefinance future refurbishments through regular provisions. A good rule of thumb is to set aside 1% of the (inflation-adjusted) purchase price each year. By investing these amounts in the long term and with a low level of risk, you can even enjoy capital gains.

Until now, all returns were calculated without these provisions. 1% may sound quite low, but it is a large amount when measured against the purchase amount. These provisions also reduce the freely available net-net return, or “distribution yield”, accordingly.

Net-net return

(Net rental income – Costs4 – Provisions) × 100 / Invested capital5

57,300 × 100 / 1,762,000 = Net-net return/distribution yield: 3.25%

4 See info box “Net for gross?”
5 2012: CHF 1.75 million, inflation-adjusted as at 2022

Net for gross?

In October 2020, the federal court ruled that the net return of a rental apartment may not be more than two percentage points higher than the reference interest rate. Otherwise, the rent is considered to be abusive because, according to Art. 269 of the Swiss Code of Obligations, excessive income is derived from the leased property. The reference interest rate is currently (January 2022) 1.25%; the net return may therefore not exceed 3.25%. There are still insufficient empirical values to indicate the running costs of new buildings, which is why the courts calculate the gross return of buildings that are up to 10 years old. For all other buildings, the net return applies. The methods for calculating gross and net returns used by the courts are clearly and bindingly regulated – or so you might think.

This is not actually the case: online you can find various formulas that lead to a wide variety of results. The most divergent opinions relate to the relevant reference value: which figure should you use? The purchase price, market value, tax value, insurance value or the land price plus construction and incidental purchase expenses? Should you take the actual or the inflation-adjusted purchase price – and what percentage of it? And what about refurbishment costs incurred since acquisition? It is also unclear what is relevant for calculating the gross return: rental income with or without incidental expenses, i.e. gross or net rent?

So what counts in court? An inquiry with the Zurich homeowner association reveals the following:

  1. Purchase price: the reference value is always the invested capital.

  • For new buildings, the effective land prices and construction costs apply.
  • For older buildings, you should take the purchase price from when you bought the property plus any value-enhancing investments, both fully adjusted for inflation. Value-preserving expenses do not count towards the purchase price.
  • Fees, notary and land registry costs, broker commissions, real estate transfer taxes, etc. incurred during the acquisition are not taken into account in the purchase price, but are regarded as income-reducing costs.
  • The purchase price includes both equity and borrowed capital.
  1. Rental income: Gross and net returns are calculated excluding incidental expenses (i.e. net for gross, as in the title of this infobox). For budgeting purposes, you should consider rental income at full occupancy and use your empirical values as far as costs are concerned. You should then calculate the actual net return in retrospect, based on the effective rental income and your real costs.
  2. Permissible return: Until the 2020 federal court decision, the net return was allowed to be 0.5 percentage points higher and the gross return 2.5 percentage points higher than the reference rate. In 2020, the federal court merely defined the maximum net return up to a reference interest rate of 2.0%; the maximum permissible gross return is currently not determined, but is likely to be 2 percentage points above the permissible net return. It is also uncertain whether the old regulation will come back into force as soon as the guide value exceeds 2.0% again.
  3. Costs: These are all the effective income-reducing expenses you incur in connection with your property. In addition to operating and administrative expenses, they include taxes (the portion by which the multi-family unit increases your tax bill), as well as capital costs (actual amortization and effective mortgage interest).

Is your multi-family unit an investment property?

If our fictitious example were your property, you would actually own an investment property. This is because a capital gain of currently 3.25% net-net after taxes and provisions is a very respectable return – especially compared to similarly safe investments. However, we are not judging by quite the same standards here. After all, a borrowed capital component of 65% also means that the property is only 35% yours, or that you will only receive 35% of the proceeds when it is sold. If you had paid for the property in cash – like a pension fund would have done, for example – the return after provisions would no longer look so good:

Net-net return with 100% self-financing

(Net rental income – Costs – Provisions) × 100 / Purchase price

57,300 × 100 / 5,035,000 = Net-net return/distribution yield: 1.14%

Interest curves on a screen
@Getty Images

…even if interest rates rise?

