Klimafreundliche Labels von GEAK bis Minergie | key4.ch

From GEAK to Minergie: 5 labels for climate-friendly renovation

© Getty Images
20.12.2022 | 5 minutes

Standards and labels are an important tool in climate-friendly construction. They help you systematize your project and make it eligible for potential funding. However, those who wish to carry out a sustainable building or renovation project in Switzerland are confronted with a palette of diverse labels from various associations and organizations. It’s easy to feel overwhelmed by the variety on offer. The good news is that thanks to the wide range of offers, it’s possible to find the right label for almost every project. This article will give you an overview and familiarize you with the most important certifications currently available. You’ll also find out which label is suitable for which type of renovation and should be aimed for.

Does your property have a sustainability certificate?

Then please get in touch and we will check whether you are eligible for a Green Mortgage with a favorable interest rates.

How is sustainability defined for buildings? There are various approaches to assessing how sustainable a building is. That is why there are many different sustainability labels. However, they each have a slightly different focus. Some labels rate sustainability criteria exclusively based on a few core criteria relating to climate-friendliness. Others also take social and geopolitical criteria into account. In principle, certifications help provide orientation for your energy-efficient building or renovation project. A catalog of criteria can help you monitor and implement your project in a focused way. In addition, sustainable certifications are often rewarded in the form of subsidies or tax rebates. In the event that you wish to sell the property at a later stage, you may be able to do so at a higher price. In this article we focus on five labels that are relevant in Switzerland and frequently applied: LEED, DGNB, Minergie, GEAK and SNBS.

GEAK – the official energy certificate for buildings at cantonal level in Switzerland

The GEAK is the official energy certificate for buildings at cantonal level in Switzerland and is therefore standard throughout the country. It certifies the energy efficiency of the building envelope and the overall energy efficiency, providing a basis for potential decisions on renovation or for a funding application.

Unlike the aforementioned labels, not only does GEAK certify exemplary buildings it also functions as a traffic-light-style, energy-efficiency ranking system. Buildings are ranked in seven energy classes from A to G on the basis of the building envelope and overall energy efficiency.

  • A: Excellent heat insulation and highly efficient building technology
  • B: Thermal building envelope and building technology in line with new-build standards
  • C: Old buildings with fully refurbished building envelope and comprehensive building technology
  • D: Fully insulated old building with thermal bridges and substantial renovation
  • E: Old building with improved heat insulation and partial renovation
  • F: Partially insulated building with some new components
  • G: Old building without insulation, with outdated building technology

The four-page report, which is drawn up by a certified expert and contains the most important information about the building, can supplement a Minergie label, for example. The fees charged by experts will vary depending on the complexity of the building to be analyzed. For a single-family house, the cost is usually under CHF 1,000. However the GEAK association itself recommends getting multiple offers from various experts. In addition, most cantons and some municipalities offer grants for this process.

Further to the classic GEAK, GEAK Plus also offers concrete recommendations on how a house’s energy efficiency can be increased. It is also possible to obtain a GEAK new-build certification for a planned project. The energy efficiency is provisionally rated on the basis of the planned values.

Minergie – the highest energy standard for houses in Switzerland

Minergie is the highest energy standard in Switzerland for low-energy buildings, i.e., for buildings which generally do not require a conventional heating system due to their high level of thermal insulation and special design, and are therefore very energy efficient. The Minergie standard is a label which is used throughout Switzerland and applied at an economic, federal and canton level. It is suitable for any type of building – including single-family houses and apartment buildings.

In some cantons, the Minergie certificate allows a higher percentage of the plot to be built on (Ausnützungsziffer): in the canton of Valais, this ratio is increased to 15 percent with the certificate. In the case of a planned apartment building this would mean one additional apartment can be built, thereby increasing the value of the property.

