Forward mortgages: Securing today's fixed rate | key4.ch

Forward mortgages: Interest rate protection with fixed-rate mortgages

© Getty Images
31.05.2021 | 4 minutes

How a forward mortgage works

A forward mortgage is a fixed-rate mortgage where a customer fixes the mortgage interest at today’s rate several months in advance. It may be a new fixed-rate mortgage or an extension to an existing mortgage. The mortgage provider determines how far in advance this forward transaction can be planned. At key4, prospective mortgage borrowers have a lead time of up to 18 months.

Reason for taking out a forward mortgage – rising interest rates

The main reason for taking out a forward mortgage is the expectation that interest rates may rise in the coming months. With an assurance of mortgage interest at today’s rate, customers sidestep this risk completely.

However, no one can foresee or even predict future interest rates. Nonetheless, given the European Central Bank’s expansive monetary policy, financial experts do not expect interest rates to rise significantly in the near future. Rather, they envisage a continued sideways trend.

Other reasons for taking out a forward mortgage include individual life circumstances and personal attitudes towards financing. If you can’t afford to take a risk, or simply don’t want to, even a seemingly insignificant one, a forward mortgage is a safe bet. Similarly, people who like to tick items off their to-do lists can complete this task early on.

A man carrying a small child on his shoulders
© Getty Images

Forward mortgages – the costs involved

Mortgage borrowers usually have to pay the bank a forward surcharge (Forward-Aufschlag) for the assurance of a fixed interest rate. This amount depends primarily on the future date on which the mortgage will commence – the later the date, the higher the forward surcharge. Many banks offset the surcharge against the mortgage interest, which is then simply marginally higher than for a mortgage without a surcharge.

Mortgage lenders are currently offering free interest rate protection for a relatively short period of time.

The optimum financing for your home

Here you’ll find exactly the right offer – independent, fast and transparent.

Deciding to take out a forward mortgage

Only when the term starts will you know whether a forward mortgage was in fact worthwhile. Often, you will not know until much later. However, the fictitious sample calculation provided below can help prospective mortgage borrowers understand whether this model is suitable for them.

Example

A customer is interested in taking out a forward mortgage whose term will start in 12 months’ time. The contracting party will pay a forward surcharge of 0.2% for the relatively long duration associated with this interest rate assurance. The current interest rate will therefore increase from 1.3% to 1.5%. If the interest rate increases above 1.5% before your mortgage term begins, and also during the term of your mortgage, this forward transaction will have been worthwhile. If interest rates remain the same or even fall, it would not have been necessary to take out a forward mortgage.

The advantages and disadvantages of a forward mortgage are summarized below.

Advantages:

  • The customer secures mortgage interest at today’s favorable rate.
  • The risk associated with a possible rise in interest rates is avoided.
  • The customer has planning security regarding his or her own life circumstances.

Disadvantages:

  • The forward transaction is binding even if the interest rate has not increased.
  • The customer commits to one provider and their terms and conditions early on, possibly months in advance.
  • A forward surcharge is payable.

Tax-deductible forward surcharge

Once the mortgage has been taken out, a distinction is no longer made between the forward rate and the interest rate. Instead, it is known as the individual mortgage interest rate (individueller Hypozinssatz). As usual, this can be deducted on a regular basis for tax purposes.

Conclusion: Forward mortgages – a safe bet

Forward mortgages are an option for anyone wishing to minimize their financial risk. They guard against the risk of interest rates rising before your mortgage term begins, and also during the term of your mortgage. However, a premium known as the forward surcharge must be offset for obtaining this security. Only at a later date will it be possible to ascertain whether this forward mortgage was ultimately worthwhile.

Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your vote!


More articles on the topic


Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Forward-Hypothek: fester Zins für später absichern | key4.ch

Forward-Hypothek: Zinsabsicherung bei Festhypotheken

© Getty Images
31.05.2021 | 4 Minuten

So funktioniert eine Forward-Hypothek

Die Forward-Hypothek basiert auf einer Festhypothek, bei dem sich Kunden die Hypothekarzinsen auf dem heutigen Stand bereits Monate im Voraus fixieren. Dabei kann es sich um eine neue Festhypothek handeln oder auch um die Verlängerung einer bestehenden Hypothek. Es hängt vom Hypothekaranbieter ab, wie lange dieses Termingeschäft im Voraus geplant werden kann. Bei key4 wird Interessenten eine Vorlaufzeit von bis zu 18 Monaten gewährt.

Abschlussgrund: steigendes Zinsniveau

Der Hauptgrund für den Abschluss einer Forward-Hypothek ist die Vermutung, dass in den kommenden Monaten das Zinsniveau steigen könnte. Mit der Zusicherung der Zinsen auf dem heutigen Stand gehen Kunden diesem Risiko aus dem Weg.

