Taking out a mortgage: a step-by-step guide

Taking out a mortgage: a step-by-step guide

© iStockphoto
09.12.2020 | 2 minutes

Switzerland has a relatively high price level for building land and real estate in general. Very few individuals and families are able to finance the purchase of a property with their own savings. Most of them are dependent on a mortgage from a bank. In the case of owner-occupied homes, it is common practice for 80 percent of the price to be financed by a mortgage at the time of purchase. 20 percent is covered by the clients’ own funds.

Mortgage: what does it mean?

Hypotheca in Latin means a pledge or deposit. To simplify things slightly, a mortgage is a loan that is secured by a mortgage lien. If the client doesn’t meet their financial obligations, the bank’s claims are covered by this mortgage lien. In the event of payment default, the bank has the right to “realize” the property, i.e. to sell it. The mortgage is a loan secured by the property.

Why take out a mortgage?

When setting out on the property ladder, most people start by asking themselves: how much money have I saved up? What can I afford? The prices of building land and property have risen sharply, especially in popular locations and in large conurbations. Often, anyone not lucky enough to have a considerable fortune at their disposal, or to have come into one by inheritance, can’t even afford a plot of a land with their own savings. In practice, hardly any purchases are made without the buyer taking out a mortgage. Interest rates are currently extremely low, which is another argument in favor of financing your property with a mortgage.

A person stands on a balcony and leans against the railing.
© iStockphoto

Taking out a mortgage: obtain a mortgage in six steps

Buying a property and taking out a mortgage result in long-term obligations. The basic rule is: first budget and plan, then buy. The lender charges interest on the mortgage and the capital usually has to be repaid to a certain extent. This is called amortization. That’s why it’s important to familiarize yourself with different types of mortgage, potential financing partners and the cost implications.

1. Set an overall budget

Interest rates on savings have hardly ever been as low and mortgages as inexpensive as they are now. No wonder real estate is highly valued in this environment. But be careful: the property and any associated longer-term costs for interest, amortization, incidental expenses and building maintenance must also be factored into your budget.

What a buyer can afford always depends on two components: available savings and income. The following “golden rule” is particularly important: the fixed costs for interest, amortization, incidental expenses, building maintenance etc. may not exceed the threshold of one third of gross income. The interest rate to be applied is not a daily reference rate, but a longer-term average interest rate of five percent.

Other fees and transaction costs must also be taken into account. For example, fees are incurred for issuing or modifying a mortgage certificate (for securing the mortgage). The tariffs charged by local land register offices, notaries etc. are controlled at cantonal level. The cost of simply issuing a mortgage certificate can quickly reach three or four digits (it is usually measured in thousandths of the purchase price).

2. Select a type of mortgage

The chosen mortgage and the duration of the fixed-interest-rate period will determine the longer-term costs. The financial possibilities, situation in life and individual goals of the borrower must be taken into account. Is the aim to keep the property for the foreseeable future or to sell it in the next few years? The duration of the contract and of the fixed-interest-rate period should be adjusted accordingly.

Secondly, the risk profile is extremely important: if, for example, a family attaches great importance to having a fixed budget and security, it would be better to opt for a longer-term fixed-rate mortgage. This type of mortgage offers ideal protection against surprises and a possible rise in interest rates.

Other short-term mortgage models should be considered if the borrower has a greater risk appetite and capacity. SARON mortgages or money-market mortgages are interesting when interest rates are moving sideways or falling. However, they are associated with greater risks of short-term fluctuations. Tip: in practice, various models and terms can often be combined in multiple tranches.

3. Pay attention to interest rates

The interest rate offered by the bank is rightly considered to be the essential basis for making your decision. Depending on the amount of the loan, a difference of 0.3 percent points over the entire term can total several hundred or thousand francs. But be careful: non-binding reference rates and “window-dressing prices” should not be confused with offers for a specific loan application.

Sometimes a supposedly low price only applies to very specific transactions – for example mortgages for limited amounts or for a specific group of clients.

In a normal “interest environment”, the following simple rule applies: additional security costs money. A higher interest rate will be due for a very long interest hedge with a fixed-rate mortgage taken out over a term of 10 or 15 years. However, in the current environment, the delta has narrowed between interest rates for very short-term models and those for longer-term models.

Expectations regarding interest rate trends also play a role. Before deciding on a mortgage strategy, it therefore usually makes sense to discuss your individual situation with your client advisor.

A man and a woman are sitting at a laptop in their kitchen.
© iStockphoto

The optimum financing for your home

Here you’ll find exactly the right offer – independent, fast and transparent.