In its certification, Minergie differentiates between the various stages of a building project meaning that different Minergie labels are awarded:

1.  Planning and project development:

  • Minergie: the building standard for above-average energy efficiency
  • Minergie-P: the certificate for buildings with the lowest energy consumption
  • Minergie-A: the label for buildings with a higher level of energy independence because they generate their own energy
  • Minergie-Eco: an addition to the above three Minergie building standards that also covers health and building ecology

2.  Implementation:

  • MQS construction: the quality seal for the building process and parts which are relevant to Minergie

3.  Implementation:

  • MQS operation: the energy-efficiency label for existing buildings

Across Switzerland, various cantonal or regional certification authorities award the Minergie label. You can find all the information at minergie.ch.

SNBS – the certification for a positive impact on the environment, society and the economy

The Swiss Sustainable Building Standard (SNBS) is a certification that evaluates how sustainable a building is. It evaluates buildings according to a set of 45 indicators which cover the three areas of sustainability:

  • Society: including planning, diversity, usage and health
  • Economy: costs, return potential and other regional economic factors are evaluated
  • Environment: includes, for example, the evaluation of energy efficiency, emissions and resource and nature conservation.

The SNBS label is, as a rule, used for large residential buildings, public buildings, offices and educational buildings – both new-builds and existing buildings. SNBS certification costs CHF 16,500 for buildings with an area of less than 5,000 square meters. The costs can be reduced by several thousand francs if a house already has been certified to one of the above-mentioned Minergie standards. In addition, SNBS-certified building projects may be eligible for funding at cantonal or federal level.

DGNB – the German label for the entire lifecycle

The DGNB label is based on criteria developed by the German Sustainable Building Council (DGNB). The standard is already used in 30 countries worldwide for large building projects such as apartment buildings or buildings used for commercial purposes. The DGNB certificate is based on an integrated approach, in which the entire lifecycle of the building is considered:

  • For new-builds
  • For renovations
  • For buildings in use
  • When dismantling
  • And also at the construction site

For new-builds and renovations, the following six criteria are used to assess whether a DGNB certificate can be awarded:

  1. Ecological quality: this includes, for example, the building’s environmental footprint or risks to the local environment
  2. Economic quality: flexibility and capacity for change of use are evaluated
  3. Sociocultural and functional quality: these criteria include key aspects of functionality as well as comfort and health factors
  4. Technical quality: these criteria are the benchmark for evaluating the technical implementation, e.g., sound insulation and ease of dismantling
  5. Process quality: this means assessing how the building/construction project is planned and implemented
  6. Site quality: this assesses the interrelation between the site and its surroundings.

The DGNB label can be awarded at quality levels platinum, gold, silver and bronze, whereby bronze is not awarded to new-builds. In Switzerland, over 6,500 buildings are DGNB-certified or in the process of becoming certified. Certification is carried out by the Swiss Sustainable Building Council.

LEED – the best-known international label

The acronym LEED stands for Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design and is originally a US building label. LEED plays an increasingly important role both internationally and in Switzerland, especially for new-build and renovation projects by international companies.

To receive LEED certification, buildings must fulfill certain requirements in a number of areas, including:

  • Integrative design of the overall project
  • Energy
  • Water
  • Waste
  • Building materials
  • Location and transportation to the site
  • Sustainable surroundings
  • Health
  • Regional impact
  • Innovation

Depending on how the building performs during evaluation by an independent institution according to the aforementioned criteria, it will receive a certain number of points. A maximum of 110 points can be awarded. The total number of points determines the level of certification awarded to the building. There are four levels of certification:

  1. Platinum: from 80 to 110 points
  2. Gold: from 60 to 79 points
  3. Silver: from 50 to 59 points
  4. Certified: from 40 to 49 points

In Switzerland, the association Green Building Switzerland operates as the official national contact partner for LEED certification.

How can you navigate the certification jungle?

When looking for the right certification for your project, it is first worth clarifying what purpose the label should serve. Different certifications cover different aspects of sustainability and are suitable for different types of buildings.

International labels are suitable for buildings with an international profile. For existing, private homes, the Swiss cantonal energy certificate (GEAK) is a sensible basis to which additional certifications may be added. For private new-builds, on the other hand, the Minergie standard is the most widely-used.


Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your vote!


More articles on the topic


Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Labels écologiques: du CECB à Minergie | key4.ch

Du CECB à Minergie: cinq labels pour des rénovations écologiques

© Getty Images
20.12.2022 | 5 minutes

Les standards et labels sont des outils très utiles en matière d’éco-construction. Ils permettent d’homologuer un projet et d’obtenir de potentielles subventions. Cependant, dès lors qu’on veut construire ou rénover de manière écologique en Suisse, on est confronté à une foule de labels décernés par différents organismes et associations, à ne plus savoir où donner de la tête. La bonne nouvelle? Cette offre pléthorique permet aujourd’hui de trouver un label adapté à presque tous les projets. Cet article vous aide à y voir plus clair en vous présentant les certifications les plus importantes actuellement. Vous y apprendrez aussi quel label correspond le mieux à chaque type de rénovation.  

Votre bien immobilier est certifié durable

Contactez-nous et nous vérifierons si vous pouvez bénéficier d’une hypothèque «Green Mortgage» à taux préférentiel.

Comment définit-on le caractère écologique d’un bâtiment? À l’aune de divers critères, tous mesurés par des labels différents, sous des angles variés. La plupart des labels évaluent l’éco-responsabilité d’un bâtiment en se basant uniquement sur quelques critères-clés. D’autres prennent aussi en compte des critères sociaux et géopolitiques, par exemple. En principe, les certifications vous aident à orienter votre projet de construction ou de rénovation énergétique dans la bonne direction. Un catalogue de critères peut vous être utile pour organiser votre projet en plusieurs étapes ayant chacune un but précis et en surveiller le bon déroulement. De plus, les certifications écologiques sont souvent récompensées par des avantages fiscaux ou des subventions. Elles vous permettent aussi de fixer un prix plus élevé quand vous décidez de revendre votre bien immobilier. Dans cet article, nous vous présentons cinq labels reconnus, souvent utilisés en Suisse: LEED, DGNB, Minergie, CECB et SNBS.

CECB – le Certificat énergétique cantonal des bâtiments

Le CECB, Certificat énergétique cantonal des bâtiments, est identique pour toute la Suisse. Il certifie la performance énergétique d’un bâtiment, d’abord pour son enveloppe, puis pour son efficacité énergétique globale, permettant ainsi de prendre des décisions de rénovations fondées ou bien de demander des subventions.

Contrairement aux labels cités précédemment, le CECB n’est pas décerné qu’aux bâtiments exemplaires. Comme sur les ampoules, il sert plutôt d’«étiquette» de performance énergétique. Sept notes, de A à G, évaluent l’efficacité de l’enveloppe du bâtiment et son efficacité énergétique globale:

  • A: Excellente isolation thermique et installations techniques du bâtiment à haut rendement
  • B: Enveloppe et installations techniques conformes aux standards des nouvelles constructions
  • C: Bâtiment ancien dont l’enveloppe et les installations techniques ont été entièrement rénovées
  • D: Bâtiment ancien largement rénové et ayant bénéficié d’une bonne isolation, mais avec des ponts thermiques subsistants
  • E: Bâtiment ancien partiellement rénové dont l’isolation thermique a été améliorée
  • F: Bâtiment partiellement isolé thermiquement avec divers nouveaux éléments
  • G: Bâtiment ancien sans isolation, dont les installations techniques sont dépassées

Le rapport de quatre pages, rédigé par un ou une spécialiste certifié-e, comprend toutes les informations-clés sur le bâtiment analysé et peut, par exemple, venir compléter un label Minergie. Les frais facturés par les spécialistes dépendent de la complexité du bâtiment à analyser. Pour une maison individuelle, il faut compter moins de 1000 francs dans la plupart des cas. L’association CECB recommande cependant de demander des devis à plusieurs spécialistes et de les comparer. En outre, la majorité des cantons, mais aussi quelques communes, subventionnent ce diagnostic énergétique.

