Equity: how much do you need for a mortgage? - key4.ch

Equity: How much do I need for a mortgage?

© Getty Images
21.04.2021 | 3 minutes

One million francs. That’s how much the average owner-occupied home with 120 square meters of living space costs in Switzerland, according to the UBS Swiss Real Estate Focus (2019). And a luxury property can easily be six times more expensive.

If you want to buy real estate in Switzerland, you will need deep pockets. For that reason, buyers normally need to take out a mortgage. But what criteria should lenders use to decide who qualifies for a mortgage?

Prospective buyers have to fulfill two basic requirements: First, they must be able to contribute sufficient resources – or equity – of their own. Second, their income should be high enough to cover the cost of the property in the long term. As a general rule, the imputed costs (kalkulatorische Kosten) of home ownership (amortization, interest, maintenance costs and incidental expenses (Unterhalt- & Nebenkosten) should not exceed one-third of the gross income.

How much equity do I need?

There is no absolute minimum amount of equity that you have to provide. Rather, the amount is always based on the market value of the purchased property as calculated by the mortgage provider. As a basic rule, however, at least 20% of the value of the property must be covered by your own equity. You can take out a mortgage to finance the remaining 80%. The first mortgage covers up to two-thirds of the property value and a second mortgage can be taken out to cover the rest. In contrast to the first mortgage, the second mortgage has to be amortized (repaid).

What counts as equity?

When an average Swiss person hears the word “equity,” they think first and foremost of savings and personal accounts. However, the sale of securities and valuables and the redemption of insurance policies also count as equity and are therefore worth examining. Likewise, inheritance advances (Erbvorbezüge) and gifts from family members can inject additional liquid funds. It is important to point out that you can use all of your retirement savings that would otherwise be tied up in pillar 3a of the Swiss pension system to purchase a home, provided you will live in the home yourself.

A younger and an older person looking out a window together.
© Getty Images

All funds from the sources mentioned so far count as “hard” equity. Home buyers have to provide at least 10% of the value of the property in this form. So, how can you find the rest of the 20% that you need? You can raise the final 10% of the equity you need by making an advance withdrawal of pension assets (Vorsorgegelder) from your pillar 2 pension fund (Pensionskasse). However, because early withdrawals are subject to tax, and your pension fund will pay out lower benefits on retirement, it is advisable to carry out a pension analysis (Vorsorgeanalyse) beforehand. Furthermore, there is a limit on the amount that may be withdrawn after the age of 50.

Example: Possible components of equity

A single-family home has a market value of one million Swiss francs (CHF).
The buyer’s equity must amount to 20% of the value of the property, i.e. CHF 200,000.
No more than 10% of this may come from the pension fund pillar 2).

Source

Total amount (CHF)

Comment

Personal account

10,000

Savings account

50,000

Proceeds from sale of securities

10,000

If you are considering selling securities, you should keep an eye on the state of the financial markets.

Inheritance advance

50,000

Inheritance advances or gifts may also benefit the buyer’s parents, for example, from a tax perspective.

Early withdrawal from pillar 3a

30,000

All pillar 3a funds count as “hard” equity.

Advance withdrawal of part of the pension fund assets (Pensionskassengeld)*

50,000

In this example, money from the pension fund makes up 5% of the value of the home. The maximum permissible amount would be 10%.

Total available equity

200,000

From an equity perspective, a mortgage can be granted.

*The minimum amount of pension provision (Vorsorgekapital) that can be withdrawn from the pension fund is CHF 20,000.

The optimum financing for your home

Here you’ll find exactly the right offer – independent, fast and transparent.

Does it make sense to contribute more than 20% of the purchase price from my own funds?

If you have more savings, you can provide more equity than you need to. However, today’s mortgage rates (the cost of external borrowing) are historically low and it may be more profitable to invest your money elsewhere. Whether keeping your mortgage “small” pays off at the bottom line is therefore a question of overall financial strategy.
Prospective buyers who count on getting a certain mortgage because they are able to put down a deposit of 20% on their dream home may be in for an unpleasant surprise. This is because the amount you can borrow is not determined by the “catalog price” of the property, but by the current market value as determined by the mortgage lender. For example, if the asking price for a single-family home is CHF 1.1 million but the mortgage lender decides that it is worth only CHF 1 million, the buyers must either pay the CHF 100,000 difference from their own capital or negotiate a lower asking price.

