Financing vacation homes and apartments: Everything you need to know

How to turn your dream of owning your own vacation home into a reality

© Getty Images
07.05.2021 | 4 minutes

The dream of owning your own vacation home

Whether it’s skiing in the Alps, hiking in Ticino, or relaxing on Lake Geneva – imagine being able to enjoy all this from your very own vacation home, a wonderful place of retreat. Sounds tempting. But the second part of this fantasy in particular, the part where you own your own vacation home, comes at considerable financial expense and effort. It goes without saying that buying a vacation property in a good location is a pretty expensive endeavor anyway, but if you want to finance that purchase with a mortgage, certain requirements have to be met as well.

Stricter financing requirements

Since vacation homes or apartments are restricted to use as second homes, this makes them more difficult to sell and means banks are not willing to lend as much for them as for ordinary homes. Mortgages for vacation properties are granted based on different financing provisions, which take their limited salability into account. Read on and we will explain all.

View of several houses in front of a mountain landscape
© Getty Images

Increase your equity contribution

If you want to buy a vacation home with a mortgage, you need to contribute a lot more equity. By way of comparison, when financing an owner-occupied main residence, i.e., a house or a permanently occupied condominium, the mortgage may cover up to 80% of the total cost, which would leave an equity share of 20%. But a bank will normally only lend a maximum of 60% of the collateral value, as determined by the bank, when dealing with a vacation home or apartment.

No option to use pension assets

Unlike for your main home, you are not permitted by law to use your pillar 2 (Säule 2) and 3 pension assets to finance a vacation property. This means you will need to find the required equity elsewhere, for example, in your savings.

Consider your overall mortgage burden

Before granting a second mortgage, e.g., for a vacation home, the bank will take a customer’s existing mortgage burden into account. The imputed costs of a mortgage for a vacation property are deducted from the available disposable income. The costs of the main domicile (e.g., the imputed mortgage or rent costs) are set in proportion to the remaining eligible residual income and may amount to no more than one third of eligible income.

Stricter rules on the repayment obligation

Different principles also apply when it comes to amortization, i.e., how the mortgage is repaid, for vacation homes. If a vacation property has a mortgage of up to 50%, then 1% of the mortgage amount must be paid off each year.

A couple sits at a table with a calculator, laptop, and smartphone.
© Getty Images

Choose the right financing strategy

Just like when you are financing your main residence, it is important to consider which strategy best suits your financial and personal situation: Are you considering selling the property if market prices increase or do you want to keep it for the long term? And how willing are you to take risks when it comes to financing? You can request non-binding offers for financing your vacation home or apartment free of charge from key4, all it takes is just a few clicks.

A vacation home abroad

Switzerland is indeed a very beautiful country with many charming places where it is worth buying a vacation home. But would France or Italy suit your personal circumstances better? Do the same conditions apply to vacation homes abroad? In a word: no. Mortgage providers based in Switzerland do not mortgage any properties abroad – not even vacation homes.

Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your vote!


More articles on the topic


Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Ferienhaus und Ferienwohnung finanzieren: Alle wichtigen Infos | key4.ch

So realisieren Sie den Traum vom eigenen Ferienhaus

© Getty Images
07.05.2021 | 4 Minuten

Der Traum vom eigenen Feriendomizil

Skifahren in den Alpen, wandern im Tessin, entspannen am Genfersee – und das am besten im eigenen Ferienhaus als Rückzugsort. Klingt verlockend. Aber vor allem der zweite Teil mit dem eigenen Ferienhaus ist mit einem finanziellen Aufwand verbunden. Nicht nur, dass die Anschaffung einer Ferienimmobilie in guter Lage ohnehin eine eher kostspielige Angelegenheit ist – bei der Finanzierung mittels einer Hypothek müssen gewisse Auflagen erfüllt werden.

Strengere Finanzierungsauflagen

Ein Ferienhaus oder eine Ferienwohnung ist aufgrund der eingeschränkten Nutzung als Zweitwohnsitz schwieriger verkäuflich und wird daher durch die Banken weniger hoch belehnt als ein gewöhnliches Eigenheim. Die Vergabe einer Hypothek für ein Ferienobjekt basiert auf anderen Finanzierungsbestimmungen, um der eingeschränkten Verkäuflichkeit Rechnung zu tragen. Im Folgenden sind diese genannt.

