Energy-efficient renovation of investment properties

Energy-efficient renovations: why they are worthwhile

01.04.2022 | 3 Minutes

In Switzerland, 24 percent of greenhouse gas emissions are generated by inhabited buildings. It is thus not surprising that around 60 percent of single-family homes and 70 percent of apartment blocks are currently heated with fossil fuels, or that over one million households – out of a total of around 1.7 million – are either poorly insulated or not insulated at all. The need for action is therefore great.

The Swiss government and the cantons reward owners of single-family homes and apartment blocks with subsidies for making their properties more environmentally friendly. Specifically, the aim is to increase energy efficiency and reduce greenhouse gas emissions. After renovation, such buildings

  • use less energy (electricity, heating oil, natural gas, wood, etc.). This is because the various energy-users, such as heating, ventilation/air conditioning, hot water, kitchen and bathroom, light and elevator, etc., consume energy more efficiently.
  • no longer pollute the environment with greenhouse gases because they only use renewable energies which they generate themselves, where possible.

The key pillars of the Swiss Energy Strategy 2050

  • Gradual withdrawal from nuclear energy production
  • Commitment to halve greenhouse gas emissions by 2030 compared to 1990 (Paris climate agreement)
  • Net-zero emissions target by 2050 for greenhouse gases

According to the Swiss National Science Foundation, only about one percent of existing housing stock in Switzerland is renovated for greater energy efficiency each year. This number would have to at least double to achieve the goals of the Energy Strategy 2050 in the building sector. 

At the current rate, Switzerland will not reach its net-zero emissions target until about a hundred years later than planned. And the larger the backlog, the more serious the situation will become for the construction industry, which is already at full capacity with normal new buildings and conversions.

Where is the problem with renovation?

What are the reasons for the sluggish progress? Why are owners of apartment buildings in particular reluctant to renovate, despite the financial incentives? Time to research the causes.

Possible cause 1: waiting for (even) better technologies

Greater energy efficiency and lower greenhouse gas emissions are a question of technology, which is constantly getting better, cheaper and more efficient. It is thus understandable that people want to postpone their renovation by a year to wait for the next technological quantum leap, which they are certain is just around the corner and will provide far more energy for much less money.

But this is not realistic. According to the CECB (Cantonal Energy Certification for Buildings), although the technology will continue to improve over the next five to ten years, it will only do so in small steps rather than quantum leaps. A few examples:

  • Photovoltaic technology has become five times cheaper in the last 10 to 15 years – but not five times more efficient. The lower costs are due to economies of scale, more competition and more efficient production methods. In photovoltaics, the potential of silicon as a semiconductor is far from exhausted and will be the standard technology for years to come. Although newer semiconductors such as gallium arsenide (GaAs) are more efficient, they are also much more expensive and contain arsenic, which is highly poisonous. GaAs is therefore often used in particular circumstances where cost is not a factor, such as energy generation for satellites. For normal solar cells, silicon will continue to be the first choice for years to come. There are no further groundbreaking developments on the horizon, and prices are unlikely to change much.
  • Thermal insulation: The situation is similar with materials for façade insulation. Although they are constantly being developed and improved, a miracle material – which insulates twice as well at half the volume and at a quarter of the price – is still a long way off.
  • Heating: Biomass and thermal heat pumps are now well-established technologies that continue to be optimized and streamlined through ongoing development. However, quantum leaps cannot be expected here either.
  • Window: Triple glazing is considered the new de facto standard. Developments are moving in the direction of smart windows. It is quite possible that windows with self-regulating light transmission will soon be offered. These either reflect sunlight or allow it to pass through, depending on room temperature, season and the time of day.

Possible cause 2: short-term yield considerations

The capital expenditure for an energy-efficient renovation can be considerable, especially for older buildings. It might also appear scarcely worthwhile at first glance.

