Affordability calculation: how much money do you need to purchase your own home?

15.09.2020 | 5 Minutes

Affordability is a key concept in financing and the mortgage business. It refers to the relationship between income on the one hand and the costs of owning a home on the other. It is expressed as a percentage and represents a key figure for the affordability of a loan.

Anyone wanting to find a home for less than a million francs in popular residential locations in the greater Zurich or Lake Geneva region has to search for a long time nowadays. Prices in many “hot spots” of the real estate market have risen sharply over the last 10 to 15 years. And as incomes have not increased to the same extent, it is becoming more difficult for some households to meet the requirements for taking out a mortgage.

Mortgage affordability: the right way to calculate

What is the right way to determine the financial affordability of a mortgage? The guidelines of the Swiss Bankers Association (SBA) state that affordability must be ensured in the long term and must therefore be based on sustainable revenue and expenditure components.

The “golden rule” of financing is clear: the mortgage is generally considered to be affordable if the total cost of home ownership does not exceed one third of gross income (income before social security contributions such as AHV, ALV, etc.).

On the revenue side, documented and sustainably achievable income must be taken into account in the affordability calculation. This includes income from gainful employment verified on the basis of documents such as the salary statement, including the 13th month’s salary. Any bonus payments or forthcoming salary increases can be included to some extent, provided they are regular or well documented. A second income from the spouse may be added provided that it is sustainable. This means that income that is merely temporary – that is only generated in one year, for example – cannot be taken into account. At the same time, however, the couple must be jointly and severally liable for all obligations arising from the loan.

A woman is standing at a table with a laptop, talking on the phone and taking notes.

Affordability calculation: the cost side

The following costs must be added together to check affordability:

  • Mortgage interest (calculated with an imputed interest rate of five percent)
  • The required repayments or amortization
  • The maintenance costs and incidental expenses of the house or apartment (rule of thumb: one percent of the value).

Verifying affordability is an essential step on the path towards owning your own home. The basic question always remains the same: “What’s the maximum price of my new home?” key4 by UBS automatically calculates affordability with just a few pieces of information.

How does the bank assess affordability?

For the mortgage provider, the affordability calculation is a key part of the credit assessment, and the relevant industry guidelines obligate them to carry out this calculation. It is based on a predefined, documented procedure. The provider is also bound by the principle of not using the daily low interest rates in the affordability calculation. Calculating affordability means using a longer-term average interest rate (known as the imputed rate of interest). The interest rate varies depending on the bank.

Mortgage affordability: caution is the watchword

There are two valid arguments for being prudent when calculating affordability:

  • The threshold of one third of gross income is undisputed. Otherwise, many households – especially those from the middle class – would have to make excessive cutbacks elsewhere, for example on vacations, restaurant visits, leisure activities etc.
  • The conservative calculation of affordability with an interest rate of five percent includes a safety margin. Future purchasers who fulfill the affordability calculation could usually cope with a higher interest rate level. This massively reduces the risk that owning a home could lead to over-indebtedness.

Affordability calculation: mortgage and incidental expenses

When it comes to financing, the loan repayments – not counting interest – must be budgeted correctly. According to the above-mentioned guidelines for owner-occupied residential property, each client must reduce their mortgage to two-thirds of the value of the property within 15 years (different rules apply to vacation or investment properties). You have the choice of paying back the amortization directly or indirectly, for example via the 3rd pillar (form of private savings and private retirement planning). However, the annual amortization rates must always be part of the planned budget.

A man kneels in front of a washbasin in the bathroom and screws in a replacement drain system.

The third cost factor is incidental expenses. Here it is customary in the industry to use one percent of the property value. For a single-family house at a purchase price of one million francs, 10,000 francs would have to be budgeted each year. This includes various expenses: heating or energy, electricity, water, maintenance, repairs, building insurance, garden maintenance etc. In the case of an apartment (condominium ownership), the shared costs in the building are also included in incidental expenses (cost contributions for administration and maintenance, or payments into a renovation fund).

This one percent rule is used for the affordability calculation during credit checks and advisory sessions. Older properties may also incur higher maintenance and renovation costs.

Conclusion: the following motto clearly applies to the purchase of residential property: first budget and calculate, then buy. It is in the client’s own interest to carefully observe the rules of affordability. This prevents financial difficulties later on and guarantees that you can enjoy your own home without anything to worry about.

Table: affordability calculation

The Example family has a gross income of 150,000 francs and would like to buy a house for 820,000 francs.

The affordability calculation for the mortgage compares their income with the imputed costs:

Purchase price of the property CHF 820 000
Available equity CHF 180 000
Gross household income CHF 150 000
Mortgage amount CHF 640 000

Affordability calculation: monthly cost of home ownership in relation to income

Interest CHF 2 667
Amortization CHF 519
Maintenance costs and incidental expenses CHF 683
Imputed costs per month CHF 3 869
Imputed costs per year CHF 46 428
Gross income in relation to imputed costs per year CHF 150 000 / CHF 46 428
Affordability (as a percentage of gross income) 31%

Calculation basis

Mortgage CHF 640 000
Loan-to-value ratio as a percent of the purchase price 78%

The affordability calculation shows that the home and the mortgage for the Example family would be easily affordable – about 31 percent of gross income would go to the “own home” account.