4. Compare providers

It is not only a matter of obtaining an offer with the most attractive interest rate that corresponds to your individual situation. The following criteria are also important:

  • Do I want a contact person who is flexible and (almost) always available? Online platforms often provide extended opening hours, offers can be obtained around the clock, and discussions can be held regardless of location.
  • Does the financing partner provide a comprehensive range of mortgages? What about flexibility, cancellation provisions and subsequent mortgage extensions?
  • How much personal advice do you need? For example, anyone building a house on a plot of land themselves or buying an apartment off plan may want extra assistance.

Digitization and competition in the mortgage sector are opening up a variety of new opportunities. key4 makes it possible to compare and combine offers from different providers so that the client can remain flexible and enjoy interest rate advantages. This not only applies when they take out a mortgage for the first time. They can also benefit from the transparency, comparison options and flexibility of key4 when extending their mortgage at a later date.

5. Clarify the costs

Sales and cost models will be very different depending on whether you approach your existing house bank, another bank, a broker or an online provider. Many mortgage providers today don’t charge any fees at all when a client applies for and takes out a mortgage. The costs are settled as part of the contractually agreed interest payments.

Online platforms promise particularly attractive interest rates due to their efficient business model. And it’s usually possible to compare offers and take out a mortgage free of charge on online platforms.

6. Submit a loan application

What practical steps are necessary to apply for a mortgage? The lending business is subject to due diligence obligations and industry standards. Every bank and every lender is obliged to check all documents very thoroughly. A loan must not lead to over-indebtedness; the client is only given the green light for a mortgage if all the conditions are met.

The client must therefore inform the bank about their financial situation and prepare a certain number of documents relating to the chosen property. For a loan application, you will need to supply information on income and equity (based on salary statements, tax returns and other documents) as well as documentation about the property including construction and floor plans, a Land Register extract, the year of construction and area specifications. Depending on the provider, original documents may need to be submitted rather than copies. More and more lenders now also accept documents via a protected online channel.

Conclusion: realize your dreams step by step

Taking out a mortgage is a big decision. You should allow yourself time to thoroughly clarify points such as your own budget, the right type of mortgage, mortgage providers and potentially hidden costs. It’s also worth keeping your documents and records organized.

This gives you the best chance of realizing your dream of owning your own home.


Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your vote!


More articles on the topic


Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Hypothek aufnehmen: Schritt für Schritt erklärt

Hypothek aufnehmen: Schritt für Schritt erklärt

© iStockphoto
09.12.2020 | 2 Minuten

Wer den Traum von den eigenen vier Wänden verwirklichen will, ist in der Regel auf die Hypothek einer Bank angewiesen. Bloss einen Teil des Kaufpreises zahlen die Käufer üblicherweise selbst, den grössten Teil steuert die Bank bei. Wir zeigen Schritt für Schritt, wie man eine Hypothek aufnimmt.

Hypothek: Was ist das?

Hypotheca heisst auf Lateinisch Pfand oder Unterpfand. Etwas vereinfacht gesagt ist eine Hypothek ein Kredit, der durch ein Grundpfandrecht gesichert ist. Sollte der Kunde seinen finanziellen Verpflichtungen nicht nachkommen, sind die Forderungen der Bank über dieses Grundpfandrecht gedeckt. Bei einem Zahlungsausfall steht der Bank das Recht zu, die Liegenschaft zu «verwerten», also zu verkaufen. Die Hypothek ist ein durch die Immobilie abgesichertes Darlehen.

Warum eine Hypothek aufnehmen?

Auf dem Weg zu den eigenen vier Wänden werden sich die meisten Menschen zuerst fragen: Wie viel habe ich gespart? Was kann ich mir leisten? Vor allem an beliebten Lagen und in den grossen Agglomerationen sind die Bauland- und Liegenschaftspreise stark gestiegen. Wer nicht bereits über ein ansehnliches Vermögen verfügt oder durch Erbschaft dazu gekommen ist, kann oft nicht einmal den Baugrund durch eigene Ersparnisse finanzieren. In der Praxis kommt es kaum je zu einem Kauf, ohne dass die Käufer eine Hypothek abschliessen. Die aktuell ausserordentlich günstigen Zinsen gelten als weiteres Argument, seine Immobilie über eine Hypothek zu finanzieren.