However, both the depreciation and the cost of capital on the value-adding portion of the investment can be passed on to the tenants. This portion is usually set at a flat rate of between 50 and 70 percent of the investment sum. Since energy investments are tax-deductible, the increase in rents will usually cover the costs.

A numerical example to illustrate:
Suppose you decide to replace the oil-fired heating system in your apartment block with an air heat pump. Since the existing system has reached the end of its service life anyway, the calculation is as follows:

Total investment for replacement of an oil-fired heating system with an air heat pump

CHF 100,000

Upgrading an existing oil-fired heating system

./. CHF 40,000

Additional investment for an air heat pump

CHF 60’000

Reduction of the additional costs of 60,000 at a 33% marginal tax rate

./. CHF 20’000

Net additional investment for heat pump

CHF 40’000

Increase of annual rent

approx. CHF 3,000

Net return

7,5%

With an investment of CHF 100,000 in an air heat pump, the annual rent can be increased by around CHF 3,000. Assuming that an upgrade of an existing fossil fuel heating system would have cost CHF 40,000, the additional investment amounts to CHF 60,000. With a marginal tax rate of 33 percent, the additional costs would be reduced to CHF 40,000. The effective rental yield would then be 7.5 percent. With a depreciation rate of 4 percent (assuming a service life of 25 years), the renovation of the heating system clearly pays off.

The operating costs after the renovation will be much lower than before. And if the increase in the net rent is compensated by the lower ancillary costs as a result of the renovation, tenants will also benefit.

Possible cause 3: fear of voids

A purely energy-efficient renovation – heating or insulation – can be carried out as a partial renovation. But if a large part of the building technology also needs to be replaced or if the floor plans need to be modernized, a total renovation with termination of all tenancies will be necessary, including the associated risk of objections. Apart from structural reasons, a total renovation is often also desirable for purely financial reasons. The loss of two to three years’ rent during the renovation period must be accepted. However, rents can be increased more for new rentals than in the case of an energy-efficient partial renovation. This is due both to the improved quality of the building and the adjustment of the rents to the usual market level.

The total renovation pays off if the added value created exceeds the renovation costs. With an average rent increase of around 40 percent for an apartment in excellent condition compared to one from the 1970s, the rent for a 3-room apartment can be increased by an average of CHF 500 per month. For example, with investment costs of CHF 150,000 per apartment, this corresponds to a renovation yield of 4 percent. A higher return can be achieved if the rentable space is also expanded and the utilization improved. According to calculations by the UBS Chief Investment Office, the total increase in rent potential should be at least 30 percent.

These considerations strongly depend on the location of your property. A total renovation is especially worthwhile for older buildings in need of renovation in central locations and booming conurbations. This is because the quality and market rent premium are likely to be particularly high here and the risk of vacancies relatively low.

In peripheral areas and parts of extended conurbations, where vacancy rates are significantly above average, major investments in energy-efficient renovations are less worthwhile. Although people are willing to pay more for high-quality apartments, the market will probably only be able to absorb a limited number of such apartments. The potential for rent increases is therefore low. If higher gross rents are not feasible, the effective rental yield will dwindle and the investment may be less worthwhile from a purely financial perspective.

A woman on the balcony of a renovated apartment looks into the distance.
Back view woman in backlight standing at the window at home looking out

Good reasons for an energy-efficient renovation of your investment property

Don’t let these reasons stop you from renovating your investment property to make it more energy-efficient. There are lots of good arguments for doing so:

Long-term rental considerations

In central locations, a full renovation offers far higher returns than acquiring an additional property.
But even a partial renovation can yield a solid return thanks to high tax rebates, subsidies and possible rent adjustments.

In the current low interest rate environment, debt financing can often generate yields in the low double-digit percentage range.
Don’t have the necessary liquidity for an energy-efficient renovation? Many banks support energy-efficient upgrades with special loans or grant a lower mortgage interest rate.

Are you planning energy-efficient renovation work?

We reward sustainable investment properties with financial benefits.