Are there any exceptions to the rule?

The 20:80 rule and the option to withdraw pension assets only apply to the purchase of owner-occupied residential properties. Different regulations apply to the purchase of vacation homes and luxury properties. In this case, buyers have to cover at least 40% of the price of the property with their own equity.

In the end, each person’s situation and each property is unique. For this reason, financing must always be considered individually from a variety of perspectives.

Do you have any questions about equity? Our client advisors are here for you.

Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your vote!


More articles on the topic


Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Eigenmittel: Wie viel Eigenkapital für eine Hypothek? - key4.ch

Eigenmittel: Wie viel Eigenkapital brauche ich für eine Hypothek?

© Getty Images
21.04.2021 | 3 Minuten

Eine Millionen Franken. So viel kostet ein durchschnittliches Eigenheim mit einer Wohnfläche von 120 Quadratmetern in der Schweiz gemäss UBS Swiss Real Estate Focus (2019). Und ein Luxusobjekt ist schnell sechsmal teurer.

Wer eine Immobilie kaufen will, muss also tief ins Portemonnaie greifen. Daher ist im Normalfall die Aufnahme einer Hypothek nötig. Doch welche Anforderung für die Vergabe von Hypotheken haben Finanzierungsinstitute?

Für eine Hypothekarfinanzierung gibt es zwei Grundvoraussetzungen: Erstens müssen Interessenten genügend Eigenmittel einbringen, auch Eigenkapital genannt. Zweitens sollte ihr Einkommen so hoch sein, dass sie sich die Immobilie auch langfristig leisten können. Gemäss einer Faustregel dürfen die kalkulatorischen Kosten des Eigenheims (Amortisationen, kalkulatorische Zinskosten Unterhalt- & Nebenkosten) nicht mehr als ein Drittel des Bruttoeinkommens ausmachen.

Wie viel Eigenmittel brauche ich?

Es gibt keine absolute Mindestsumme, wie viele Eigenmittel auf den Tisch zu legen sind. Vielmehr richtet sich die Höhe stets nach dem vom Hypothekaranbieter berechneten Verkehrswert des Kaufobjektes. Das Grundprinzip: Für mindestens 20 Prozent des Eigenheimwerts sind Eigenmittel vorzulegen. Für die verbleibenden 80 Prozent kann eine Hypothek aufgenommen werden. Bis zu zwei Drittel des Wertes lassen sich über eine erste Hypothek decken, der Rest über eine zweite Hypothek. Ein Unterschied zwischen der ersten und der zweiten Hypothek liegt darin, dass die zweite Hypothek in der Regel amortisiert werden muss.

Was zählt als Eigenmittel?

Herr und Frau Schweizer denken beim Stichwort «Eigenmittel» in erster Linie an Spar- und Privatkonti. Doch auch Verkäufe von Wertschriften und Wertgegenständen sowie ein Rückkauf von Versicherungspolicen gelten grundsätzlich als Eigenkapital und sind damit prüfenswert. Ebenso können Erbvorbezüge und Schenkungen aus dem Familienkreis Geld in die Kasse spülen und so zusätzliche Liquidität verschaffen. Wichtig zu wissen: Das Ersparte, das sonst bis zur Pensionierung in der Säule 3a gebunden ist, darf man voll und ganz zur Finanzierung von selbstbewohntem Wohneigentum nutzen.

Eine jüngere und eine ältere Person blicken gemeinsam aus dem Fenster.
© Getty Images

Alle Mittel aus den genannten Quellen gelten als «hartes» Eigenkapital. Und mindestens 10 Prozent des Liegenschaftswertes müssen Eigenheimkäufer in dieser Form vorlegen. Doch wie erreicht man die erforderliche 20-Prozent-Schwelle? Für die letzten 10 Prozent Eigenmittel darf man einen Vorbezug auf die Vorsorgegelder der Pensionskasse (2. Säule) vornehmen. Weil dadurch Steuern fällig werden und sich die späteren Leistungen aus der Pensionskasse verringern, ist es jedoch ratsam, vorgängig eine Vorsorgeanalyse vorzunehmen. Ausserdem sind die Bezugsmöglichkeiten ab dem 50. Altersjahr eingeschränkt.

