Taking out a mortgage: a step-by-step guide

Taking out a mortgage: a step-by-step guide

© iStockphoto
09.12.2020 | 2 minutes

Switzerland has a relatively high price level for building land and real estate in general. Very few individuals and families are able to finance the purchase of a property with their own savings. Most of them are dependent on a mortgage from a bank. In the case of owner-occupied homes, it is common practice for 80 percent of the price to be financed by a mortgage at the time of purchase. 20 percent is covered by the clients’ own funds.

Mortgage: what does it mean?

Hypotheca in Latin means a pledge or deposit. To simplify things slightly, a mortgage is a loan that is secured by a mortgage lien. If the client doesn’t meet their financial obligations, the bank’s claims are covered by this mortgage lien. In the event of payment default, the bank has the right to “realize” the property, i.e. to sell it. The mortgage is a loan secured by the property.

Why take out a mortgage?

When setting out on the property ladder, most people start by asking themselves: how much money have I saved up? What can I afford? The prices of building land and property have risen sharply, especially in popular locations and in large conurbations. Often, anyone not lucky enough to have a considerable fortune at their disposal, or to have come into one by inheritance, can’t even afford a plot of a land with their own savings. In practice, hardly any purchases are made without the buyer taking out a mortgage. Interest rates are currently extremely low, which is another argument in favor of financing your property with a mortgage.

A person stands on a balcony and leans against the railing.
© iStockphoto

Taking out a mortgage: obtain a mortgage in six steps

Buying a property and taking out a mortgage result in long-term obligations. The basic rule is: first budget and plan, then buy. The lender charges interest on the mortgage and the capital usually has to be repaid to a certain extent. This is called amortization. That’s why it’s important to familiarize yourself with different types of mortgage, potential financing partners and the cost implications.

1. Set an overall budget

Interest rates on savings have hardly ever been as low and mortgages as inexpensive as they are now. No wonder real estate is highly valued in this environment. But be careful: the property and any associated longer-term costs for interest, amortization, incidental expenses and building maintenance must also be factored into your budget.

What a buyer can afford always depends on two components: available savings and income. The following “golden rule” is particularly important: the fixed costs for interest, amortization, incidental expenses, building maintenance etc. may not exceed the threshold of one third of gross income. The interest rate to be applied is not a daily reference rate, but a longer-term average interest rate of five percent.

Other fees and transaction costs must also be taken into account. For example, fees are incurred for issuing or modifying a mortgage certificate (for securing the mortgage). The tariffs charged by local land register offices, notaries etc. are controlled at cantonal level. The cost of simply issuing a mortgage certificate can quickly reach three or four digits (it is usually measured in thousandths of the purchase price).

2. Select a type of mortgage

The chosen mortgage and the duration of the fixed-interest-rate period will determine the longer-term costs. The financial possibilities, situation in life and individual goals of the borrower must be taken into account. Is the aim to keep the property for the foreseeable future or to sell it in the next few years? The duration of the contract and of the fixed-interest-rate period should be adjusted accordingly.

Secondly, the risk profile is extremely important: if, for example, a family attaches great importance to having a fixed budget and security, it would be better to opt for a longer-term fixed-rate mortgage. This type of mortgage offers ideal protection against surprises and a possible rise in interest rates.

Other short-term mortgage models should be considered if the borrower has a greater risk appetite and capacity. SARON mortgages or money-market mortgages are interesting when interest rates are moving sideways or falling. However, they are associated with greater risks of short-term fluctuations. Tip: in practice, various models and terms can often be combined in multiple tranches.

3. Pay attention to interest rates

The interest rate offered by the bank is rightly considered to be the essential basis for making your decision. Depending on the amount of the loan, a difference of 0.3 percent points over the entire term can total several hundred or thousand francs. But be careful: non-binding reference rates and “window-dressing prices” should not be confused with offers for a specific loan application.

Sometimes a supposedly low price only applies to very specific transactions – for example mortgages for limited amounts or for a specific group of clients.

In a normal “interest environment”, the following simple rule applies: additional security costs money. A higher interest rate will be due for a very long interest hedge with a fixed-rate mortgage taken out over a term of 10 or 15 years. However, in the current environment, the delta has narrowed between interest rates for very short-term models and those for longer-term models.