Possible political direction: from funding to bans

Unless framework conditions are tightened, the federal government will likely miss its net-zero interim targets for 2030.
In the medium term, increased political interventions in the form of bans and taxes can be expected in order to accelerate the renewal process.
In other words, instead of rewarding energy-efficient renovations with subsidies, the state may more or less compel owners to carry them out.

In addition, a possible future ban on new fossil fuel heating systems and a surge in demand for alternatives are likely to trigger capacity bottlenecks in the construction industry. This will result in higher renovation costs. There will also be supply bottlenecks, usually a consequence of unforeseeable events such as economic crises, war, political tensions or pandemics. They lead to a shortage of crude oil or natural gas and thus drive up the prices of these commodities.

Growing ecological awareness among tenants

The sooner you replace your old oil-fired boiler with a heat pump, for example, the more grateful future (and present) generations will be to you. And your tenants will also be pleased if their heating costs fall. If the electricity for the heat pump is also generated by your own photovoltaic system, the cost advantages of renewable energies become even clearer. And although you won’t need to justify the replacement of an oil-fired heating system with a heat pump to your tenants, you may have to justify not doing so. This is the same trend that has become apparent in recent years regarding the social sustainability requirements for pension funds and consumer goods brands.

Summary

The perfect energy-efficient renovation of an investment property will benefit the environment, the owners and the tenants. The environment and the whole of society benefit if a building can be operated in a more environmentally friendly way thanks to an energy-efficient renovation. Owners can increase the market value of their properties if they can finance the investment costs through higher rental income.
And tenants benefit too if their ancillary costs end up being lower than the increase in net rent as a result of the renovation.


Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your vote!

Straight to a non-binding interest rate indication



This could also interest you

Interest rate forecast for companies

UBS Swiss Real Estate Bubble Index

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Rénovation énergétique de biens de rendement

La rénovation énergétique, le bon plan?

01.04.2022 | 3 Minutes

En Suisse, 24% des émissions de gaz à effet de serre provient des habitations. Il n’est alors pas surprenant d’apprendre, que près de 60% des maisons individuelles et que 70% des immeubles locatifs sont chauffés aux énergies fossiles et que plus d’un million de ménages (sur environ 1,7 million au total) vivent dans un lieu peu ou mal isolé. Il est donc plus que nécessaire de s’en occuper.

La confédération et les cantons aident financièrement les propriétaires d’habitation effectuant cette démarche. Pour pouvoir bénéficier de cette aide, il faut prouver une amélioration de l’efficacité énergétique du bâtiment et une réduction de ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Ainsi, un bâtiment efficient

  • consomme moins de ressources (électricité, fioul, gaz, bois…), étant donné que les différents appareils (chauffage, climatisation, chauffe-eau, cuisines, salle de bains, éclairage, ascenseur) exploitent mieux l’énergie,
  • nuit moins à l’environnement avec des gaz à effet de serre, en raison de l’utilisation exclusive d’énergies renouvelables, voire à l’autoproduction énergétique.

Les piliers de la stratégie énergétique 2050 de la Suisse

  • Sortie progressive du nucléaire.
  • Obligation de réduction de moitié des émissions de gaz à effet de serre d’ici 2030 (par rapport aux émissions de 1990), conformément aux Accords de Paris sur le climat.
  • Zéro émission nette de gaz à effet de serre en 2050.

D’après le Fonds national suisse, seules 1% des habitations actuelles en Suisse sont rendues efficientes chaque année. Cette progression annuelle doit plus que doubler pour que les objectifs de la stratégie énergétique 2050 soient atteints au niveau immobilier.

Au rythme actuel, le «zéro émission nette» ne sera atteint par la Suisse que vers 2150. Plus on prend de retard et plus la capacité du secteur du bâtiment sera réduite. Les travaux de rénovation et de transformation courants accaparent déjà ce secteur.

Où est le souci?

