Forward mortgages: Securing today's fixed rate | key4.ch

Forward mortgages: Interest rate protection with fixed-rate mortgages

© Getty Images
31.05.2021 | 4 minutes

How a forward mortgage works

A forward mortgage is a fixed-rate mortgage where a customer fixes the mortgage interest at today’s rate several months in advance. It may be a new fixed-rate mortgage or an extension to an existing mortgage. The mortgage provider determines how far in advance this forward transaction can be planned. At key4, prospective mortgage borrowers have a lead time of up to 18 months.

Reason for taking out a forward mortgage – rising interest rates

The main reason for taking out a forward mortgage is the expectation that interest rates may rise in the coming months. With an assurance of mortgage interest at today’s rate, customers sidestep this risk completely.

However, no one can foresee or even predict future interest rates. Nonetheless, given the European Central Bank’s expansive monetary policy, financial experts do not expect interest rates to rise significantly in the near future. Rather, they envisage a continued sideways trend.

Other reasons for taking out a forward mortgage include individual life circumstances and personal attitudes towards financing. If you can’t afford to take a risk, or simply don’t want to, even a seemingly insignificant one, a forward mortgage is a safe bet. Similarly, people who like to tick items off their to-do lists can complete this task early on.

A man carrying a small child on his shoulders
© Getty Images

Forward mortgages – the costs involved

Mortgage borrowers usually have to pay the bank a forward surcharge (Forward-Aufschlag) for the assurance of a fixed interest rate. This amount depends primarily on the future date on which the mortgage will commence – the later the date, the higher the forward surcharge. Many banks offset the surcharge against the mortgage interest, which is then simply marginally higher than for a mortgage without a surcharge.

Mortgage lenders are currently offering free interest rate protection for a relatively short period of time.

The optimum financing for your home

Here you’ll find exactly the right offer – independent, fast and transparent.

Deciding to take out a forward mortgage

Only when the term starts will you know whether a forward mortgage was in fact worthwhile. Often, you will not know until much later. However, the fictitious sample calculation provided below can help prospective mortgage borrowers understand whether this model is suitable for them.

Example

A customer is interested in taking out a forward mortgage whose term will start in 12 months’ time. The contracting party will pay a forward surcharge of 0.2% for the relatively long duration associated with this interest rate assurance. The current interest rate will therefore increase from 1.3% to 1.5%. If the interest rate increases above 1.5% before your mortgage term begins, and also during the term of your mortgage, this forward transaction will have been worthwhile. If interest rates remain the same or even fall, it would not have been necessary to take out a forward mortgage.

The advantages and disadvantages of a forward mortgage are summarized below.

Advantages:

  • The customer secures mortgage interest at today’s favorable rate.
  • The risk associated with a possible rise in interest rates is avoided.
  • The customer has planning security regarding his or her own life circumstances.

Disadvantages:

  • The forward transaction is binding even if the interest rate has not increased.
  • The customer commits to one provider and their terms and conditions early on, possibly months in advance.
  • A forward surcharge is payable.

Tax-deductible forward surcharge

Once the mortgage has been taken out, a distinction is no longer made between the forward rate and the interest rate. Instead, it is known as the individual mortgage interest rate (individueller Hypozinssatz). As usual, this can be deducted on a regular basis for tax purposes.

Conclusion: Forward mortgages – a safe bet

Forward mortgages are an option for anyone wishing to minimize their financial risk. They guard against the risk of interest rates rising before your mortgage term begins, and also during the term of your mortgage. However, a premium known as the forward surcharge must be offset for obtaining this security. Only at a later date will it be possible to ascertain whether this forward mortgage was ultimately worthwhile.

Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your vote!


More articles on the topic


Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Hypothèque à terme : s'assurer un taux d'intérêt fixe pour plus tard

Hypothèque à terme: couverture du taux d’intérêt en cas de prêt hypothécaire à taux fixe

© Getty Images
31.05.2021 | 4 minutes

Le fonctionnement d’une hypothèque à terme

L’hypothèque à terme repose sur une hypothèque à taux fixe qui permet aux clients de fixer les taux d’intérêt hypothécaire au niveau actuel plusieurs mois à l’avance. Il peut s’agir d’un nouveau prêt hypothécaire à taux fixe ou de la prolongation d’un prêt existant. La durée possible de planification à l’avance de cette opération à terme dépend du prêteur hypothécaire. Chez key4, les clients bénéficient d’un délai allant jusqu’à 18 mois.

Une démarche justifiée par la hausse des taux d’intérêt

La conclusion d’un prêt hypothécaire à terme est principalement motivée par une anticipation de la hausse des taux d’intérêt dans les mois à venir. Avec la garantie d’intérêts au taux actuel, les clients évitent ce risque.