Another reason why the return is so good is because conditions are currently attractive with mortgage interest rates at a low level. But what if the Swiss National Bank raises key interest rates again, as expected? And not just once, but several times in rapid succession? Then investing in multi-family units would become less attractive compared to other investments.

Lower demand and less available capital means that prices for real estate will decrease, and the rise in interest rates will lead to a value adjustment. This can quickly amount to 20% or more. Instead of representing CHF 5 million, your investment property would only be worth CHF 4 million. Assuming you had purchased your property not ten years ago but two years ago with 75% of borrowed capital, you would have amortized just under 1.1% of the 8.33% difference to 66.67% (two-thirds) within two years and increased your equity ratio from 25% to 26.11%.

You would bear the loss in value of CHF 1 million in full, and instead of the original CHF 1.25 million, your equity would only amount to CHF 250,000. However, the lender would insist that you put back in 26.11% equity. In relation to CHF 4 million, this would be CHF 1,044,000 minus the remaining CHF 250,000 = CHF 794,000. If you were unable to raise this sum, you would have to sell the property – making it not an investment property at all, but a steep loss-making transaction. According to the UBS Chief Investment Office, however, interest rates are not expected to rise sharply in the short to medium term.

What can you do to make your multi-family unit profitable?

Basically, there are three ways to improve your return on investment:

  1. Increase income (raise the rent)
  2. Reduce costs
  3. Reduce provisions

Approach 1 is not very practical because you cannot adjust rent at will. And without value-enhancing investments, you also have no legal means to justify a rent increase.

Reducing your costs is a viable way to go. For example, you can reduce or even completely save on administrative costs by managing your property yourself (CHF 12,700 in our example calculation). And instead of setting aside a reserve for rent losses, you can – if your financial situation allows it – bear these costs when they actually occur (CHF 4,200 in our example calculation). This alone amounts to potential savings of over CHF 16,000 per year, which increases your return on investment accordingly. In addition, if you find a more favorable mortgage or increase your equity component when refinancing, you can save on the cost of capital.

You can achieve a much greater increase in profit by setting aside fewer provisions for refurbishment. For example, earmarking just 0.5% instead of 1% per year results in CHF 25,000 more profit. However, one consequence of this is that you will have to wait longer before you can finance a refurbishment from equity. Alternatively, you can increase your financing accordingly if refurbishment work is necessary (and provided you qualify for additional financing).

Looking for financing for your investment property?

At key4, you receive several attractive offers with just one request.

The fourth solution: forget the return on investment

Would you still have bought your multi-family unit 10 years ago if you had been able to achieve a return of 2 to 3% with 10-year federal bonds at the time? Probably, because you wanted a multi-family unit that would generate a regular income and that would also provide you with a roof over your head if necessary.

You are generating an income from it – you can refer to it as a profit, not return – and it’s something that can be measured in francs and centimes, not percentages. Thinking in terms of returns and percentage points is only useful if you want to compare different investments and choose the most profitable one.


Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your vote!

Straight to a non-binding interest rate indication


This could also interest you

Interest rate forecast for companies

UBS Swiss Real Estate Bubble Index

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Rentiert Ihr Renditeobjekt? | key4.ch

Rentiert Ihr Renditeobjekt?

@Getty Images
26.01.2022 | 6 Minuten

Für den Kauf Ihres Mehrfamilienhauses haben Sie Eigenmittel investiert (und wahrscheinlich eine Hypothek aufgenommen). Ihr Mehrfamilienhaus ist also eine Kapitalanlage – und tritt somit in Konkurrenz mit anderen Anlageformen wie Obligationen, Aktien, Edelmetallen oder Fremdwährungen.