Cost of residential property as a % of

total income (gross)

Cost of residential property as a % of total income (gross) Running costs max. 33%

Cookies

This website uses cookies to ensure that you get the best experience on our website. For further information, please refer to the Privacy Statement. You can change the settings of your cookies in the Privacy Settings.

Change settings

Tragbarkeitsrechnung: Was braucht es für die eigenen vier Wände?

15.09.2020 | 5 Minuten

Die Tragbarkeit ist ein zentraler Begriff in der Finanzierung und im Hypothekargeschäft. Gemeint ist damit das Verhältnis von Einkommen einerseits und Kosten des Eigenheims andererseits. Als Kennzahl für die Tragbarkeit eines Kredits ist sie in Prozenten angegeben.

Wer an beliebten Wohnlagen im Grossraum Zürich oder in der Genfersee-Region ein Eigenheim für weniger als eine Million Franken finden will, muss heute lange suchen. Die Preise an vielen Hotspots des Immobilienmarktes sind in den letzten 10 bis 15 Jahren stark gestiegen. Und weil sich die Einkommen nicht im gleichen Mass erhöht haben, wird es für manche Haushalte schwieriger, die Anforderungen für eine Hypothek zu erfüllen.

Tragbarkeit Hypothek: richtig rechnen

Wie wird die finanzielle Tragbarkeit einer Hypothek korrekt ermittelt? In den entsprechenden Richtlinien der Schweizerischen Bankiervereinigung (SBVg) heisst es: «Die Tragbarkeit muss langfristig gegeben sein und hat daher auf nachhaltigen Einnahmen- und Ausgabenkomponenten zu beruhen.»

Die «goldene Regel» der Finanzierung ist klar: Die Tragbarkeit der Hypothek ist im Allgemeinen dann nachgewiesen, wenn die Kosten des Wohneigentums insgesamt nicht höher ausfallen als ein Drittel des Bruttoeinkommens (Einkünfte noch vor Sozialabgaben wie AHV, ALV etc.).

Auf der Einnahmenseite sind für die Tragbarkeitsrechnung die dokumentierten und nachhaltig erzielbaren Einkünfte anzurechnen. Dazu gehören die aufgrund von Unterlagen wie dem Lohnausweis belegten Einnahmen aus der Erwerbsarbeit, inklusive des 13. Monatslohns. Allfällige Bonuszahlungen oder bevorstehende Lohnerhöhungen können teilweise angerechnet werden, soweit sie regelmässig bzw. gut dokumentiert sind. Zweiteinkommen von Ehepartnern dürfen addiert werden, sofern diese nachhaltig sind. Damit ist gemeint, dass bloss vorübergehende Einkünfte – die zum Beispiel nur in einem Jahr anfallen – nicht anrechenbar sind. Voraussetzung ist aber zugleich, dass das Paar solidarisch, das heisst gemeinsam für alle Verpflichtungen aus dem Kredit haftet.

Eine Frau steht an einem Tisch mit einem Laptop, telefoniert und macht sich dabei Notizen.

Tragbarkeitsrechnung: die Kostenseite

Um die Tragbarkeit zu prüfen, sind folgende Kostenfaktoren zu addieren:

  • Die Hypothekarzinsen (mit einem kalkulatorischen Zins von 5 Prozent gerechnet)
  • Die vorgeschriebenen Rückzahlungen bzw. Amortisationen
  • Die Unterhalts- und Nebenkosten des Hauses respektive der Wohnung (Faustregel: 1 Prozent des Wertes).

Auf dem Weg zum Eigenheim fällt der Prüfung der Tragbarkeit eine zentrale Rolle zu. Denn dabei geht es immer auch um die Grundfrage: „Was darf das neue Zuhause maximal kosten?“ key4 by UBS berechnet die Tragbarkeit automatisch mit wenigen Angaben.

Wie bewertet die Bank die Tragbarkeit?

Für den Hypothekenanbieter ist die Tragbarkeitsrechnung ein zentrales Element der Bonitätsprüfung. Zu dieser verpflichten ihn die entsprechenden Richtlinien der Branche. Grundlage dafür ist ein vordefiniertes und dokumentiertes Verfahren. Der Anbieter ist dabei auch an den Grundsatz gebunden, in der Tragbarkeitsrechnung nicht die tagesaktuell tiefen Zinsen einzusetzen. Die Tragbarkeit berechnen heisst, einen längerfristigen Durchschnittszins heranzuziehen (den sogenannten kalkulatorischen Zinssatz). Der Zinssatz variiert je nach Bank.