Pourquoi y a t-il un tel retard? Pourquoi aussi peu de propriétaires se lancent-ils dans des travaux de rénovation malgré l’aide financière? Monsieur et madame tout le monde se soucient-ils aussi peu de l’environnement? L’heure est venue de traquer les raisons à l’origine de tout.

Raison possible n°1: en attente de technologies plus performantes

L’amélioration de l’efficience énergétique et la réduction des gaz à effet de serre dépendent des technologies en usage. Elles sont continuellement améliorées, plus performantes et moins chères. Il est donc compréhensible que des gens repoussent les travaux d’un an, afin de profiter des avancées technologiques leur permettant d’avoir plus d’énergie à un prix plus bas, et de profiter d’un marché arrivé à maturité.

Ce n’est pourtant pas le cas, en réalité. Ne serait-ce que parce qu’il ne s’agit que d’avancées mineures. La technologie va certes continuellement s’améliorer au sens du CECB (Certificat énergétique cantonal des bâtiments), mais ça ne sera qu’à la marge, il ne faut donc pas en attendre une révolution. Quelques exemples:

  • Ces 10-15 dernières années, le photovoltaïque est devenu 5 fois moins cher, mais pas forcément 5 fois plus performant. La baisse des prix est due aux économies d’échelle, à une hausse de la concurrence et à une rationalisation de la fabrication. Le silicium sera encore utilisé comme semi-conducteur dans le photovoltaïque pendant un certain nombre d’années et en équipera encore une grande partie de la production. Des semi-conducteurs comme l’arsénium de gallium (de formule chimique GaAs) ont beau être plus performants, ils sont plus chers et contiennent des éléments dangereux pour la santé (arsenic dans le cas présent). Le GaAs est toutefois utilisé dans certaines applications particulières pour lesquelles la question financière ne se pose pas, comme pour l’approvisionnement énergétique des satellites. Le silicium restera encore le choix par défaut pour les cellules photovoltaïques pendant un moment. Aucune avancée majeure ne pointe à l’horizon et les prix ne devraient pas chuter de façon significative.
  • Isolation thermique: il en va de même pour les isolants de façade. Ils sont constamment améliorés et rendus plus performants. Néanmoins, le matériau miracle qui serait deux fois plus compact, quatre fois moins cher et isolerait deux fois mieux n’est pas encore à portée de main.
  • Chauffage: les chaudières à biomasse et les pompes à chaleur sont des technologies maitrisées qui sont sans cesse améliorées et de plus en plus performantes. La révolution n’est pas pour demain ici non plus.
  • Fenêtre: le triple vitrage est devenue la norme dans les faits. La recherche se concentre sur le développement d’une vitre intelligente: Il est possible que nous ayons bientôt des fenêtres qui régulent d’elles-mêmes la luminosité d’une pièce en fonction du moment de la journée, de même que de la température.

Raison possible n°2: seuls les rendements à court terme sont pris en compte

L’investissement pour une rénovation énergétique peut être conséquent sur les bâtiments anciens et constituer un frein financier à cette entreprise au premier abord.

Seulement, l’amortissement dans le temps ainsi que les coûts en capital sur la portion de l’investissement générant une plus-value peuvent être répercutés sur les locataires. Cette portion doit représenter un montant forfaitaire minimum de 50 à 70% de l’investissement effectué. En plus, comme les investissements énergétiques sont déductibles des impôts, la hausse du loyer couvre en général les coûts initiaux.