Wie bei allen anderen Kapitalanlagen erwarten Sie auch bei einer Investition in Immobilien einen Return on Investment: Sie soll rentieren – entweder in Form von regelmässigen Dividenden oder von einer Wertsteigerung im Laufe der Zeit, die bei einem späteren Verkauf als Kapitalgewinn zu Buche schlägt. Im Idealfall erzielen Sie beides. Dass Ihr Mehrfamilienhaus Familien mit Kindern ein Dach über dem Kopf bietet und zu ihrer Lebensqualität beiträgt, lassen wir fürs Erste emotionslos ausser Acht und betrachten Ihre Investition nüchtern.

Geht die Rechnung auf?

Angenommen, Sie haben Ihr 8-Parteien-MFH anno 2012 gekauft und dafür 5 Millionen Franken bezahlt. Mindestens diese 5 Millionen wollen Sie inflationsbereinigt bei einem späteren Verkauf wieder erzielen. So gesehen, ist es also zulässig, den Wert Ihrer Kapitalanlage mit Ihrem Einstandspreis gleichzusetzen (auch wenn aus betriebswirtschaftlicher Sicht ein Unterschied besteht zwischen Preis und Wert). Die wichtigsten Komponenten des Preises, und somit auch des Wertes, sind:

  • das Grundstück
  • das Mehrfamilienhaus
  • die Mieterträge
  • das Marktumfeld

Wie gross der effektive Wert Ihres Wohnhauses ist, hängt davon ab, für wen er bestimmt wird. Für Steuern und Versicherungen zählt der Verkehrswert, also der von Fachpersonen geschätzte mutmassliche Preis, den das Haus bei einem Verkauf einbringen dürfte. Für die Kreditgeber einer Hypothek wiederum zählt vor allem der Ertragswert, also die Nettomietzinseinnahmen, die Sie bei einer Vollvermietung erzielen.

Aufwand und Ertrag

Der laufende Ertrag Ihrer Kapitalanlage besteht also aus den Mieteinnahmen sowie einer allfälligen Verzinsung der Rückstellungen.

Ihr Wohnhaus bringt aber nicht nur einen Ertrag, es verursacht auch Kosten. Zum Beispiel für den Unterhalt von Gebäude und Grundstück, für die Verwaltung oder für Versicherungen. Dazu kommen Kapitalkosten und Amortisationen; Steuern; Rückstellungen für Sanierungen; Reserven für Mietausfälle und Leerstände und vieles mehr. Die Erträge und die Kosten gilt es gegenüberzustellen.

Das Musterbeispiel einer Rendite

Die folgenden Berechnungen basieren auf folgenden Annahmen:

  • Mehrfamilienhaus mit 8 Wohnungen
  • Mietertrag pro Wohnung CHF 2200 pro Monat (CHF 26 400 p.a.)
  • Kaufpreis 2012: CHF 5 Millionen
  • Kaufpreis inflationsbereinigt 2022: CHF 5,035 Millionen
  • Eigenmittel: 35% (CHF 1,75 Millionen)
  • Fremdkapital: 65% (CHF 3,25 Millionen)
  • Kapitalkosten: Zinssatz 2% (CHF 65 000 p.a.)

Ertrag in
CHF

Aufwand in
CHF

Rückstellungen in
CHF

Nettomietzinseinnahmen

211 200

Verwaltung1

12 700

Unterhalt (CHF 1000 Wohnung/Jahr)

8000

Versicherungen

4000

Reserve für Leerstände und Mietausfälle2

4200

Kapitalkosten

65 000

Steuern (pauschal)

10 000

Rückstellungen für Sanierungen3

50 000

211 200

103 900

153 900

Gewinn vor Rückstellungen

107 300

Gewinn nach Rückstellungen

57 300

1 6% der Netto-Mieteinnahmen/Jahr
2 2% der Netto-Mieteinnahmen/Jahr
3 1% des Kaufpreises/Jahr

Fragen rund um die Finanzierung Ihrer Renditeliegenschaft?

Unser Beratungsteam unterstützt Sie gerne.

