Fixed-rate mortgage

The mortgage with a fixed interest rate

A fixed-rate mortgage is a loan with an interest rate that is fixed for the entire term. The interest rate does not depend on market developments during the term and you are protected against rising interest rates.

Taking out a fixed-rate mortgage is advantageous when current interest rates are low and a rise in interest rates is expected in the near future. The fact that the interest rate remains fixed throughout the term allows you to plan your budget with certainty.



Our interest rates*

SARON

from 0.52 %

5-year fixed-rate mortgage

from 0.54 %

10-year fixed-rate mortgage

from 0.70 %

15-year fixed-rate mortgage

from 0.92 %

These interest rates are for illustrative purposes only and are updated regularly (current status as at 19.10.2020). They do not constitute a binding financing offer.

The interest rates shown were determined by key4 on the basis of the following financing parameters: canton: Zurich, loan amount: CHF 500,000, affordability: 24%, loan-to-value ratio: 50%, mortgage payout date: 19.11.2020.

What is the term of a fixed-rate mortgage?

With key4 you can take out fixed-rate mortgages with terms of 1 to 15 years. The interest rates are fixed for the agreed period when you sign the mortgage contract.

Good to know: in general, the longer the term of the mortgage, the higher the mortgage interest rate.

Is it possible to cancel a fixed-rate mortgage?

During the term, premature cancellation of a fixed-rate mortgage is not usually possible. Anyone who decides to do so in exceptional cases must pay an early redemption penalty . The amount to be paid depends on several factors:

  • How long is the remaining term of the mortgage?
  • What is the agreed interest rate?
  • What is the current interest rate?

One reason for early re-financing of a mortgage could be to switch to another mortgage model with better conditions, for instance. It is therefore worth discussing re-financing with your provider at an early stage.


Interest rates are rising – should I take any immediate action?

With a fixed-rate mortgage you are protected against rising interest rates during the term of the mortgage and don’t have to do anything – in this case you benefit from the fixed interest rate. The interest burden can therefore be planned over the entire term of the mortgage.

Interest rates are falling – is this an advantage for me?

If interest rates fall during the term of the mortgage, you can’t benefit if you have a fixed-rate mortgage because the interest rate remains fixed. You can only benefit with a variable-rate mortgage (SARON mortgage).

A brief guide to fixed-rate mortgages

Can I fix the interest rate in advance?

Yes, it is possible to take out a forward mortgage. For a corresponding premium (forward surcharge), you can fix the interest rate up to 18 months before the payout date of the mortgage to secure the current interest rate. This is especially worthwhile if you expect interest rates to rise.

How do I minimize my interest rate risk?

If you take out a fixed-rate mortgage, there is a risk that interest rates on the market will rise during the term. This means that by the time your mortgage ends, the interest rates could be higher than on the date of signature. If this is the case, you would have to take out the new mortgage at a higher interest rate.

In order to reduce this risk, it may be worth splitting the total financing amount into smaller mortgage tranches consisting of different products right from the start – in other words, you could take out several fixed-rate mortgages with different terms. This allows you to fix an interest rate for 10 years and still benefit from lower interest rates via other fixed-rate mortgages with shorter terms.

What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Predictability: costs are fixed and can be planned precisely in advance
Reduced interest rate risk: the interest rate risk is reduced by combining mortgages with different terms
No interest rate fluctuations: you don’t have to worry about interest rate fluctuations during the term
Fix a favorable interest rate: with a fixed-rate mortgage you can fix a favorable interest rate for the entire term of the mortgage
Lack of flexibility when interest rates change: no possibility to switch to another mortgage, even if interest rate falls during the term
Extraordinary amortization subject to a fee: you will incur costs if you repay the mortgage before the end of the defined term
Premature mortgage re-financing subject to a fee: in this case an early redemption penalty is due
Cookies

This website uses cookies to ensure that you get the best experience on our website. For further information, please refer to the Privacy Statement. You can change the settings of your cookies in the Privacy Settings.

Change settings

Festhypothek

Die Hypothek mit festem Zinssatz

Bei der Festhypothek handelt es sich um einen Kredit, bei dem der Zinssatz für die gesamte Laufzeit festgelegt ist. Der Zins ist während der Laufzeit unabhängig von der Entwicklung des Marktes und Sie sind gegen steigende Zinsen abgesichert.

Der Abschluss einer Festhypothek ist vorteilhaft, wenn die aktuellen Zinsen tief sind und in nächster Zeit mit einem Zinsanstieg zu rechnen ist. Durch den festen Zinssatz während der Laufzeit können Sie Ihr Budget verlässlich planen.



Unsere Zinssätze*

SARON

ab 0.52 %

5-Jahre-Festhypothek

ab 0.54 %

10-Jahre-Festhypothek

ab 0.70 %

15-Jahre-Festhypothek

ab 0.92 %

Diese Zinssätze dienen rein zu Veranschaulichungszwecken und werden regelmässig aktualisiert (aktueller Stand vom 19.10.2020). Sie bilden kein verbindliches Finanzierungsangebot.