Blick auf mehrere vor einer Berglandschaft gelegene Häuser
© Getty Images

Mehr Eigenkapital einbringen

Wer sich ein Ferienhaus mittels einer Hypothek leisten möchte, der muss deutlich mehr Eigenkapital einbringen. Zum Vergleich: Bei der Finanzierung eines selbstbewohnten Hauptwohnsitzes, also eines Hauses oder einer dauerhaft genutzten Eigentumswohnung, darf der Anteil der Hypothek bis zu 80 Prozent betragen. Der Anteil an Eigenkapital läge hier bei 20 Prozent. Ein Ferienhaus oder eine Ferienwohnung belehnt die Bank im Normalfall mit maximal 60% vom Belehnungswert, der durch die Bank festgelegt wird.

Keine Vorsorgegelder nutzbar

Anders als beim Hauptwohnsitz ist der Einsatz von Vorsorgegeldern der 2. und 3. Säule bei der Finanzierung von Ferienobjekten nach gesetzlichen Vorschriften nicht erlaubt. Die notwendigen Eigenmittel müssen daher anderweitig eingebracht werden, wie zum Beispiel aus Ersparnissen.

Gesamte Hypothekenlast betrachten

Vor der Vergabe einer weiteren Hypothek, zum Beispiel für ein Ferienhaus, betrachtet die Bank die bisher bestehende Hypothekenlast eines Kunden. Die kalkulatorischen Kosten einer Hypothek für ein Ferienobjekt werden vom verfügbaren Einkommen in Abzug gebracht. Die Kosten für das Hauptdomizil (zum Beispiel: kalk. Kosten Hypothek oder Miete) werden in das Verhältnis zum verbleibenden anrechenbaren Resteinkommen gesetzt und dürfen maximal ein Drittel des anrechenbaren Einkommens betragen.

Strengere Regeln bei der Amortisationspflicht

Auch bei der Amortisation, also der Abbezahlung der Hypothek, gelten für Ferienhäuser andere Grundsätze. Ein Ferienobjekt muss bis zu einer Belehnung von 50% mit 1% pro Jahr vom Hypothekenbetrag amortisiert werden.

Ein Paar sitzt am Tisch mit Taschenrechner, Smartphone und Laptop
© Getty Images

Richtige Finanzierungsstrategie wählen

Wie auch bei der Finanzierung des Hauptwohnsitzes gilt es abzuwägen, welche Finanzierungsstrategie am besten zur finanziellen und persönlichen Situation passt: Zieht man in Betracht, das Objekt zu verkaufen, falls Preissteigerungen am Markt auftreten, oder möchte man die Immobilie langfristig halten? Und wie hoch ist die Risikobereitschaft in der Finanzierung? Bei key4 können Sie kostenlos und mit wenigen Klicks unverbindliche Angebote für die Finanzierung Ihres Ferienhaus oder Ferienwohnung anfordern.

Ferienhaus im Ausland

Die Schweiz ist zwar ein sehr schönes Land mit vielen reizvollen Orten, an denen es sich lohnt, ein Ferienhaus zu erwerben. Jedoch kommt aus persönlichen Gründen eher Frankreich oder Italien in Frage? Gelten für Ferienhäuser im Ausland die gleichen Konditionen? Nein. Hypothekaranbieter, die in der Schweiz ansässig sind, vergeben keine Hypotheken für Liegenschaften im Ausland – auch nicht für Ferienhäuser.

War dieser Artikel hilfreich?
Vielen Dank für Ihre Stimme!


Weitere Artikel zum Thema


Bereit für das beste Angebot?


Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden

Lesen Sie regelmässig spannende Beiträge und erhalten Sie hilfreiche Tipps rund um den Haus- und Wohnungskauf.

key4-Newsletter abonnieren

Wir verwenden Cookies, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie die beste Erfahrung auf unserer Website erhalten. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Datenschutzerklärung. Sie können die Einstellungen Ihrer Cookies in den Datenschutzeinstellungen ändern. Zu den Datenschutzeinstellungen