Von Brutto-, Netto- und anderen Renditen

Egal, ob Gewinn oder Verlust: Da sie sich immer auf das eingesetzte Kapital bezieht, ermöglicht die Rendite den Vergleich verschiedener Kapitalanlagen. Und da unterschiedliche Erträge anfallen, ergeben sich auch unterschiedliche Renditen.

Den Anfang machen die Brutto- und Nettorenditen. Die Bruttorendite ist die am wenigsten aussagekräftige, weil sie die ertragsmindernden Kosten ignoriert. Sie genügt aber für ein schnelles erstes Bild, denn mit weniger als 2% Bruttorendite lassen sich Immobilien kaum kostendeckend betreiben. Die Nettorendite zieht die laufenden Aufwendungen vom Ertrag ab, zeigt also, wie viel Rendite das eingesetzte Kapital tatsächlich gebracht hat. Mehr erfahren Sie in der Infobox «Netto für brutto?».

Bruttorendite

Nettomietertrag × 100 / Kaufpreis4

211 200 × 100 / 5 035 000 = Bruttorendite: 4,19%

4 Siehe Infobox «Netto für brutto?»

Nettorendite

(Nettomietertrag – Kosten) × 100 / Kaufpreis

107 300 × 100 / 5 035 000 = Nettorendite: 2,13%

Rendite mit Hebelwirkung (Leverage-Effekt)

Vermietete Mehrfamilienhäuser – auch Renditeobjekte genannt – sind eine der Kapitalanlagen, die Sie mit Fremdmitteln finanzieren dürfen. Die Rendite gehört Ihnen zu 100%, da Sie aber nicht 100% des Kapitals aufbringen mussten, ergibt sich eine enorme Hebelwirkung: Je höher der Anteil des Fremdkapitals, desto grösser wird die Rendite auf das eingesetzte Eigenkapital (im Guten wie im Schlechten, dazu später mehr).

Eigenkapital-Rendite

Nettomietertrag – Kosten4 × 100 / investiertes Kapital5

107 300 × 100 / 1 762 000 = Eigenkapital-Rendite: 6,09%

4 Siehe Infobox «Netto für brutto?»
5 2012 CHF 1,75 Millionen, inflationsbereinigt per 2022

Hier zeigt sich die Hebelwirkung exemplarisch: Die Rendite auf das Eigenkapital ist drei Mal höher als die Nettorendite. Was nicht weiter verwundert, schliesslich entspricht ja auch das Eigenkapital einem Drittel des gesamten Kapitals.

Bis vor wenigen Jahren konnten MFH mit maximal 80% Fremdmitteln finanziert werden; seit 2020 müssen für den Kauf mindestens 25% Eigenmittel aufgebracht werden. Zudem muss der Fremdkapitalanteil innert 15 Jahren auf höchstens zwei Drittel des Kaufpreises reduziert werden – der Kreditnehmer muss also mindestens 8,33% der Hypothekarsumme zurückbezahlen.

Doch letztlich ist es gar nicht so relevant, ob Sie Ihre Kapitalanlage zu zwei Dritteln, 75 oder 80% mit Fremdmitteln finanzieren. Denn schlussendlich entspricht der Anteil des Fremdkapitals dem Doppelten bis Vierfachen Ihres Eigenkapitals – und entsprechend höher wird die Rendite Ihrer eigenen Mittel.

Ein Maler führt Renovationsarbeiten an einem Mehrfamilienhaus aus.
@Getty Images

Rückstellungen für Sanierungen

Gebäude sind Gebrauchsartikel, die sich auch bei ordnungsgemässem Gebrauch abnutzen und regelmässig instand gehalten werden müssen. Und nach einigen Jahrzehnten ist eine Totalsanierung nötig, um die Immobilie für weitere 30 bis 50 Jahre fit zu machen und ihren Wert zu erhalten. Die Kosten solcher Sanierungen sind hoch; bei einer Totalsanierung mit Leerkündigung entfallen während der Bauzeit zudem auch die Mieteinnahmen. Es empfiehlt sich, durch regelmässige Rückstellungen spätere Sanierungen vorzufinanzieren. Als Faustregel hat sich bewährt, jedes Jahr 1% des (inflationsbereinigten) Kaufpreises zur Seite zu legen. Indem Sie diese Beträge langfristig und mit kleinem Risiko anlegen, erzielen Sie sogar noch einen Kapitalgewinn.

