Financing vacation homes and apartments: Everything you need to know

How to turn your dream of owning your own vacation home into a reality

© Getty Images
07.05.2021 | 4 minutes

The dream of owning your own vacation home

Whether it’s skiing in the Alps, hiking in Ticino, or relaxing on Lake Geneva – imagine being able to enjoy all this from your very own vacation home, a wonderful place of retreat. Sounds tempting. But the second part of this fantasy in particular, the part where you own your own vacation home, comes at considerable financial expense and effort. It goes without saying that buying a vacation property in a good location is a pretty expensive endeavor anyway, but if you want to finance that purchase with a mortgage, certain requirements have to be met as well.

Stricter financing requirements

Since vacation homes or apartments are restricted to use as second homes, this makes them more difficult to sell and means banks are not willing to lend as much for them as for ordinary homes. Mortgages for vacation properties are granted based on different financing provisions, which take their limited salability into account. Read on and we will explain all.

View of several houses in front of a mountain landscape
© Getty Images

Increase your equity contribution

If you want to buy a vacation home with a mortgage, you need to contribute a lot more equity. By way of comparison, when financing an owner-occupied main residence, i.e., a house or a permanently occupied condominium, the mortgage may cover up to 80% of the total cost, which would leave an equity share of 20%. But a bank will normally only lend a maximum of 60% of the collateral value, as determined by the bank, when dealing with a vacation home or apartment.

No option to use pension assets

Unlike for your main home, you are not permitted by law to use your pillar 2 (Säule 2) and 3 pension assets to finance a vacation property. This means you will need to find the required equity elsewhere, for example, in your savings.

Consider your overall mortgage burden

Before granting a second mortgage, e.g., for a vacation home, the bank will take a customer’s existing mortgage burden into account. The imputed costs of a mortgage for a vacation property are deducted from the available disposable income. The costs of the main domicile (e.g., the imputed mortgage or rent costs) are set in proportion to the remaining eligible residual income and may amount to no more than one third of eligible income.

Stricter rules on the repayment obligation

Different principles also apply when it comes to amortization, i.e., how the mortgage is repaid, for vacation homes. If a vacation property has a mortgage of up to 50%, then 1% of the mortgage amount must be paid off each year.

A couple sits at a table with a calculator, laptop, and smartphone.
© Getty Images

Choose the right financing strategy

Just like when you are financing your main residence, it is important to consider which strategy best suits your financial and personal situation: Are you considering selling the property if market prices increase or do you want to keep it for the long term? And how willing are you to take risks when it comes to financing? You can request non-binding offers for financing your vacation home or apartment free of charge from key4, all it takes is just a few clicks.

A vacation home abroad

Switzerland is indeed a very beautiful country with many charming places where it is worth buying a vacation home. But would France or Italy suit your personal circumstances better? Do the same conditions apply to vacation homes abroad? In a word: no. Mortgage providers based in Switzerland do not mortgage any properties abroad – not even vacation homes.

Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your vote!


More articles on the topic


Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Financer sa résidence secondaire: toutes les informations à retenir

Voici comment réaliser votre rêve de posséder une résidence secondaire

© Getty Images
07.05.2021 | 4 minutes

Le rêve de posséder une résidence secondaire

Ski dans les Alpes, randonnée au Tessin, détente sur le lac Léman – avec de préférence pour refuge votre propre maison de vacances. Ça a l’air tentant. Mais la deuxième partie de la proposition, celle qui évoque la résidence secondaire, implique, elle, un effort financier considérable. Il est de toute façon coûteux d’acquérir une maison de vacances dans un bon emplacement mais en plus, certaines conditions doivent être respectées pour pouvoir la financer avec une hypothèque.

Des critères de financement plus stricts

Une maison ou un appartement de vacances est plus difficile à vendre en raison de son utilisation limitée comme résidence secondaire et est donc moins nanti par les banques qu’une maison ordinaire. L’octroi d’une hypothèque pour une résidence secondaire repose sur d’autres critères de financement qui tiennent compte de la valeur marchande limitée. Ces critères sont détaillés ci-après.

Vue de plusieurs maisons sur fond de paysage de montagne
© Getty Images

Un apport personnel supérieur

Pour pouvoir vous offrir une maison de vacances avec une hypothèque, vous devez réunir des fonds propres nettement plus importants. À titre de comparaison: lorsque vous financez l’achat d’une résidence principale que vous occupez vous-même, c’est-à-dire d’une maison ou d’un appartement en propriété en vue d’une utilisation durable, la part de l’hypothèque peut aller jusqu’à 80 pour-cent. Les fonds propres tournent alors autour de 20 pour-cent. Une maison ou un appartement de vacances est normalement hypothéqué par la banque à 60 % maximum de la valeur de nantissement calculée.

Impossibilité de recourir aux fonds de prévoyance

Contrairement à la résidence principale, le recours aux fonds de prévoyance des 2ème et 3ème piliers dans le cadre du financement de propriétés de vacances n’est pas autorisé par la loi. Vous devez donc réunir autrement l’apport personnel nécessaire, par exemple avec vos économies.

Prendre en compte la charge hypothécaire globale

Avant d’octroyer une autre hypothèque, par exemple pour une maison de vacances, la banque tient compte de la charge hypothécaire existante d’un client. Les coûts imputés d’une hypothèque pour une résidence secondaire sont déduits du revenu disponible. Les coûts pour la résidence principale (exemple: coûts imputés de l’hypothèque ou du loyer) sont déterminés en proportion du revenu résiduel imputable et ne doivent pas dépasser un tiers du revenu imputable.

Des règles plus strictes en termes d’obligation d’amortissement

D’autres principes s’appliquent également aux maisons de vacances lorsqu’il s’agit de l’amortissement, c’est-à-dire du remboursement de l’hypothèque. Une résidence secondaire doit être amortie jusqu’à un nantissement de 50 % à 1 % par an du montant de l’hypothèque.

Un couple est assis à une table avec une calculatrice, un ordinateur portable et un smartphone.
© Getty Images

Choisir la bonne stratégie de financement

Comme pour le financement de la résidence principale, il est important d’évaluer la stratégie de financement qui convient le mieux à sa situation financière et personnelle: envisagez-vous de vendre la propriété si les prix du marché augmentent, ou voulez-vous conserver le bien à long terme? Quels risques êtes-vous prêts à prendre pour le financement? Chez key4, en quelques clics seulement, vous pouvez demander des offres gratuites et sans engagement pour financer votre maison ou votre appartement de vacances.

Résidence secondaire à l’étranger

La Suisse est certes un pays très beau avec de nombreux endroits charmants qui valent la peine qu’on y achète une maison de vacances. Mais pour des raisons personnelles, vous préférez la France ou l’Italie? Les conditions qui s’appliquent aux résidences secondaires à l’étranger sont-elles les mêmes? Non. Les prêteurs hypothécaires basés en Suisse n’accordent aucune hypothèque pour des résidences à l’étranger, même quand il s’agit de maisons de vacances.

Cet article a-t-il été utile?
Merci pour votre vote!


Plus d’articles sur ce thème


Prêt(e) pour la meilleure offre?


Restez au fait de l’actualité

Lisez régulièrement des articles passionnants et recevez des conseils utiles en lien avec l’achat d’une maison ou d’un appartement.

S’abonner à la newsletter key4

Ce site web utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience de navigation. Vous trouverez plus d’informations dans la déclaration de confidentialité. Vous pouvez modifier vos paramètres de cookies dans les paramètres de confidentialité. Accédez aux paramètres de confidentialité