Beispiel: Eine mögliche Zusammensetzung der Eigenmittel

Ein Einfamilienhaus hat einen Verkehrswert von 1 Million Franken.
Für den Kauf sind 20 Prozent Eigenmittel nötig, also 200’000 Franken.
Davon dürfen höchstens 10 Prozent aus der Pensionskasse (2. Säule) stammen.

Quelle

Summe in CHF

Bemerkung

Privatkonto

10 000

Sparkonto

50 000

Erlös aus Verkauf von Wertschriften

10 000

Wer einen Wertschriftenverkauf ins Auge fasst, sollte auch die Verfassung der Finanzmärkte beachten.

Erbvorbezug

50 000

Ein Vorbezug auf das Erbe oder eine Schenkung kann auch für die Eltern von Vorteil sein, beispielsweise aus steuerlicher Sicht.

Vorbezug der Säule 3a

30 000

Gelder aus der Säule 3a gelten vollumfänglich als «harte» Eigenmittel.

Vorbezug eines Teils des Pensionskassengeldes*

50 000

Die Gelder aus der Pensionskasse machen hier 5 Prozent des Hauswerts aus. Maximal zulässig wären 10 Prozent.

Total verfügbares Eigenkapital

200 000

Aus Eigenmittelsicht kommt die Finanzierung zustande.

*Die Mindestsumme für einen Bezug des Vorsorgekapitals aus der Pensionskasse beträgt 20 000 CHF.

Ist es sinnvoll, mehr als 20 Prozent Eigenmittel einzubringen?

Verfügt jemand über mehr Erspartes, kann er oder sie mehr Eigenmittel als nötig einbringen. Die Hypothekarzinsen (Kosten der Fremdfinanzierung) sind allerdings historisch tief. Und das Geld liesse sich auch anderweitig, womöglich rentabler, anlegen. Ob es sich unter dem Strich auszahlt, die Hypothek «klein» zu halten, ist somit eine Frage der finanziellen Gesamtstrategie.

Zu unliebsamen Überraschungen kann es kommen, wenn Interessenten vor dem Immobilienkauf fest mit einer bestimmten Hypothekarfinanzierung rechnen, weil sie 20 Prozent des Preises ihres Traumobjekts hinblättern können. Massgeblich für die Hypothekarvergabe ist aber nicht der «Katalog-Preis», sondern der aktuelle Verkehrswert, den das Hypothekarinstitut ermittelt. Verlangt zum Beispiel ein Makler 1,1 Millionen Franken für ein Einfamilienhaus, das die Bank nur auf 1 Million Franken einschätzt, müssen die Käufer die Differenz von 100 000 Franken zusätzlich aus eigenem Kapital bezahlen – oder den Preis entsprechend herunterhandeln.

Gibt es Ausnahmen von der Regel?

Die 20-zu-80-Finanzierungsregel sowie die Möglichkeit, Vorsorgegelder zu beziehen, gelten nur für selbstbewohntes Wohneigentum. Bei anderen Immobilien wie Ferienhäusern und Luxusobjekten kommen andere Vorschriften zur Anwendung. So braucht es hierfür in der Regel einen Eigenkapitalanteil von 40 Prozent.

Letztlich bleibt jede persönliche Situation, jede Immobilie, einzigartig. Darum ist eine Finanzierung immer individuell unter verschiedenen Gesichtspunkten zu betrachten.

Sie Fragen zum Thema Eigenmittel? Unsere Kundenberater sind für Sie da.

War dieser Artikel hilfreich?
Vielen Dank für Ihre Stimme!

Lesen Sie mehr über


Weitere Artikel zum Thema


Bereit für das beste Angebot?


Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden

Lesen Sie regelmässig spannende Beiträge und erhalten Sie hilfreiche Tipps rund um den Haus- und Wohnungskauf.

key4-Newsletter abonnieren

Wir verwenden Cookies, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie die beste Erfahrung auf unserer Website erhalten. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Datenschutzerklärung. Sie können die Einstellungen Ihrer Cookies in den Datenschutzeinstellungen ändern. Zu den Datenschutzeinstellungen