Bislang waren alle Renditen ohne diese Rückstellungen berechnet. 1% klingt zwar nach wenig, ist aber gemessen an der Kaufsumme ein grosser Betrag. Entsprechend stark reduzieren diese Rückstellungen auch die frei verfügbare Netto-netto-Rendite, auch «Ausschüttungsrendite» genannt.

Netto-netto-Rendite

(Nettomietertrag – Kosten4 – Rückstellungen) × 100 / investiertes Kapital5

57 300 × 100 / 1 762 000 = Netto-netto-/Ausschüttungs-Rendite: 3,25%

4 Siehe Infobox «Netto für brutto?»
5 2012 CHF 1,75 Millionen, inflationsbereinigt per 2022

Netto für brutto?

Im Oktober 2020 hat das Bundesgericht entschieden, dass die Nettorendite einer Mietwohnung höchstens zwei Prozentpunkte höher sein dürfe als der Referenzzinssatz. Andernfalls gilt der Mietzins als missbräuchlich, weil damit nach OR Art. 269 «ein übersetzter Ertrag aus der Mietsache erzielt wird». Der Referenzzinssatz steht aktuell (Januar 2022) bei 1,25%; die Nettorendite darf also höchstens 3,25% betragen. Bei Neubauten fehlen noch die Erfahrungswerte für laufende Kosten, deshalb rechnet man vor Gericht bei bis 10 Jahre alten Gebäuden mit der Bruttorendite. Für alle anderen Gebäude gilt die Nettorendite. Wie die gerichtsrelevanten Brutto- und Nettorenditen zu berechnen sind, ist klar und verbindlich geregelt – sollte man meinen.

Doch dem ist nicht so: Online finden Sie verschiedene Formeln, die zu unterschiedlichsten Ergebnissen führen. Am weitesten auseinander gehen die Meinungen bei der massgeblichen Bezugsgrösse: Kaufpreis, Verkehrswert, Steuerwert, Versicherungswert oder Landpreis plus Bau- und Kaufnebenkosten – womit haben Sie zu rechnen? Gilt der tatsächliche oder der – zu wie viel Prozent – inflationsbereinigte Kaufpreis? Und was ist mit Sanierungskosten, die seit dem Erwerb angefallen sind? Unklar ist offenbar auch, was für die Bruttorendite massgeblich ist: Mieterträge mit oder ohne Nebenkosten, also Brutto- oder Nettomiete?

Was also zählt vor Gericht? Eine Nachfrage beim Hauseigentümerverband Zürich ergibt Folgendes:

  1. Kaufpreis: Bezugsgrösse ist immer das investierte Kapital.

 