Voici un exemple chiffré:
Imaginons que vous décidiez de remplacer votre chauffage au fioul par une pompe à chaleur aérothermique dans votre immeuble d’habitation. Étant donné que le système de chauffage actuel est arrivé en fin de vie, le calcul se présente de la façon suivante:

Investissement pour le remplacement d’une chaudière au fioul pour une pompe à chaleur aérothermique

100 000 CHF

Modernisation d’une chaudière au fioul

./. 40 000 CHF

Investissements pour une pompe à chaleur

60 000 CHF

Réduction sur les 60 000 CHF de frais supplémentaires (au taux plafond d’imposition de 33%)

./. 20 000 CHF

Investissements nets pour une pompe à chaleur

40 000 CHF

Hausse du loyer (par an)

3000 CHF environ

Rendements nets

7,5%

En investissant 100 000 CHF dans une pompe à chaleur aérothermique, il est possible d’augmenter le loyer à hauteur de 3000 CHF par an. En partant du principe qu’une modernisation d’un chauffage à énergie fossile coûte déjà 40 000 CHF, le reste à investir ne représente que 60 000 CHF. Si on déduit en plus la taxe au taux plafond de 33%, cela ne représente au final que 40 000 CHF. Les rendements effectifs sont de 7,5%. Avec un taux de perte de valeur de 4% par an (soit une durée de vie de 25 ans), la rénovation est une bonne opération pour vous.

Les frais d’exploitation seront sensiblement plus bas après la rénovation. Les locataires se trouvent être gagnants également, étant donné que la hausse du loyer est compensée par cette baisse des coûts.

Raison possible n°3: respect des délais de résiliation

Il est possible d’effectuer un rénovation partielle qui se limite aux questions d’ordre énergétique (au niveau du chauffage ou de l’isolation) Si toutefois il faut également remplacer une bonne part de la partie technique du bâtiment, ou qu’il faut procéder à une modernisation de la façade, alors il est indispensable de procéder à lune rénovation totale avec résiliation de tous les contrats de location qui s’accompagne d’un risque de plaintes. Une rénovation intégrale est aussi parfois recherchée pour des raisons purement financières et non pas seulement pour une question de structure du bâtiment. Il vous faut tabler sur deux à trois années de loyers perdus pour la durée des travaux. Ici, la hausse du loyer peut être encore plus élevée après la rénovation par rapport à une rénovation partielle en raison à la fois de la hausse de la qualité énergétique du bien ainsi que de l’ajustement des loyers aux prix habituels du marché.

La rénovation intégrale se révèle rentable lorsque le montant de la plus value excède celui des coûts de rénovation. Avec un loyer moyen supérieur de 40% pour un bien neuf par rapport à un bien identique datant des années 70, la différence au niveau du loyer d’un trois pièces est de 500 CHF par mois. Pour un investissement de 150 000 CHF, cela correspond à un rendement de rénovation de 4% par habitation. Il est possible d’atteindre des rendements plus élevés, en augmentant la surface de location ou en améliorant l’occupation du bien immobilier. Le potentiel de hausse des loyers devrait être d’au moins 30% d’après les calculs du CIO d’UBS.

Tout cela dépend fortement de l’emplacement de votre bien: Une rénovation intégrale est particulièrement intéressante pour les bâtiments anciens ayant besoin d’être rénovés et se situant dans un quartier central ou dans des agglomérations à forte croissance, étant donné que la hausse de la qualité et la hausse des loyers sur le marché devraient y être particulièrement élevées et que le risque de vacance est faible.

C’est bien moins intéressant en périphérie et certains endroits de l’agglomération étendue, où la proportion de surfaces inoccupées est supérieure à la moyenne. Bien qu’il existe une demande pour ces biens de qualité supérieure, seul un petit nombre d’entre eux trouverons preneur. Le potentiel de hausse du loyer est donc réduit. S’il n’est pas possible d’appliquer cette hausse, les rendements effectifs des loyers en pâtissent et l’investissement énergétique est une mauvaise opération financière pour le propriétaire.

Une locataire d’habitation efficiente regarde au loin depuis le balcon
Back view woman in backlight standing at the window at home looking out

Quelques bonnes raisons de procéder à une rénovation énergétique de votre bien de rendement

Ces raisons ne doivent pas vous dissuader de faire une rénovation énergétique de votre bien de rendement. Les bonnes raisons ne manquent pas:

Rendements à long terme

Une rénovation intégrale permet des rendements clairement plus élevés pour des biens situés dans des quartiers centraux qu’un bien nouvellement acquis.Une rénovation énergétique partielle peut engendrer des rendements importants au moyen de déductions fiscales, de subventions et d’ajustements de loyers.

