Klimafreundliche Labels von GEAK bis Minergie | key4.ch

From GEAK to Minergie: 5 labels for climate-friendly renovation

© Getty Images
20.12.2022 | 5 minutes

Standards and labels are an important tool in climate-friendly construction. They help you systematize your project and make it eligible for potential funding. However, those who wish to carry out a sustainable building or renovation project in Switzerland are confronted with a palette of diverse labels from various associations and organizations. It’s easy to feel overwhelmed by the variety on offer. The good news is that thanks to the wide range of offers, it’s possible to find the right label for almost every project. This article will give you an overview and familiarize you with the most important certifications currently available. You’ll also find out which label is suitable for which type of renovation and should be aimed for.

Does your property have a sustainability certificate?

Then please get in touch and we will check whether you are eligible for a Green Mortgage with a favorable interest rates.

How is sustainability defined for buildings? There are various approaches to assessing how sustainable a building is. That is why there are many different sustainability labels. However, they each have a slightly different focus. Some labels rate sustainability criteria exclusively based on a few core criteria relating to climate-friendliness. Others also take social and geopolitical criteria into account. In principle, certifications help provide orientation for your energy-efficient building or renovation project. A catalog of criteria can help you monitor and implement your project in a focused way. In addition, sustainable certifications are often rewarded in the form of subsidies or tax rebates. In the event that you wish to sell the property at a later stage, you may be able to do so at a higher price. In this article we focus on five labels that are relevant in Switzerland and frequently applied: LEED, DGNB, Minergie, GEAK and SNBS.

GEAK – the official energy certificate for buildings at cantonal level in Switzerland

The GEAK is the official energy certificate for buildings at cantonal level in Switzerland and is therefore standard throughout the country. It certifies the energy efficiency of the building envelope and the overall energy efficiency, providing a basis for potential decisions on renovation or for a funding application.

Unlike the aforementioned labels, not only does GEAK certify exemplary buildings it also functions as a traffic-light-style, energy-efficiency ranking system. Buildings are ranked in seven energy classes from A to G on the basis of the building envelope and overall energy efficiency.

  • A: Excellent heat insulation and highly efficient building technology
  • B: Thermal building envelope and building technology in line with new-build standards
  • C: Old buildings with fully refurbished building envelope and comprehensive building technology
  • D: Fully insulated old building with thermal bridges and substantial renovation
  • E: Old building with improved heat insulation and partial renovation
  • F: Partially insulated building with some new components
  • G: Old building without insulation, with outdated building technology

The four-page report, which is drawn up by a certified expert and contains the most important information about the building, can supplement a Minergie label, for example. The fees charged by experts will vary depending on the complexity of the building to be analyzed. For a single-family house, the cost is usually under CHF 1,000. However the GEAK association itself recommends getting multiple offers from various experts. In addition, most cantons and some municipalities offer grants for this process.

Further to the classic GEAK, GEAK Plus also offers concrete recommendations on how a house’s energy efficiency can be increased. It is also possible to obtain a GEAK new-build certification for a planned project. The energy efficiency is provisionally rated on the basis of the planned values.

Minergie – the highest energy standard for houses in Switzerland

Minergie is the highest energy standard in Switzerland for low-energy buildings, i.e., for buildings which generally do not require a conventional heating system due to their high level of thermal insulation and special design, and are therefore very energy efficient. The Minergie standard is a label which is used throughout Switzerland and applied at an economic, federal and canton level. It is suitable for any type of building – including single-family houses and apartment buildings.

In some cantons, the Minergie certificate allows a higher percentage of the plot to be built on (Ausnützungsziffer): in the canton of Valais, this ratio is increased to 15 percent with the certificate. In the case of a planned apartment building this would mean one additional apartment can be built, thereby increasing the value of the property.

In its certification, Minergie differentiates between the various stages of a building project meaning that different Minergie labels are awarded:

1.  Planning and project development:

  • Minergie: the building standard for above-average energy efficiency
  • Minergie-P: the certificate for buildings with the lowest energy consumption
  • Minergie-A: the label for buildings with a higher level of energy independence because they generate their own energy
  • Minergie-Eco: an addition to the above three Minergie building standards that also covers health and building ecology

2.  Implementation:

  • MQS construction: the quality seal for the building process and parts which are relevant to Minergie

3.  Implementation:

  • MQS operation: the energy-efficiency label for existing buildings

Across Switzerland, various cantonal or regional certification authorities award the Minergie label. You can find all the information at minergie.ch.