  • Bei Neubauten zählen die effektiven Landpreise und Baukosten.
  • Bei älteren Gebäuden rechnen Sie mit dem seinerzeitigen Kaufpreis plus wertvermehrenden Investitionen; beide zu 100% der Teuerung angepasst. Werterhaltende Ausgaben zählen nicht zum Kaufpreis.
  • Beim Kauf angefallene Gebühren, Notar- und Grundbuchkosten, Maklerprovisionen, Handänderungssteuern usw. zählen nicht zum Kaufpreis, sondern gelten als ertragsmindernde Kosten.
  • Der Kaufpreis umfasst sowohl Eigen- als auch Fremdkapital.
  1. Mieterträge: Brutto- und Nettorendite errechnen sich ohne Nebenkosten (also netto für brutto, gemäss dem Titel dieser Infobox). Für Ihre Budgetierung gehen Sie von den Mieteinnahmen bei Vollvermietung und Ihren Erfahrungswerten bei den Kosten aus. Die tatsächliche Nettorendite errechnen Sie im Nachhinein mit den effektiven Mieteinnahmen und Ihren wirklichen Kosten.
  2. Zulässige Rendite: Bis zum 2020er-Bundesgerichtsentscheid durften die Nettorendite 0,5 und die Bruttorendite 2,5 Prozentpunkte höher sein als der Referenzzins. 2020 hat das BG nur definiert, wie hoch die Nettorendite bis zu einem Referenzzinssatz von 2,0% sein darf; die maximal zulässige Bruttorendite ist aktuell nicht festgelegt, dürfte aber ebenfalls 2 Prozentpunkte über der zulässigen Nettorendite liegen. Unbestimmt ist auch, ob die alte Regelung wieder in Kraft tritt, sobald der Leitwert wieder höher ist als 2,0%.
  3. Kosten: Darunter fällt der gesamte, effektive ertragsmindernde Aufwand, der Ihnen im Zusammenhang mit Ihrer Immobilie entsteht. Dazu zählen neben dem Betriebs- und Verwaltungsaufwand auch die Steuern (der Anteil, um den das MFH Ihre Steuerrechnung erhöht), sowie die Kapitalkosten (tatsächliche Amortisation und effektiver Hypothekarzins).

Ist Ihr MFH ein Renditeobjekt?

Wäre unser fiktives Beispiel Ihre Immobilie, besässen Sie tatsächlich ein Renditeobjekt. Denn ein Kapitalertrag von aktuell 3,25% netto-netto nach Steuern und Rückstellungen ist eine sehr ansehnliche Rendite – vor allem verglichen mit ähnlich sicheren Anlagen. Allerdings wird hier nicht mit ganz gleichen Ellen gemessen. Denn ein Fremdkapitalanteil von 65% bedeutet ja auch, dass die Liegenschaft auch nur zu 35% Ihnen gehört, respektive dass Sie bei einem Verkauf nur 35% des Erlöses erhalten. Hätten Sie nämlich – wie zum Beispiel eine Pensionskasse – die Liegenschaft bar bezahlt, sähe es um die Rendite nach Rückstellungen nicht mehr so gut aus:

Netto-netto-Rendite bei 100% Eigenfinanzierung

(Nettomietertrag – Kosten – Rückstellungen) × 100 / Kaufpreis

57 300 × 100 / 5 035 000 = Netto-netto-/Ausschüttungs-Rendite: 1,14%

Zinskurven auf einem Bildschirm
@Getty Images

…auch falls die Zinsen steigen?

Die Rendite ist auch so gut, weil die Voraussetzungen zurzeit ansprechend sind: Die Hypothekarzinsen bewegen sich auf tiefem Niveau. Was aber, wenn die Schweizerische Nationalbank wie erwartet die Leitzinsen wieder anhebt? Und das nicht nur einmal, sondern mehrere Male in rascher Folge? Dann würden Investitionen in Mehrfamilienhäuser weniger attraktiv im Vergleich zu anderen Anlagen.

Weniger Nachfrage und weniger verfügbares Kapital bedeuten: Die Preise für Immobilien sinken, der Zinsanstieg verursacht eine Wertberichtigung. Diese kann schnell einmal 20% oder mehr betragen. Anstatt 5 Millionen Franken wäre Ihr Renditeobjekt nur noch 4 Millionen wert. Angenommen, Sie hätten Ihre Immobilie nicht vor zehn, sondern vor zwei Jahren mit 75% Fremdkapital erworben, dann hätten Sie innert zweier Jahre erst knapp 1,1% der 8,33% Differenz zu 66,67% (⅔) amortisiert und Ihren Eigenkapitalanteil von 25% auf 26,11% erhöht.