Expectations regarding interest rate trends also play a role. Before deciding on a mortgage strategy, it therefore usually makes sense to discuss your individual situation with your client advisor.

A man and a woman are sitting at a laptop in their kitchen.
© iStockphoto

The optimum financing for your home

Here you’ll find exactly the right offer – independent, fast and transparent.

4. Compare providers

It is not only a matter of obtaining an offer with the most attractive interest rate that corresponds to your individual situation. The following criteria are also important:

  • Do I want a contact person who is flexible and (almost) always available? Online platforms often provide extended opening hours, offers can be obtained around the clock, and discussions can be held regardless of location.
  • Does the financing partner provide a comprehensive range of mortgages? What about flexibility, cancellation provisions and subsequent mortgage extensions?
  • How much personal advice do you need? For example, anyone building a house on a plot of land themselves or buying an apartment off plan may want extra assistance.

Digitization and competition in the mortgage sector are opening up a variety of new opportunities. key4 makes it possible to compare and combine offers from different providers so that the client can remain flexible and enjoy interest rate advantages. This not only applies when they take out a mortgage for the first time. They can also benefit from the transparency, comparison options and flexibility of key4 when extending their mortgage at a later date.

5. Clarify the costs

Sales and cost models will be very different depending on whether you approach your existing house bank, another bank, a broker or an online provider. Many mortgage providers today don’t charge any fees at all when a client applies for and takes out a mortgage. The costs are settled as part of the contractually agreed interest payments.

Online platforms promise particularly attractive interest rates due to their efficient business model. And it’s usually possible to compare offers and take out a mortgage free of charge on online platforms.

6. Submit a loan application

What practical steps are necessary to apply for a mortgage? The lending business is subject to due diligence obligations and industry standards. Every bank and every lender is obliged to check all documents very thoroughly. A loan must not lead to over-indebtedness; the client is only given the green light for a mortgage if all the conditions are met.

The client must therefore inform the bank about their financial situation and prepare a certain number of documents relating to the chosen property. For a loan application, you will need to supply information on income and equity (based on salary statements, tax returns and other documents) as well as documentation about the property including construction and floor plans, a Land Register extract, the year of construction and area specifications. Depending on the provider, original documents may need to be submitted rather than copies. More and more lenders now also accept documents via a protected online channel.

Conclusion: realize your dreams step by step

Taking out a mortgage is a big decision. You should allow yourself time to thoroughly clarify points such as your own budget, the right type of mortgage, mortgage providers and potentially hidden costs. It’s also worth keeping your documents and records organized.

This gives you the best chance of realizing your dream of owning your own home.


Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your vote!


More articles on the topic


Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Souscrire une hypothèque: explications pas à pas

Souscrire une hypothèque: explications pas à pas

© iStockphoto
09.12.2020 | 2 minutes

Les terrains à bâtir et l’immobilier en général, en Suisse, affichent des prix relativement élevés. Très peu de particuliers et de familles sont en mesure de financer l’achat d’un bien immobilier avec leurs propres économies. La plupart dépendent donc de l’hypothèque d’une banque. Pour les logements en propriété, il est d’usage que 80% du prix d’achat soit financé par une hypothèque au moment de l’achat. 20% sont couverts par les fonds propres des clients.

Une hypothèque, qu’est-ce que c’est?

En latin, «hypotheca» signifie gage ou nantissement. En d’autres termes, une hypothèque est un prêt garanti par un gage immobilier. Si le client ne respecte pas ses obligations financières, les créances de la banque sont couvertes par ce gage immobilier. En cas de défaut de paiement, la banque a le droit de vendre le bien immobilier. L’hypothèque est un prêt garanti par le bien immobilier.

Pourquoi souscrire une hypothèque?

Sur le chemin qui mène au logement en propriété, la plupart des gens se posent d’abord les questions suivantes: Combien ai-je économisé? Que puis-je me permettre? Les prix des terrains à bâtir et des biens immobiliers ont fortement augmenté notamment dans les endroits très prisés et les grandes agglomérations. Les personnes qui ne disposent pas déjà d’une fortune considérable ou qui n’en ont pas hérité ne peuvent souvent même pas financer le terrain à bâtir avec leurs propres économies. Dans la pratique, il est donc rare qu’un achat soit effectué sans que l’acheteur ne souscrive une hypothèque. Les intérêts actuels, extrêmement favorables, sont un autre argument en faveur du financement du bien immobilier par une hypothèque.