SNBS – the certification for a positive impact on the environment, society and the economy

The Swiss Sustainable Building Standard (SNBS) is a certification that evaluates how sustainable a building is. It evaluates buildings according to a set of 45 indicators which cover the three areas of sustainability:

  • Society: including planning, diversity, usage and health
  • Economy: costs, return potential and other regional economic factors are evaluated
  • Environment: includes, for example, the evaluation of energy efficiency, emissions and resource and nature conservation.

The SNBS label is, as a rule, used for large residential buildings, public buildings, offices and educational buildings – both new-builds and existing buildings. SNBS certification costs CHF 16,500 for buildings with an area of less than 5,000 square meters. The costs can be reduced by several thousand francs if a house already has been certified to one of the above-mentioned Minergie standards. In addition, SNBS-certified building projects may be eligible for funding at cantonal or federal level.

DGNB – the German label for the entire lifecycle

The DGNB label is based on criteria developed by the German Sustainable Building Council (DGNB). The standard is already used in 30 countries worldwide for large building projects such as apartment buildings or buildings used for commercial purposes. The DGNB certificate is based on an integrated approach, in which the entire lifecycle of the building is considered:

  • For new-builds
  • For renovations
  • For buildings in use
  • When dismantling
  • And also at the construction site

For new-builds and renovations, the following six criteria are used to assess whether a DGNB certificate can be awarded:

  1. Ecological quality: this includes, for example, the building’s environmental footprint or risks to the local environment
  2. Economic quality: flexibility and capacity for change of use are evaluated
  3. Sociocultural and functional quality: these criteria include key aspects of functionality as well as comfort and health factors
  4. Technical quality: these criteria are the benchmark for evaluating the technical implementation, e.g., sound insulation and ease of dismantling
  5. Process quality: this means assessing how the building/construction project is planned and implemented
  6. Site quality: this assesses the interrelation between the site and its surroundings.

The DGNB label can be awarded at quality levels platinum, gold, silver and bronze, whereby bronze is not awarded to new-builds. In Switzerland, over 6,500 buildings are DGNB-certified or in the process of becoming certified. Certification is carried out by the Swiss Sustainable Building Council.

LEED – the best-known international label

The acronym LEED stands for Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design and is originally a US building label. LEED plays an increasingly important role both internationally and in Switzerland, especially for new-build and renovation projects by international companies.

To receive LEED certification, buildings must fulfill certain requirements in a number of areas, including:

  • Integrative design of the overall project
  • Energy
  • Water
  • Waste
  • Building materials
  • Location and transportation to the site
  • Sustainable surroundings
  • Health
  • Regional impact
  • Innovation

Depending on how the building performs during evaluation by an independent institution according to the aforementioned criteria, it will receive a certain number of points. A maximum of 110 points can be awarded. The total number of points determines the level of certification awarded to the building. There are four levels of certification:

  1. Platinum: from 80 to 110 points
  2. Gold: from 60 to 79 points
  3. Silver: from 50 to 59 points
  4. Certified: from 40 to 49 points

In Switzerland, the association Green Building Switzerland operates as the official national contact partner for LEED certification.

How can you navigate the certification jungle?

When looking for the right certification for your project, it is first worth clarifying what purpose the label should serve. Different certifications cover different aspects of sustainability and are suitable for different types of buildings.

International labels are suitable for buildings with an international profile. For existing, private homes, the Swiss cantonal energy certificate (GEAK) is a sensible basis to which additional certifications may be added. For private new-builds, on the other hand, the Minergie standard is the most widely-used.


Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your vote!


More articles on the topic


Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Klimafreundliche Labels von GEAK bis Minergie | key4.ch

Von GEAK bis Minergie: 5 Labels für die klimafreundliche Sanierung

© Getty Images
20.12.2022 | 5 Minuten

Ein wichtiges Hilfsmittel beim ökologischen Bauen sind Standards und Labels. Sie unterstützen Sie dabei, Ihr Projekt zu systematisieren und potenziell Fördergelder zu erhalten. Doch wer in der Schweiz nachhaltig bauen oder renovieren will, wird mit einer Palette diverser Labels von unterschiedlichen Vereinen und Organisationen konfrontiert. Manch einer fühlt sich von dieser Vielfalt überfordert. Die gute Nachricht ist: Dank des breiten Angebots lässt sich heute für fast jedes Projekt das geeignete Label finden. Mit diesem Artikel verschaffen Sie sich einen Überblick und lernen die aktuell wichtigsten Zertifizierungen kennen. Darüber hinaus erfahren Sie, welches Label für welche Art von Sanierung sinnvoll ist und angestrebt werden sollte.