Der Wertverlust von 1 Million Franken ginge voll auf Ihr Konto und anstatt der ursprünglichen 1,25 Millionen betrüge Ihr Eigenkapital noch 250 000 Franken. Der Kreditgeber wird aber darauf bestehen, dass Sie wieder 26,11% Eigenkapital einschiessen. Bemessen auf 4 Millionen wären das CHF 1 044 000 abzüglich der verbleibenden 250 000 = CHF 794 000. Falls Sie diese Summe nicht aufbringen können, müsste Sie das Haus verkaufen – es wäre also kein Renditeobjekt gewesen, sondern ein happiges Verlustgeschäft. Gemäss dem UBS Chief Investment Office ist jedoch kurz- bis mittelfristig nicht mit einem starken Anstieg der Zinsen zu rechnen.

Was tun, damit Ihr MFH rentiert?

Grundsätzlich gibt es drei Ansätze, Ihre Rendite zu erhöhen:

  1. Ertrag steigern (Mietzins erhöhen)
  2. Kosten senken
  3. Rückstellungen reduzieren

Ansatz 1 ist wenig praktikabel, weil Sie die Mieten nicht beliebig erhöhen können. Und ohne wertvermehrende Investitionen haben Sie auch keine rechtliche Handhabe, eine Mietzinserhöhung zu begründen.

Ihre Kosten zu senken, ist ein gangbarer Weg. Sie können zum Beispiel die Verwaltungskosten reduzieren oder sogar gänzlich einsparen, indem Sie Ihre Liegenschaft selbst bewirtschaften (CHF 12 700 in unserer Musterkalkulation). Und anstatt für Mietausfälle eine Reserve zu bilden, können Sie – sofern es Ihre finanzielle Situation erlaubt – diese Kosten dann tragen, wenn sie tatsächlich anfallen (CHF 4200 in unserer Musterkalkulation). Allein dadurch beträgt das Einsparungspotenzial über 16 000 Franken pro Jahr, was Ihre Rendite entsprechend erhöht. Wenn Sie bei der Nachfinanzierung eine günstigere Hypothek finden oder Ihren Eigenkapitalanteil erhöhen, können Sie darüber hinaus bei den Kapitalkosten sparen.

Eine wesentlich grössere Gewinnsteigerung erreichen Sie, indem Sie weniger Rückstellungen für Sanierungen bilden. Beispielsweise nur 0,5% anstatt 1% pro Jahr ergeben 25 000 Franken mehr Gewinn. Die Folge ist allerdings auch, dass Sie länger warten müssen, bis Sie eine Sanierung aus eigenen Mitteln finanzieren können. Als Alternative können Sie in diesem Fall (und falls möglich) Ihre Finanzierung entsprechend erhöhen.

Finanzierung für Ihre Renditeliegenschaft gesucht?

Bei uns erhalten Sie mit einer Anfrage gleich mehrere attraktive Angebote.

Der vierte Weg: Vergessen Sie die Rendite

Hätten Sie Ihr MFH vor 10 Jahren auch gekauft, wenn Sie damals mit 10-Jahres-Bundesobligationen eine Rendite von 2 bis 3% hätten erzielen können? Wahrscheinlich schon. Denn Sie wollten ein MFH, das ein regelmässiges Einkommen generiert und Ihnen zur Not auch ein Dach über dem Kopf bietet.

Dieses Einkommen haben Sie – man nennt es Gewinn, nicht Rendite, und es bemisst sich in Franken und Rappen, nicht in Prozenten. In Rendite und Prozentpunkten zu denken, ist nur dann zielführend, wenn Sie verschiedene Anlagen vergleichen und die rentabelste wählen wollen.


War dieser Artikel hilfreich?
Vielen Dank für Ihre Stimme!

Schnell zur unverbindlichen Zinsindikation


Auch interessant für Sie

Zinsprognose für Unternehmen

UBS Swiss Real Estate Bubble Index

Wir verwenden Cookies, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie die beste Erfahrung auf unserer Website erhalten. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Datenschutzerklärung. Sie können die Einstellungen Ihrer Cookies in den Datenschutzeinstellungen ändern. Zu den Datenschutzeinstellungen