En complément au produit de base CECB, le CECB Plus offre des recommandations concrètes sur la façon d’augmenter la performance énergétique d’une maison. Tout comme pour un bâtiment existant, vous pouvez demander un CECB pour un bâtiment nouveau. Celui-ci enregistre les valeurs cibles de l’efficacité énergétique du bâtiment sur la base des valeurs planifiées.

Minergie: standard énergétique le plus exigeant de Suisse pour les maisons

Minergie est le standard énergétique le plus exigeant de Suisse pour les maisons basse consommation, autrement dit, les bâtiments qui, du fait de leur excellente isolation thermique et de leur mode de construction spécial, n’ont généralement pas besoin de chauffage classique et sont donc très économes en énergie. Le standard Minergie est un label utilisé dans toute la Suisse. La marque est soutenue par le monde économique, les cantons et la Confédération. Il convient à tous types de bâtiments, mais plus particulièrement aux maisons individuelles et aux immeubles locatifs.

Dans certains cantons, l’attribution du certificat Minergie octroie un indice d’utilisation du sol plus élevé: dans le Valais l’indice d’utilisation du sol passe à 15%. Ce qui revient, pour un projet d’immeuble locatif, à construire un appartement de plus et à augmenter ainsi la valeur du bien immobilier.

Le processus de certification Minergie distingue les différentes étapes d’un projet de construction, à chacune desquelles correspond un label Minergie distinct:

1.  Planification de projet:

  • Minergie: le standard de construction pour une efficacité énergétique au-dessus de la moyenne
  • Minergie-P: le certificat des bâtiments très basse consommation
  • Minergie A: le label des bâtiments plus autonomes en énergie grâce à l’autoproduction
  • Minergie-ECO: le complément aux trois standards de construction Minergie cités plus haut, mettant l’accent sur la santé et l’écologie de la construction

2.  Mise en œuvre:

  • SQM Construction: l’attestation de qualité du processus de construction et des éléments pertinents pour Minergie

3.  Mise en œuvre:

  • SQM Exploitation: le label d’efficacité énergétique des bâtiments existants

Des offices de certification cantonaux ou régionaux décernent le label Minergie dans toute la Suisse. Vous trouverez toutes les informations sur minergie.ch.

SNBS: le certificat à impact positif sur la société, l’économie et l’environnement

Le standard «Construction durable Suisse SNBS Bâtiment» est un certificat d’évaluation de la durabilité des bâtiments. Il les évalue à l’aune d’un ensemble de 45 indicateurs recouvrant trois domaines du développement durable:

  • Société: comprend, entre autres, la planification, la diversité, l’exploitation ou la santé
  • Économie: évalue les coûts, le potentiel de rendement ou encore les facteurs économiques régionaux
  • Environnement: comprend, p. ex., l’évaluation de l’efficacité énergétique, des émissions de gaz à effet de serre, de la préservation des ressources ou de la protection de la nature

Le label SNBS est généralement décerné aux grands immeubles d’habitation et de bureaux, aux bâtiments publics, aux cités scolaires et universitaires, qu’il s’agisse de bâtiments neufs ou existants. Par conséquent, la certification SNBS coûte déjà 16 500 francs pour les bâtiments d’une surface inférieure à 5000 mètres carrés. Il est possible d’économiser plusieurs milliers de francs si le bâtiment a préalablement obtenu l’un des standards Minergie précités. De plus, les projets de construction certifiés SNBS peuvent être subventionnés au niveau cantonal ou fédéral.