Hypotheken Tragbarkeit: Prinzip Vorsicht

Es gibt zwei stichhaltige Argumente, die Tragbarkeit nach dem Vorsichtsprinzip zu berechnen:

  • Die Schwelle von einem Drittel des Bruttoeinkommens ist unbestritten. Denn sonst müssten viele Haushalte – vor allem solche aus dem Mittelstand – anderswo übermässig Abstriche machen, etwa bei Ferienreisen, Restaurantbesuchen, Freizeitaktivitäten etc.
  • Die konservative Berechnung der Tragbarkeit mit einem Zins von 5 Prozent beinhaltet eine Sicherheitsmarge. Wer die Tragbarkeitsrechnung erfüllt, könnte in der Regel auch ein höheres Zinsniveau verkraften. Dies senkt das Risiko massiv, dass das Eigenheim zu einer Überschuldung führen könnte.

Tragbarkeitsrechnung: Hypothek und Nebenkosten

Für die Finanzierung ist – abgesehen von den Zinsen – die Kredittilgung korrekt zu budgetieren. Gemäss den erwähnten Richtlinien ist für selbstgenutztes Wohneigentum zu beachten, dass jeder Kunde die Hypothek innerhalb von 15 Jahren auf zwei Drittel des Liegenschaftswertes reduzieren muss (für Ferienobjekte oder Renditeliegenschaften gelten andere Bestimmungen). Dabei haben Sie die Wahl, die Amortisationen direkt oder indirekt, zum Beispiel über die 3. Säule, vorzunehmen (Form des privaten Sparens und der privaten Vorsorge). Die jährlichen Amortisationsraten müssen aber in jedem Fall Teil des geplanten Budgets sein.

Vor einem Waschbecken im Bad kniet ein Mann, der am Abflusssystem des Beckens schraubt, um es zu erneuern.

Der dritte Kostenfaktor sind die Nebenkosten. Hier ist es branchenüblich, 1 Prozent des Liegenschaftswertes einzusetzen. Für ein Einfamilienhaus zum Kaufpreis von einer Million Franken wären demnach jährlich 10 000 Franken zu budgetieren. Darunter summieren sich verschiedene Auslagen: Heizung bzw. Energie, Strom, Wasser, Unterhalt, Reparaturen, Gebäudeversicherungen, Gartenunterhalt etc. Handelt es sich um eine Eigentumswohnung (Stockwerkeigentum), fallen die gemeinschaftlichen Kosten im Haus ebenfalls unter Nebenkosten (Kostenbeiträge für Verwaltung und Unterhalt oder Zahlungen in einen Erneuerungsfonds).

Im Rahmen einer Kreditprüfung und einer Beratung zieht man für die Tragbarkeitsrechnung diese 1-Prozent-Regel heran. Bei älteren Liegenschaften können allenfalls auch höhere Unterhalts- und Renovationskosten anfallen.

Fazit: Beim Erwerb von Wohneigentum gilt also klar die Devise: zuerst budgetieren und rechnen, erst dann kaufen. Die sorgfältige Beachtung der Tragbarkeitsregeln liegt im ureigenen Interesse des Kunden. Sie beugen späteren finanziellen Engpässen vor und bieten Gewähr, das eigene Zuhause sorgenfrei geniessen zu können.

Tabelle: Tragbarkeit berechnen

Familie Muster verfügt über ein Bruttoeinkommen von 150 000 Franken und wünscht sich ein Haus zum Preis von 820 000 Franken.

Die Tragbarkeitsrechnung für die Hypothek stellt die Einkünfte den kalkulatorischen Kosten gegenüber:

Kaufpreis Liegenschaft CHF 820 000
Verfügbares Eigenkapital CHF 180 000
Haushaltseinkommen brutto CHF 150 000
Höhe der Hypothek CHF 640 000

Tragbarkeitsrechnung: monatliche Kosten Eigenheim in Relation zum Einkommen

Zinsen CHF 2 667
Amortisation CHF 519
Unterhalts- und Nebenkosten CHF 683
kalk. Kosten monatlich CHF 3 869
kalk. Kosten jährlich CHF 46 428
Einkommen brutto in Relation zu den kalk. Kosten pro Jahr CHF 150 000 / CHF 46 428
Tragbarkeit (in Prozent des Einkommens brutto) 31%

Berechnungsgrundlage

Hypothek CHF 640 000
Belehnung in Prozent des Kaufpreises 78%

Die Tragbarkeitsrechnung zeigt, dass das Eigenheim und die Hypothek für Familie Muster gut tragbar wären – rund 31 Prozent des Bruttoeinkommens würden auf das Konto „Eigenheim“ gehen.

Kosten für Wohneigentum in % des

Gesamteinkommens (brutto)

Kosten für Wohneigentum in % des Gesamteinkommens Kosten für Wohneigentum in % des   Gesamteinkommens

Cookies

Diese Website verwendet Cookies, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie die beste Erfahrung auf unserer Website erhalten. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Datenschutzerklärung. Sie können die Einstellungen Ihrer Cookies in den Datenschutzeinstellungen ändern.