Allerdings: Niemand kann absehen oder gar voraussagen, wie sich das Zinsniveau entwickelt. Finanzexperten vermuten jedoch, dass aufgrund der expansiven Geldpolitik der Europäischen Zentralbank in nächster Zeit nicht mit einem grossen Anstieg zu rechnen ist – eher mit einer anhaltenden Seitwärtsbewegung.

Weitere Gründe, die für die Forward-Hypothek sprechen, sind die individuelle Lebenslage und die persönliche Einstellung zu Finanzierungen. Wer sich nicht leisten kann oder sich nicht leisten möchte, ein Risiko einzugehen, auch wenn es klein erscheinen mag, der ist mit dem Abschluss dieser Hypothek auf der sicheren Seite. Ebenfalls Personen, die gerne einen Haken hinter offene To Do’s setzen und so diese Aufgabe frühzeitig erledigen können.

Ein Mann trägt ein kleines Kind auf seinen Schultern
© Getty Images

Die Kosten einer Forward-Hypothek

Für die Zusicherung eines festen Zinssatzes müssen Hypothekarnehmer in der Regel eine Prämie an die Bank zahlen – den sogenannten Forward-Aufschlag. Wie hoch dieser ausfällt, hängt in erster Linie davon ab, wie weit sich der Termin der Hypothek in der Zukunft befindet – je weiter, desto höher. Viele Banken verrechnen den Aufschlag mit dem Hypothekarzins, der dann einfach etwas höher ausfällt als bei einer Hypothek ohne Prämie.

Für einen relativ geringen Zeitraum bieten Hypothekargeber eine kostenlose Absicherung an.

Die optimale Finanzierung für Ihr Zuhause

Hier finden Sie genau Ihr Angebot – unabhängig, schnell und transparent.

Forward-Hypothek abschliessen oder nicht?

Ob sich das Aufnehmen dieser Hypothek lohnt, lässt sich frühestens sagen, wenn die Laufzeit gestartet ist. Häufig sogar erst noch später. Am fiktiven Beispiel der folgenden Rechnung können Interessenten aber erahnen, ob dieses Modell für sie in Frage kommt.

Beispiel

Ein Kunde ist an einer Forward-Hypothek interessiert, deren Laufzeit in 12 Monaten startet. Diese relativ lange Dauer einer Zinssatzzusicherung lässt sich der Vertragspartner mit einem Forward-Aufschlag von 0,2 Prozent bezahlen. Der aktuelle Zinssatz erhöht sich demnach von 1,3 auf 1,5 Prozent. Sollte sich der Zinssatz beim Start und auch während der Laufzeit auf über 1,5 Prozent erhöhen, hat sich das Geschäft für den Kunden gelohnt. Bleiben die Zinsen gleich oder sinken sogar, wäre der Forward-Abschluss nicht notwendig gewesen.

Im Folgenden noch einmal die Vorteile und Nachteile einer Forward-Hypothek im Überblick.

Vorteile:

  • der Kunde sichert sich einen aktuell günstigen Zinssatz
  • dadurch unterliegt er nicht dem Risiko möglicher steigender Zinsen
  • er verfügt über Planungssicherheit für die eigenen Lebensumstände

Nachteile:

  • das Termingeschäft ist bindend, auch wenn der Zinssatz nicht gestiegen ist
  • der Kunde legt sich frühzeitig – möglicherweise Monate im Voraus – auf Konditionen und einen Anbieter fest
  • ein Forward-Aufschlag wird fällig

Forward-Aufschlag steuerlich absetzen

Nach Abschluss der Hypothek wird nicht mehr zwischen Forward und Zinssatz unterschieden – sondern man spricht vom individuellen Hypozinssatz. Dieser kann wie gewohnt regulär steuerlich in Abzug gebracht werden.

Fazit: Mit der Forward-Hypothek auf der sicheren Seite

Für Personen, die ihr finanzielles Risiko minimieren möchten, kommt der Abschluss einer Forward-Hypothek in Frage. Sie gehen damit dem Risiko eines steigenden Zinsniveaus bis zum Start und während der Laufzeit aus dem Weg. Für diese Sicherheit muss allerdings die fällige Prämie, der Forward-Aufschlag, gegengerechnet werden. Ob sich diese Terminhypothek letztendlich lohnt, lässt sich erst zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt einschätzen.

War dieser Artikel hilfreich?
Vielen Dank für Ihre Stimme!


Weitere Artikel zum Thema


Bereit für das beste Angebot?


Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden

Lesen Sie regelmässig spannende Beiträge und erhalten Sie hilfreiche Tipps rund um den Haus- und Wohnungskauf.

key4-Newsletter abonnieren

Wir verwenden Cookies, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie die beste Erfahrung auf unserer Website erhalten. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Datenschutzerklärung. Sie können die Einstellungen Ihrer Cookies in den Datenschutzeinstellungen ändern. Zu den Datenschutzeinstellungen