Verfügt Ihre Immobilie über ein Nachhaltigkeitszertifikat?

Dann kontaktieren Sie uns und wir prüfen, ob eine Green Mortgage zu vorteilhaften Zinskonditionen für Sie in Frage kommt.

Wie definiert man eigentlich Nachhaltigkeit für Gebäude? Es gibt unterschiedliche Ansätze für die Beurteilung der Nachhaltigkeit eines Gebäudes. Aus diesem Grund gibt es sehr viele Labels, welche sich diesem Thema annehmen. Dabei haben sie jeweils einen leicht anderen Fokus. Manche Labels bewerten die Nachhaltigkeitskriterien ausschliesslich gestützt auf wenige Kernkriterien zur Klimafreundlichkeit. Andere beziehen zum Beispiel auch soziale und geopolitische Kriterien mit ein. Grundsätzlich helfen Ihnen Zertifizierungen dabei, bei Ihrem energetischen Bau- oder Sanierungsprojekt Orientierung zu geben. Ein Kriterienkatalog kann Ihnen helfen, Ihr Vorhaben zielgerichtet umzusetzen und zu monitoren. Zudem werden Nachhaltigkeitszertifizierungen häufig mit Steuervergünstigungen oder Subventionen gefördert. Im Falle, dass Sie die Immobilie zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt verkaufen wollen, können Sie möglicherweise einen höheren Verkaufspreis erzielen. In diesem Artikel fokussieren wir uns auf fünf Labels, die in der Schweiz relevant sind und häufig eingesetzt werden: LEED, DGNB, Minergie, GEAK und SNBS.

GEAK – der Gebäudeenergieausweis der Schweizer Kantone

Der GEAK ist der Gebäudeenergieausweis der Schweizer Kantone und damit landesweit einheitlich. Er zertifiziert die Energieeffizienz der Gebäudehülle sowie die Gesamtenergieeffizienz und liefert damit die Basis für mögliche Sanierungsentscheide sowie auch für einen allfälligen Fördergeld-Antrag.

Beim GEAK werden im Unterschied zu den obengenannten Labels nicht nur vorbildliche Bauten zertifiziert, vielmehr funktioniert er als Etikette für Energieeffizienz in Form eines Ampelsystems. Diese wird anhand der Gebäudehülle und der Gesamtenergieeffizienz in sieben Energieklassen von A bis G bewertet:

  • A: Hervorragend Wärmedämmung und hocheffiziente Gebäudetechnik
  • B: Thermische Gebäudehülle sowie Gebäudetechnik mit Neubaustandard
  • C: Altbauten mit umfassender erneuerter Gebäudehülle und umfassender Gebäudetechnik
  • D: Umfassend gedämmter Altbau mit Wärmebrücken und nur weitgehende Sanierung
  • E: Altbau mit verbesserter Wärmedämmung und Teilsanierung
  • F: Teilweise gedämmter Bau mit einzelnen neuen Komponenten
  • G: Altbau ohne Dämmung und veralteter Gebäudetechnik

Auf vier Seiten enthält der von einem zertifizierten Experten verfasste Bericht die wichtigsten Informationen zum untersuchten Gebäude und kann so beispielsweise ein Minergie-Label ergänzen. Je nach Komplexität des zu analysierenden Baus sind die Kosten, die von den Experten verrechnet werden, unterschiedlich. Für ein Einfamilienhaus liegen sie in den meisten Fällen unter 1000 Franken. Es wird aber vom Verein GEAK selbst empfohlen, mehrere Offerten bei unterschiedlichen Expertinnen und Experten einzuholen. Zudem unterstützen die meisten Kantone und auch einige Gemeinden die Erstellung mit Förderbeiträgen.

Als Weiterentwicklung des klassischen GEAK bietet ein sogenannter GEAK Plus zudem konkrete Empfehlungen, wie die Energieeffizienz eines Hauses gesteigert werden kann. Ebenso können Sie bei einem geplanten Bau einen GEAK erstellen lassen. Dieser hält die Energieeffizienz aufgrund der Planungswerte provisorisch fest.