Une personne se tient sur le balcon et s’appuie contre la balustrade.
© iStockphoto

Souscrire une hypothèque: les 6 étapes à suivre

L’achat d’un bien immobilier et la souscription d’une hypothèque sont associés à des obligations à plus long terme. La règle de base est la suivante: il faut toujours budgétiser et planifier avant d’acheter. L’hypothèque rapporte des intérêts au prêteur et doit généralement être remboursée dans un cadre défini, c’est-à-dire amortie. Il est donc important de se familiariser avec les modèles hypothécaires, les partenaires de financement potentiels et les implications en termes de coûts.

1. Définir le cadre budgétaire

Les taux d’intérêt ont rarement été aussi bas et les hypothèques aussi avantageuses qu’aujourd’hui. Dans ce contexte, il n’est donc pas étonnant que les biens immobiliers soient très recherchés. Attention toutefois: la propriété et les coûts à long terme en matière d’intérêts, d’amortissement, de charges annexes et d’entretien du bâtiment doivent également être inclus dans le budget.

Ce qu’un acheteur peut se permettre dépend toujours de deux éléments: l’épargne disponible et le revenu. La «règle d’or» suivante doit, en particulier, être observée: les coûts fixes pour les intérêts, les amortissements, les charges annexes, l’entretien du bâtiment, etc. ne doivent pas dépasser le seuil d’un tiers du revenu brut. Pour les intérêts, il ne faut pas appliquer un taux de référence quotidien, mais un taux d’intérêt moyen à long terme de 5%.

D’autres frais et coûts de transaction doivent également être pris en compte. Par exemple, des frais sont encourus pour l’émission ou l’ajustement d’une cédule hypothécaire (celle-ci sert à garantir l’hypothèque). Les tarifs des registres fonciers locaux, des notaires, etc. sont réglementés au niveau cantonal. La seule émission d’une cédule hypothécaire peut rapidement atteindre un montant à trois ou quatre chiffres (généralement en pour mille du prix d’achat).

2. Sélectionner le type d’hypothèque

Le modèle d’hypothèque choisi et la durée du taux d’intérêt fixe détermineront les coûts à long terme. Les possibilités financières, la situation de vie et les objectifs individuels doivent, ici, être pris en compte. Le bien immobilier sera-t-il conservé à long terme ou vendu dans les prochaines années? La durée du contrat et le taux d’intérêt fixe doivent être adaptés en conséquence.

Deuxième facteur important: le profil de risque. Si, par exemple, une famille attache une grande importance à un budget fixe et à la sécurité, il sera avantageux d’opter pour des hypothèques fixes à plus long terme. Ces dernières constituent la protection idéale contre les surprises et une éventuelle hausse des taux d’intérêt.

Si la propension au risque et la capacité de risque sont là, d’autres modèles d’hypothèques à court terme doivent être envisagés. Les hypothèques SARON ou les hypothèques du marché monétaire sont intéressantes dans un environnement où les intérêts fluctuent latéralement ou baissent. Elles sont toutefois associées à des risques plus importants de fluctuations à court terme. Conseil: il est courant de combiner, dans la pratique, les différents modèles et durées en tranches.

3. Observer les taux d’intérêt

L’intérêt proposé est à juste titre considéré comme la base principale de la décision. Selon le montant du crédit, une différence de, par exemple, 0,3% sur toute la durée peut déjà représenter une différence de plusieurs centaines ou milliers de francs. Attention toutefois: il ne faut pas confondre les taux indicatifs non contraignants et les prix dits «de vitrine» avec les offres pour une demande de crédit concrète.

Parfois, un prix qui semble avantageux s’applique uniquement à des transactions très spécifiques – par exemple, si le montant de l’hypothèque est réduit ou pour un groupe spécifique de clients.

Dans un «paysage d’intérêts» normal, cette règle simple s’applique également: la sécurité supplémentaire coûte de l’argent. Pour une couverture des intérêts très longue avec des hypothèques fixes sur 10 ou 15 ans, un intérêt plus élevé est dû. Toutefois, dans le contexte actuel, les intérêts des modèles à très court terme et à long terme ont considérablement convergé.

Les attentes concernant l’évolution des intérêts jouent également un rôle. Afin de choisir une stratégie hypothécaire appropriée, il est donc généralement judicieux de discuter de la situation individuelle avec un conseiller à la clientèle.