Le financement par des acteurs tiers génère souvent des rendements sur capital propre en cette période de taux bas, de l’ordre de la dizaine de pour cent.Vous n’avez pas assez de liquidités pour une rénovation énergétique? De nombreuses banques proposent des prêts spéciaux pour la modernisation énergétique, ou bien proposent des prêts normaux à taux préférentiel.

Vous prévoyez une rénovation énergétique?

Nous récompensons les immeubles de rendement durables par un avantage financier.

Choix politiques possibles: du soutien à l’interdiction

À moins d’un durcissement des conditions cadre, l’objectif intermédiaire vers la neutralité carbone ne devrait pas être atteint en 2030.

Il faut tabler à moyen terme sur des interventions politiques plus fortes prenant la forme d’interdictions et de taxes pour accélérer le processus de remplacement.

Ce qui veut dire que les rénovations énergétiques ne seront plus encouragées comme auparavant par des subventions, mais feront l’objet de contraintes plus ou moins drastiques.

De plus, une éventuelle interdiction des systèmes de chauffage à énergie fossile ainsi qu’une hausse de la demande pour des systèmes de chauffage alternatifs devraient déclencher des problèmes de capacité dans l’industrie du bâtiment, ce qui devrait rendre les coûts de rénovation plus élevés. Il y a en plus des pénuries au niveau de la livraison, qui sont normalement à mettre sur le compte de crises imprévisibles que ce soit au niveau diplomatique, sanitaire ou économique. Ces crises peuvent conduire à un tarissement et à une hausse du prix du fioul ou du gaz.

En tant que propriétaire d’un immeuble d’habitation, vous seriez avisé-e de rénover votre bien de rendement sans plus attendre et de prévoir cette démarche avec suffisamment d’avance.

Meilleure prise de conscience des questions écologiques par les locataires

Plus rapidement vous remplacerez votre chaudière au fioul par une pompe à chaleur (par exemple), et plus les générations présentes comme futures vous remercieront. Vous ferez aussi le bonheur de vos locataires grâce à la baisse des coûts de chauffage. Les gains financiers engendrés par les énergies renouvelables sont d’autant plus grands si l’énergie utilisée par la pompe à chaleur est produite par le bâtiment lui-même ou par des panneaux photovoltaïques. Vous n’aurez pas à vous justifier auprès de vos locataires que vous remplacez le système de chauffage, mais plutôt si vous ne le faites pas, en fait. Un peu comme ce qu’il s’est passé ces dernières années avec les demandes de durabilité pour les caisses de pension et les biens de consommation courante.

En conclusion

La rénovation énergétique d’un bien de rendement bénéficie aux trois acteurs concernés: l’environnement, le propriétaire et le locataire. L’environnement et la société dans son ensemble sont gagnants lorsqu’un bâtiment rénové produit moins de pollution au quotidien. Les propriétaires peuvent faire augmenter la valeur marchande de leur bien de rendement, lorsque le montant de l’investissement est financé par la hausse des revenus issus des loyers.

Les locataires se trouvent être gagnants également, étant donné que la hausse du loyer est compensée par cette baisse des coûts.


Cet article a-t-il été utile?
Merci pour votre vote!

Obtenir rapidement une indication du taux d’intérêt non contraignante



Également intéressant pour vous

Prévisions de taux pour les entreprises

UBS Swiss Real Estate Bubble Index

Ce site web utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience de navigation. Vous trouverez plus d’informations dans la déclaration de confidentialité. Vous pouvez modifier vos paramètres de cookies dans les paramètres de confidentialité. Accédez aux paramètres de confidentialité