Minergie – der höchste Energiestandard der Schweiz für Häuser

Minergie ist der höchste Energiestandard in der Schweiz für  Niedrigenergiehäuser, also für Gebäude, die aufgrund ihrer hohen Wärmedämmung und spezieller Bauweise in der Regel keine klassische Gebäudeheizung benötigen und somit sehr energieeffizient sind. Der Minergie-Standard ist ein schweizweit genutztes Label, das als Marke von Wirtschaft, Bund und Kantonen getragen wird. Er eignet sich für jegliche Arten von Bauten – gerade auch Ein- oder Mehrfamilienhäuser.

In gewissen Kantonen erlaubt das Minergie-Zertifikat eine höhere Ausnützungsziffer: Im Kanton Wallis wird sie dank des Zertifikats beispielsweise 15 Prozent gesteigert. So kann bei einem geplanten Mehrfamilienhaus eine Wohnung mehr gebaut und der Wert der Immobilie gesteigert werden.

Minergie unterscheidet in der Zertifizierung zwischen den unterschiedlichen Etappen eines Bauvorhabens. Entsprechend werden unterschiedliche Minergie-Labels vergeben:

1.  Planung und Projektierung:

  • Minergie: der Baustandard für überdurchschnittliche Energieeffizienz
  • Minergie-P: das Zertifikat für Niedrigstenergie-Bauten
  • Minergie-A: das Label für Bauten mit höherer energetischer Unabhängigkeit dank Eigenproduktion
  • Minergie-Eco: die Ergänzung der oberen drei Minergie-Baustandards mit den Aspekten Gesundheit und Bauökologie

2.  Realisierung:

  • MQS Bau: das Qualitätssiegel für den Bauprozess und die Minergie-relevanten-Bauteile

3.  Realisierung:

  • MQS Betrieb: das Label für die Energieeffizienz eines bestehenden Gebäudes

In der gesamten Schweiz vergeben eigene kantonale oder regionale Zertifizierungsstellen das Minergie-Label. Alle Informationen finden sich auf minergie.ch.

SNBS – das Zertifikat für positive Wirkung auf Umwelt, Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft

Der Standard «Nachhaltiges Bauen Schweiz» – kurz SNBS – ist ein Zertifikat zum Bewerten der Nachhaltigkeit von Gebäuden. Er beurteilt einen Bau anhand eines Sets von 45 Indikatoren, welche die drei Bereiche der Nachhaltigkeit abdecken:

  • Gesellschaft: dazu gehören unter anderem Planung, Diversität, Nutzung oder Gesundheit
  • Wirtschaft: hier werden Kosten, Ertragspotenzial oder auch regionalökonomische Faktoren bewertet
  • Umwelt: umfasst z.B. die Beurteilung von Energieeffizienz, Emissionen, Ressourcenschonung oder Naturschutz

Das SNBS-Label wird in der Regel für grössere Wohngebäude, öffentliche Bauten, Büro- und Bildungsgebäude eingesetzt – sowohl für Neubauten als auch für bestehende Gebäude. Entsprechend kostet die Zertifizierung nach SNBS schon für Gebäude mit einer Fläche von weniger als 5000 Quadratmeter 16 500 Franken. Die Kosten können sich um mehrere Tausend Franken reduzieren, wenn ein Haus bereits einer der oben erwähnten Minergie-Standards besitzt. Zusätzlich werden SNBS-zertifizierte Bauprojekte möglicherweise kantonal oder auf Bundesebene mit Fördergeldern unterstützt.

DGNB – das Deutsche Label für den gesamten Lebenszyklus

Das Label «DGNB» basiert auf Kriterien, die von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Nachhaltiges Bauen (DGNB) entwickelt wurden – daher der Name. Der Standard wird mittlerweile weltweit in über 30 Ländern für grössere Bauvorhaben, wie Mehrfamilienhäuser oder betrieblich genutzte Bauten eingesetzt. Das DGNB-Zertifikat fusst auf einem ganzheitlichen Ansatz, der im gesamten Lebenszyklus von Gebäuden zur Anwendung kommt:

  • Beim Neubau
  • Bei der Sanierung
  • Bei einem Gebäude im Betrieb
  • Beim Rückbau
  • Und auch bei der Baustelle