Un homme et une femme sont assis devant un ordinateur portable dans leur cuisine.
© iStockphoto

4. Comparer les fournisseurs

Il ne s’agit pas seulement de trouver l’intérêt le plus favorable et l’offre la plus adaptée à la situation individuelle. Les critères suivants sont également essentiels:

  • Est-ce que je souhaite avoir un interlocuteur qui soit flexible et (presque) toujours disponible? Les plateformes en ligne offrent souvent des heures d’ouverture prolongées, les offres peuvent être obtenues 24 heures sur 24 et les entretiens peuvent être menés quel que soit l’endroit.
  • Le partenaire de financement propose-t-il une gamme complète d’hypothèques? Qu’en est-il de la flexibilité, de la possibilité de résilier et des prolongations ultérieures de l’hypothèque?
  • Quel est le besoin en matière de conseils personnalisés? Par exemple, une personne qui construit elle-même un terrain ou achète un appartement sur plan souhaite souvent bénéficier d’un accompagnement plus suivi.

La numérisation et la concurrence dans le secteur hypothécaire ouvrent de nombreuses possibilités nouvelles. key4 permet de comparer et aussi de combiner les offres de différents fournisseurs. Le client reste ainsi flexible et bénéficie de taux avantageux. Cela ne s’applique pas seulement s’il contracte une hypothèque pour la première fois. Il bénéficiera également de la transparence, des possibilités de comparaison et de la flexibilité de key4 lors des renouvellements ultérieurs de son hypothèque.

5. Clarifier les coûts

Les modèles de vente et de coûts sont très différents, selon qu’il s’agisse de la banque principale, d’une autre banque, d’un courtier ou d’un fournisseur en ligne. De nos jours, de nombreux fournisseurs hypothécaires ne prélèvent aucun frais lorsque le client demande et souscrit une hypothèque. Les frais sont compris dans les intérêts convenus dans le contrat.

Les plateformes en ligne promettent des offres d’intérêt particulièrement intéressantes en raison de leur modèle commercial efficace. Et, ici, le principe suivant s’applique: dans la plupart des cas, les plateformes en ligne permettent de comparer des offres et de souscrire une hypothèque gratuitement.

6. Soumettre une demande de crédit

Quelles sont les étapes concrètes nécessaires pour demander une hypothèque? Dans l’activité de crédit, les obligations de diligence et les normes habituelles en usage dans la branche s’appliquent. Chaque banque et chaque prêteur sont tenus de vérifier tous les documents de manière très approfondie. Un crédit ne doit pas conduire au surendettement; il faut donc que toutes les conditions soient remplies pour que le feu vert soit donné pour une hypothèque.

Le client doit donc informer la banque de sa situation financière et avoir, à sa disposition, des documents sur le bien immobilier de son choix. Une demande de crédit comprend des informations sur les revenus et les fonds propres (sur la base des fiches de salaire, des déclarations d’impôts et d’autres documents). La documentation concernant le bien immobilier comprend les plans de construction et d’ensemble, l’extrait du registre foncier, l’année de construction, les indications de surface, etc. Selon le fournisseur, l’original des documents doit être présenté. De plus en plus de prêteurs acceptent également les documents via un canal en ligne protégé.

Conclusion: réaliser ses rêves pas à pas

La souscription d’une hypothèque est une décision importante. Il faut donc se laisser suffisamment de temps et clarifier minutieusement certains points, comme le budget, le modèle hypothécaire approprié, le fournisseur hypothécaire et d’éventuels coûts cachés. Il est également utile de conserver ses documents de manière ordonnée. On met ainsi toutes les chances de son côté en vue de réaliser son rêve de posséder un logement en propriété.


Cet article a-t-il été utile?
Merci pour votre vote!


Plus d’articles sur ce thème


Prêt(e) pour la meilleure offre?


Restez au fait de l’actualité

Lisez régulièrement des articles passionnants et recevez des conseils utiles en lien avec l’achat d’une maison ou d’un appartement.

S’abonner à la newsletter key4

Ce site web utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience de navigation. Vous trouverez plus d’informations dans la déclaration de confidentialité. Vous pouvez modifier vos paramètres de cookies dans les paramètres de confidentialité. Accédez aux paramètres de confidentialité