Un bémol cependant : personne ne peut prévoir ni même prédire l’évolution des taux d’intérêt. Les experts financiers estiment néanmoins qu’en raison de la politique monétaire expansionniste menée par la Banque centrale européenne, il ne faut pas s’attendre à une forte hausse dans un avenir proche, mais plutôt à une poursuite du tassement des taux d’intérêt.

D’autres raisons plaident en faveur de l’hypothèque à terme : la situation personnelle et l’approche individuelle du financement. Quand on ne veut pas prendre de risque, même s’il semble minime, ou qu’on ne peut pas se le permettre, contracter cette hypothèque, c’est jouer la carte de la sécurité. C’est aussi le cas des personnes qui aiment cocher toutes les cases de leur liste de tâches pour s’en acquitter au plus vite.

Un homme porte un enfant en bas âge sur ses épaules
© Getty Images

Les coûts d’une hypothèque à terme

Les emprunteurs doivent généralement payer une prime à la banque pour obtenir la garantie d’un taux d’intérêt fixe : c’est ce qu’on appelle la majoration à terme. Son montant dépend principalement de la date de départ de l’hypothèque : plus elle est éloignée dans le temps, plus la majoration est élevée. De nombreuses banques imputent la majoration sur le taux d’intérêt hypothécaire, qui est alors légèrement plus élevé que pour une hypothèque sans prime.

Sur une période relativement courte, les prêteurs hypothécaires proposent une couverture gratuite.

Le financement optimal pour votre logement

Vous trouverez ici l’offre qui vous convient: rapide, transparente et établie en toute indépendance.

Prendre ou ne pas prendre une hypothèque à terme?

C’est au plus tôt au départ de l’hypothèque que l’on peut dire si elle vaut la peine d’être contractée, souvent même plus tard. Toutefois, l’exemple de calcul fictif suivant peut éclairer les clients potentiels sur l’opportunité de choisir cette option.

Exemple

Un client est intéressé par une hypothèque à terme pour dans 12 mois. Le partenaire contractuel paye cette garantie de taux d’intérêt relativement longue avec une majoration à terme de 0,2 pour-cent. Le taux d’intérêt actuel passe ainsi de 1,3 à 1,5 pour-cent. Si le taux d’intérêt augmente au-delà de 1,5 % du début et jusqu’à l’échéance de l’hypothèque, l’opération est rentable pour le client. Si les taux d’intérêt restent identiques ou même baissent, l’opération à terme aura été inutile.

Voici maintenant un aperçu des avantages et des inconvénients d’une hypothèque à terme.

Avantages:

  • Le client s’assure un taux d’intérêt actuellement intéressant
  • Il n’est donc pas soumis au risque d’une éventuelle hausse des taux d’intérêt
  • Cela lui permet de sécuriser ses prévisions pour faire face aux circonstances de la vie

Inconvénients:

  • L’opération à terme est contraignante, même si le taux d’intérêt n’augmente pas
  • Le client s’engage très tôt à respecter des conditions et à choisir un prêteur, le cas échéant plusieurs mois à l’avance
  • Il doit s’acquitter d’une majoration à terme

Majoration à terme déductible des impôts

Une fois l’hypothèque conclue, on ne fait plus la distinction entre l’opération à terme et le taux d’intérêt : on parle alors de taux hypothécaire individuel. Celui-ci peut être déduit comme d’habitude des impôts.

Conclusion: l’hypothèque à terme est un gage de sécurité

Les personnes désireuses d’atténuer leur risque financier peuvent effectivement envisager de contracter d’une hypothèque à terme. Elles évitent ainsi le risque de hausse des taux d’intérêt du début et jusqu’à l’échéance de l’hypothèque. Cette sécurité s’accompagne néanmoins d’une contrepartie : la prime échue, c’est-à-dire la majoration à terme. C’est après coup seulement, que l’on pourra évaluer si cette hypothèque à terme est rentable.

Cet article a-t-il été utile?
Merci pour votre vote!


Plus d’articles sur ce thème


Prêt(e) pour la meilleure offre?


Restez au fait de l’actualité

Lisez régulièrement des articles passionnants et recevez des conseils utiles en lien avec l’achat d’une maison ou d’un appartement.

S’abonner à la newsletter key4

Ce site web utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience de navigation. Vous trouverez plus d’informations dans la déclaration de confidentialité. Vous pouvez modifier vos paramètres de cookies dans les paramètres de confidentialité. Accédez aux paramètres de confidentialité