Bei Neubauten und Sanierungen wird anhand der folgenden sechs Kriterien gemessen, ob ein DGNB-Zertifikat verliehen werden kann:

  1. Ökologische Qualität: dazu gehört beispielsweise die Ökobilanz des Gebäudes oder Risiken für die lokale Umwelt
  2. Ökonomische Qualität: Hier werden unter anderem Flexibilität und Umnutzungsfähigkeit bewertet
  3. Soziokulturelle und funktionale Qualität: Diese Kriterien umfassen wesentliche Aspekte der Funktionalität, des Komforts und gesundheitlicher Faktoren
  4. Technische Qualität: Diese Kriterien sind der Massstab für die Bewertung der technischen Umsetzung z.B. des Schallschutzes oder der Rückbaufreundlichkeit
  5. Prozessqualität: Bei der Prozessqualität werden die Planung und Umsetzung des Baus bewertet
  6. Standortqualität: Hierbei wird die Wechselwirkung von Standort und Umgebung beurteilt.

Das DGNB-Label wird in den Qualitätsstufen Platin, Gold, Silber und Bronze vergeben, wobei Bronze für Neubauten nicht zur Anwendung kommt. In der Schweiz sind über 6500 Gebäude DGNB-zertifiziert oder zurzeit in Zertifizierung. Die Zertifizierung erfolgt durch die Schweizer Gesellschaft für nachhaltige Immobilienwirtschaft.

LEED – das bekannteste internationale Label

Das Akronym LEED steht für Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design und ist ursprünglich ein U.S.-amerikanisches Gebäudelabel. LEED spielt international und somit auch in der Schweiz eine zunehmend wichtige Rolle, speziell bei Neubau- und Sanierungsprojekten von Unternehmen mit internationaler Ausrichtung.

Für eine LEED-Zertifizierung müssen Gebäude in zahlreichen Bereichen bestimmte Voraussetzungen erfüllen. Dazu gehören unter anderem:

  • Integrative Konzeption des Gesamtprojekts
  • Energie
  • Wasser
  • Abfall
  • Baumaterialien
  • Standort und Transport zur Baustelle
  • Nachhaltige Umgebung
  • Gesundheit
  • Regionaler Einfluss
  • Innovation

Je nachdem wie das Gebäude bei der Prüfung durch eine unabhängige Institution in Bezug auf die erwähnten Kriterien abschneidet, erhält es eine Anzahl Punkte. Maximal können 110 Punkte erreicht werden. Die Gesamtpunktzahl entscheidet darüber, welche Stufe der Zertifizierung für die Immobilie erzielt wurde. Dabei gibt es vier Stufen:

  1. Platin: von 80 bis 110 Punkten
  2. Gold: von 60 bis 79 Punkten
  3. Silber: von 50 bis 59 Punkten
  4. Zertifiziert: von 40 bis 49 Punkten

In der Schweiz fungiert der Verein Green Building Switzerland als offizieller nationaler Ansprechpartner für die LEED-Zertifizierung.

So behalten Sie den Durchblick im Zertifikate-Dschungel

Wenn Sie nach dem passenden Zertifikat für Ihr Projekt suchen, empfiehlt es sich zuerst zu klären, welchen Zweck das Label erfüllen soll. Unterschiedliche Zertifikate decken unterschiedliche Bereiche der Nachhaltigkeit ab und sind für unterschiedliche Arten von Bauten sinnvoll.

Internationale Labels eignen sich für Gebäude mit internationaler Ausstrahlung. Für bestehende private Eigenheime bildet der Gebäudeenergieausweis der Schweizer Kantone GEAK eine sinnvolle Basis für mögliche weitere Zertifizierungen. Bei privaten Neubauten hingegen ist der Minergie-Standard der am weitesten verbreitete Ansatz.


War dieser Artikel hilfreich?
Vielen Dank für Ihre Stimme!


Weitere Artikel zum Thema


Bereit für das beste Angebot?


Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden

Lesen Sie regelmässig spannende Beiträge und erhalten Sie hilfreiche Tipps rund um den Haus- und Wohnungskauf.

key4-Newsletter abonnieren

Wir verwenden Cookies, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie die beste Erfahrung auf unserer Website erhalten. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Datenschutzerklärung. Sie können die Einstellungen Ihrer Cookies in den Datenschutzeinstellungen ändern. Zu den Datenschutzeinstellungen