Eine Person steht auf dem Balkon und lehnt sich an das Geländer.
© iStockphoto

Hypothek aufnehmen: in 6 Schritten zur Hypothek

Eine Immobilie kaufen und eine Hypothek aufnehmen, das ist mit längerfristigen Verpflichtungen verbunden. Die Grundregel lautet: zuerst budgetieren und planen, erst dann kaufen. Die Hypothek wird beim Kreditgeber verzinst und muss üblicherweise in einem gewissen Rahmen zurückbezahlt, also amortisiert werden. Daher ist es wichtig, sich mit den Hypothekarmodellen, den potenziellen Finanzierungspartnern und den Kostenfolgen zu befassen.

1. Budgetrahmen abstecken

Kaum je waren die Sparzinsen derart tief und Hypotheken dermassen günstig wie jetzt. Kein Wunder, dass Immobilien in diesem Umfeld hoch im Kurs sind. Doch Vorsicht: Das Objekt und die längerfristigen Kosten für Zinsen, Amortisationen, Nebenkosten und Gebäudeunterhalt müssen ebenfalls ins Budget einfliessen.

Was sich ein Käufer leisten kann, hängt immer von zwei Komponenten ab: den verfügbaren Ersparnissen und dem Einkommen. Dabei ist vor allem die folgende goldene Regel zu beachten: Die fixen Kosten für Zinsen, Amortisationen, Nebenkosten, Gebäudeunterhalt etc. dürfen die Schwelle von einem Drittel des Bruttoeinkommens nicht überschreiten. Beim Zins ist dabei nicht ein tagesaktueller Richtsatz einzusetzen, sondern ein längerfristiger Durchschnittszins von 5 Prozent.

Einzukalkulieren sind auch anderweitige Gebühren und Transaktionskosten. So fallen zum Beispiel Gebühren an, um einen Schuldbrief auszustellen oder anzupassen (Schuldbriefe dienen der Sicherstellung der Hypothek). Die Tarife der lokalen Grundbuchämter, Notariate etc. sind kantonal geregelt. Allein die Kosten für die Ausstellung eines Schuldbriefs bewegen sich rasch einmal im drei- oder vierstelligen Bereich (meist in Promille des Kaufpreises).

2. Hypothekenart wählen

Das gewählte Hypothekarmodell und die Dauer der Zinsbindung bestimmen die längerfristigen Kosten. Dabei sind die finanziellen Möglichkeiten, die Lebenssituation und die individuellen Ziele zu berücksichtigen. Soll die Immobilie längerfristig gehalten oder in den nächsten Jahren verkauft werden? Die Vertragsdauer und die Zinsbindung sollten darauf abgestimmt sein.

Zweitens kommt es vor allem auf das Risikoprofil an: Wer zum Beispiel als Familie grossen Wert auf ein fixes Budget und auf Sicherheit legt, wird sich mit Vorteil für längerfristige Festhypotheken entscheiden. Sie stellen die ideale Absicherung gegen Überraschungen und einen möglichen Zinsanstieg dar.

Wenn die Risikobereitschaft und Risikofähigkeit gegeben ist, sind andere, kurzfristige Hypothekarmodelle in Betracht zu ziehen. SARON-Hypotheken bzw. Geldmarkthypotheken sind in einem Umfeld von sich seitwärtsbewegenden oder fallenden Zinsen interessant. Allerdings sind sie mit grösseren Risiken für kurzfristige Schwankungen verbunden. Tipp: In der Praxis ist es weit verbreitet, die verschiedenen Modelle und Laufzeiten in Tranchen zu kombinieren.

3. Zinssätze beachten

Der offerierte Zins gilt zu Recht als wesentliche Entscheidungsgrundlage. Denn je nach Kreditsumme kann ein Unterschied von beispielsweise 0,3 Prozentpunkten über die gesamte Laufzeit bereits mehrere hundert oder tausend Franken Differenz ausmachen. Doch Vorsicht: Unverbindliche Richtsätze und sogenannte «Schaufensterpreise» sollten nicht mit den Offerten für ein konkretes Kreditgesuch verwechselt werden.

Manchmal bezieht sich ein vermeintlich günstiger Preis nur auf ganz bestimmte Geschäfte – etwa bei reduziertem Umfang der Hypothek oder nur für einen bestimmten Kundenkreis.

In einer normalen Zinslandschaft gilt auch die an sich einfache Regel: Zusätzliche Sicherheit kostet Geld. Für eine sehr lange Zinsabsicherung mit Festhypotheken über 10 oder 15 Jahre ist ein höherer Zins geschuldet. Allerdings haben sich im aktuellen Umfeld die Zinsen für sehr kurzfristige und längerfristige Modelle stark angenähert.

Auch die Erwartungen zur Zinsentwicklung spielen mit hinein. Um eine passende Hypothekarstrategie auszuwählen, macht es deshalb meist Sinn, die individuelle Situation mit einem Kundenberater zu besprechen.