Die angezeigten Zinssätze hat key4 auf Basis der folgenden Finanzierungsparameter ermittelt: Kanton: Zürich, Kreditsumme: CHF 500’000, Tragbarkeit: 24%, Belehnung: 50%, Auszahlungsdatum der Hypothek: 19.11.2020.

Welche Laufzeit hat eine Festhypothek?

Bei key4 können Sie Festhypotheken mit Laufzeiten von 1 bis 15 Jahren abschliessen. Die Zinssätze werden bei Abschluss für den vereinbarten Zeitraum fixiert.

Gut zu wissen: Je länger die Laufzeit der Hypothek, desto höher ist in der Regel der Hypothekarzins.

Kann man eine Festhypothek kündigen?

Während der Laufzeit ist es nicht ohne weiteres möglich, eine Festhypothek vorzeitig zu kündigen. Wer sich in Ausnahmefällen doch dafür entscheidet, muss eine Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung zahlen. Wie hoch der zu zahlende Betrag ist, hängt von mehreren Faktoren ab:

  • Wie lang ist die Restlaufzeit der Hypothek?
  • Wie hoch ist der vereinbarte Zinssatz?
  • Wie hoch ist der aktuelle Zinssatz?

Ein Grund für die vorzeitige Ablösung der Hypothek ist zum Beispiel der Wechsel in ein anderes Hypothekarmodell mit besseren Konditionen. Es lohnt sich also, mit Ihrem Anbieter frühzeitig über eine Ablösung zu sprechen.


Die Zinsen steigen – muss ich jetzt etwas tun?

Mit einer Festhypothek sind Sie während der Laufzeit gegen steigende Zinsen geschützt und müssen nichts unternehmen – Sie profitieren in diesem Falle vom fixen Zinssatz. . Die Zinsbelastung ist für die Laufzeit der Hypothek also planbar.

Die Zinsen fallen – habe ich dadurch Vorteile?

Wenn die Zinsen während der Laufzeit fallen, können Sie im Rahmen einer Festhypothek nicht davon profitieren, da der Zinssatz fixiert ist. Das ist nur bei einer Hypothek mit variablem Zinssatz (SARON Hypothek) möglich.

Festhypothek kurz erklärt

Kann ich den Zinssatz im Voraus fixieren?

Ja, es ist möglich, eine sogenannte Termin- oder Forwardhypothek abzuschliessen. So können Sie gegen einen entsprechenden Aufpreis (Forwardzuschlag) einen Zinssatz bis zu 18 Monate vor der Auszahlung abschliessen und sich so den aktuellen Zinssatz sichern. Das lohnt sich vor allem dann, wenn Sie mit steigenden Zinsen rechnen.

Wie minimiere ich mein Zinsänderungsrisiko?

Wenn Sie eine Festhypothek abschliessen, besteht das Risiko, dass sich die Zinsen auf dem Markt während der Laufzeit erhöhen. Wenn Ihre Hypothek dann ausläuft, könnten die Zinsen also höher sein, als zum Zeitpunkt des Abschlusses. Ist das der Fall, müssten Sie die neue Folgehypothek zu einem höheren Zinssatz abschliessen.

Um dieses Risiko zu reduzieren, kann es sich lohnen, die Gesamtfinanzierung von Beginn an in kleinere Hypothekar-Tranchen aus verschiedenen Produkten aufzuteilen – Sie schliessen also mehrere Festhypotheken mit unterschiedlichen Laufzeiten ab. So können Sie einen Zinssatz auf 10 Jahre fixieren und dennoch von niedrigeren Zinsen über weitere Festhypotheken mit kürzeren Laufzeiten profitieren.

Was sind die Vor- und Nachteile?

Planbarkeit: Kosten sind festgelegt und genau planbar
Geringeres Zinsrisiko: Durch Kombination von Hypotheken mit verschiedenen Laufzeiten reduziert sich das Zinsrisiko
Keine Zinsschwankungen: Während der Laufzeit müssen Sie sich nicht mit Zinsschwankungen auseinandersetzen
Günstigen Zinssatz fixieren: Mit einer Festhypothek können Sie einen günstigen Zinssatz für die gesamte Laufzeit der Hypothek fixieren
Fehlende Flexibilität bei Änderung der Zinssätze: Keine Möglichkeit in eine andere Hypothek zu wechseln, auch wenn der Zinssatz während der Laufzeit sinkt
Ausserordentliche Amortisation kostenpflichtig: Wird die Hypothek vor dem Ende der festgelegten Laufzeit zurückgezahlt, fallen Kosten an
Vorzeitige Ablösung der Hypothek kostenpflichtig: In diesem Falle ist eine Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung zu zahlen
Cookies

Diese Website verwendet Cookies, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie die beste Erfahrung auf unserer Website erhalten. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Datenschutzerklärung. Sie können die Einstellungen Ihrer Cookies in den Datenschutzeinstellungen ändern.