DGNB: le label allemand qui évalue tout le cycle de vie

Le label «DGNB» repose sur des critères établis par la Société allemande pour la construction durable (Deutschen Gesellschaft für Nachhaltiges Bauen, DGNB). Ce standard est utilisé dans plus de 30 pays pour les projets de construction de grande envergure comme les immeubles locatifs ou les bâtiments utilisés à des fins commerciales. Le certificat DGNB repose sur une approche globale qui s’applique à tout le cycle de vie des bâtiments:

  • Bâtiment neuf
  • Rénovation
  • Bâtiment en exploitation
  • Démantèlement
  • Chantier

Les six critères suivants déterminent si un bâtiment neuf ou rénové mérite de recevoir un certificat DGNB:

  • Qualité écologique: dont font partie, par exemple, le bilan écologique du bâtiment ou les risques qu’il représente pour son environnement
  • Qualité économique: évalue, entre autres, la polyvalence et la facilité de transformation du bâtiment
  • Qualité socioculturelle et fonctionnelle: ces critères regroupent des aspects essentiels comme la fonctionnalité, le confort et les facteurs liés à la santé
  • Qualité technique: ces critères servent à évaluer la mise en œuvre d’un point de vue technique comme, par exemple, l’isolation acoustique ou la facilité de démantèlement
  • Qualité du processus: évalue la planification et la mise en œuvre de la construction
  • Qualité du site: évalue l’interaction entre le site et son environnement.

Le label DGNB est attribué selon quatre niveaux de qualité: platine, or, argent et bronze, sauf pour les bâtiments neufs auxquels le bronze ne s’applique pas. En Suisse, plus de 6500 bâtiments sont certifiés DGNB ou en cours de certification. La certification est menée par la Société suisse pour un marché immobilier durable (Schweizer Gesellschaft für nachhaltige Immobilienwirtschaft)

LEED: le plus connu des labels internationaux

L’acronyme LEED, pour «Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design», est un label de construction qui nous vient des États-Unis. Il gagne en importance à l’échelle internationale, y compris en Suisse et notamment dans les projets de construction de nouveaux bâtiments et de rénovation d’entreprises présentes au niveau international.

Pour être certifiés LEED, les bâtiments doivent remplir des conditions précises dans de très nombreux domaines. En voici une liste non-exhaustive:

  • Conception intégrative de l’ensemble du projet
  • Énergie
  • Eau
  • Déchets
  • Matériaux de construction
  • Site et transport vers le chantier
  • Environnement durable
  • Santé
  • Influence régionale
  • Innovation

Le bâtiment est examiné par une institution indépendante qui l’évalue à l’aune des critères susmentionnés et lui attribue un nombre de points. La note maximale est de 110. Le nombre total de points détermine le niveau de certification atteint par le bien immobilier. Ces niveaux sont au nombre de quatre:

  1. Platine: de 80 à 110 points
  2. Or: de 60 à 79 points
  3. Argent: de 50 à 59 points
  4. Certifié: de 40 à 49 points

L’association Green Building Switzerland est l’organe de certification LEED officiel en Suisse.

Comment s’y retrouver dans la jungle des certificats?

Quand vous cherchez le certificat le plus adapté à votre projet, il faut d’abord vous demander quel objectif doit remplir ce label. Chaque certificat couvre un domaine différent du développement durable et convient plus particulièrement à un certain type de bâtiments.  

Les labels internationaux sont faits pour les bâtiments au rayonnement international. Le Certificat énergétique cantonal des bâtiments (CECB), quant à lui, constitue une base solide pour les particuliers propriétaires d’un logement déjà construit et qui souhaiteraient aller plus loin en obtenant d’autres certifications. En revanche, les particuliers propriétaires de bâtiments neufs ont majoritairement recours au standard Minergie. 

 


Cet article a-t-il été utile?
Merci pour votre vote!


Plus d’articles sur ce thème


Prêt(e) pour la meilleure offre?


Restez au fait de l’actualité

Lisez régulièrement des articles passionnants et recevez des conseils utiles en lien avec l’achat d’une maison ou d’un appartement.

S’abonner à la newsletter key4

Ce site web utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience de navigation. Vous trouverez plus d’informations dans la déclaration de confidentialité. Vous pouvez modifier vos paramètres de cookies dans les paramètres de confidentialité. Accédez aux paramètres de confidentialité