Ein Mann und eine Frau sitzen in ihrer Küche am Laptop.
© iStockphoto

4. Anbieter vergleichen

Dabei geht es nicht allein um die Frage nach dem zinsgünstigsten und auf die individuelle Situation abgestimmten Angebot. Folgende Kriterien sind ebenfalls zentral:

  • Wünsche ich mir einen Ansprechpartner, der flexibel und (fast) jederzeit erreichbar ist? Online-Plattformen bieten oft erweiterte Öffnungszeiten, Angebote können rund um die Uhr eingeholt und Gespräche ortsunabhängig durchgeführt werden.
  • Bietet der Finanzierungspartner eine umfassende Produktpalette an Hypotheken? Wie steht es mit Flexibilität, Kündbarkeit und späteren Verlängerungen der Hypothek?
  • Wie hoch ist der Bedarf an persönlicher Beratung? Wer zum Beispiel eine Parzelle selbst überbaut oder eine Wohnung ab Plan kauft, wünscht sich eine engere Begleitung.

Mit der Digitalisierung und dem Wettbewerb im Hypothekarbereich eröffnen sich viele neue Möglichkeiten. key4 ermöglicht es, Angebote verschiedener Anbieter zu vergleichen und auch zu kombinieren. Damit bleibt der Kunde flexibel und profitiert von Zinsvorteilen. Dies gilt nicht nur für den Fall, dass er zum ersten Mal eine Hypothek aufnimmt. Auch bei späteren Verlängerungen der Hypothek nutzen ihm die Transparenz, die Vergleichsmöglichkeiten und die Flexibilität von key4.

5. Kosten abklären

Die Vertriebs- und Kostenmodelle sind sehr unterschiedlich, je nachdem, ob die bestehende Hausbank, eine andere Bank, ein Broker oder ein Online-Anbieter dahintersteckt. Viele Hypothekaranbieter stellen heute überhaupt keine Gebühren in Rechnung, wenn der Kunde eine Hypothek beantragt und auch abschliesst. Die Kosten sind mit dem vertraglich vereinbarten Zins abgegolten.

Online-Plattformen versprechen aufgrund des effizienten Geschäftsmodells besonders attraktive Zinsangebote. Und es gilt das Prinzip: Meist kann man bei Online-Plattformen kostenlos Angebote vergleichen und abschliessen.

6. Kreditgesuch einreichen

Welche Schritte sind konkret nötig, um eine Hypothek zu beantragen? Im Kreditgeschäft gelten branchenübliche Sorgfaltspflichten und Standards. Jede Bank und jeder Darlehensgeber ist verpflichtet, alle Unterlagen gründlich zu prüfen. Ein Kredit darf nicht zu einer Überschuldung führen; nur wenn alle Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind, gibt es grünes Licht für eine Hypothek.

Der Kunde muss die Bank daher über seine finanzielle Situation ins Bild setzen und Dokumente zu seiner Wunschimmobilie bereithalten. Zu einem Kreditgesuch gehören Angaben zum Einkommen und zu den Eigenmitteln (anhand von Lohnausweisen, Steuererklärung und weiteren Unterlagen). Die Dokumentation des Objekts umfasst Bau- und Grundrisspläne, Grundbuchauszug, Baujahr, Flächenangaben etc. Je nach Anbieter sind die Unterlagen im Original einzureichen. Immer mehr Darlehensgeber nehmen die Unterlagen auch über einen geschützten Online-Kanal entgegen.

Fazit: Schritt für Schritt Träume verwirklichen

Das Aufnehmen einer Hypothek ist eine wichtige Entscheidung. Man sollte sich daher genügend Zeit lassen und Punkte wie das eigene Budget, das passende Hypothekarmodell, Hypothekaranbieter und mögliche verstecke Kosten gründlich abklären. Zudem lohnt es sich, seine Dokumente und Unterlagen geordnet bereitzuhalten. So hat man die besten Chancen, seine Träume vom Eigenheim zu verwirklichen.


War dieser Artikel hilfreich?
Vielen Dank für Ihre Stimme!


Weitere Artikel zum Thema


Bereit für das beste Angebot?


Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden

Lesen Sie regelmässig spannende Beiträge und erhalten Sie hilfreiche Tipps rund um den Haus- und Wohnungskauf.

key4-Newsletter abonnieren

Wir verwenden Cookies, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie die beste Erfahrung auf unserer Website erhalten. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Datenschutzerklärung. Sie können die Einstellungen Ihrer Cookies in den Datenschutzeinstellungen ändern. Zu den Datenschutzeinstellungen