How the circular economy is revolutionizing construction - key4 by UBS

How the circular economy is revolutionizing construction

© Getty Images
17.08.2022 | 6 minutes

The building sector makes a significant contribution to CO2 emissions in Switzerland. The ideas of “circular construction” or the “circular economy” are mentioned more and more frequently in connection with reducing these emissions. Dr. Peter Richner, Deputy CEO of Empa and head of the renowned research and innovation platform NEST, explains in an interview what lies behind these terms and what opportunities they open up in the building sector.

What is behind the terms “circular construction” and “circular economy”? How does the construction method influence CO2 emissions in the real estate sector?

Peter Richner: When people talk about CO2 emissions in the real estate sector, they usually mean the CO2 emissions caused by heating with oil or gas. It is often forgotten that the production and transport of the material needed for the construction of a building also emit large amounts of CO2. These are referred to as “gray” CO2 emissions. They are often omitted when calculating the energy footprint of a building. Cement is one very well-known example. Producing cement to build a basement or a wall is associated with high CO2 emissions. In our linear economy, the necessary raw materials are procured from nature, processed and disposed of at the end of a property’s life. If we now want to move toward a net-zero society, the use of renewable energies is very important for daily life, but it is equally necessary to compensate for the CO2 emissions that result from the construction of buildings. This is where the circular economy comes into play. In the real estate sector, this refers specifically to circular construction. We do not consider buildings as end products, but as temporary material storage facilities. The material used for the construction of a building is sourced from nature or the existing material cycle, and is also returned to this material cycle at the end of the building’s lifetime so that it can be reused. Particularly in the construction industry, which is the largest material converter in our economy, this can significantly reduce the ecological footprint.

How does returning material to the material cycle and reusing building materials work?

Peter Richner: In general, there are four options. Of course, it is best to choose construction methods from the outset that will allow buildings to be used for as long as possible. This begins with planning and design. When a building is designed so that the individual components can be used for as long and as flexibly as possible, this maximizes longevity.
A second possibility is “reuse”, i.e. using individual components for a new purpose. For example, if a door is no longer needed in one building, it can be used in another. However, hardly any buildings in Switzerland have been built in a way that allows deconstruction, i.e. the dismantling of a building into its individual parts. At the end of a building’s life, demolition remains the most common option.
The third option is “recycling”, i.e. the refurbishment and reuse of individual building components. The most advanced area here is concrete. In Switzerland in particular, the use of recycled concrete is well established – especially when constructing buildings. For this purpose, demolished concrete properties are transformed back into aggregates. Mixed with fresh cement, the substance can then be used as new concrete.
A fourth option is to upgrade existing components. Windows are a good example of this. Of course, the ideal solution would be to simply reinstall a window removed from a building in a new location. However, especially in the case of windows, which have undergone major developments in terms of energy in recent years, the question often arises as to whether this makes any sense at all. In such cases, an old window can be upgraded by adding additional glazing or replacing the insulating gas between the panes relatively inexpensively and with quite a small amount of new material.

Does your property have a sustainability certificate?

Then please get in touch and we will check whether you are eligible for a Green Mortgage with favorable interest rates.

“Net zero” is on everyone’s lips. Is it really possible to build a “net zero” house through circular construction?

Peter Richner: The life cycle of a building begins with its construction and ends with its dismantling. Net zero is achieved when, over its entire life cycle, the building does not change the CO2 concentration in the atmosphere. However, certain processes will always involve CO2 emissions. Consequently, other processes must recover CO2 from the atmosphere in order to achieve net zero. One option here is building with wood. However, in order to compensate for wood combustion, which is also associated with CO2 emissions, the wood must circulate in the material’s life cycle for about 100 years.

Another option is the pyrolysis of biogenic materials. In this process, the carbon that plants have obtained from the air via photosynthesis is recovered as a solid and can in turn be used as an additive in concrete, as insulation material or even in road construction. Applications in the construction industry are particularly suitable because very large quantities of material are converted and a corresponding reduction effect can be achieved.

Besides wood, which materials do you think have the most potential?

Peter Richner: Almost all materials have the potential to become part of the material cycle. The connection technology is a key element. As soon as something is glued or welded, you have a problem, unless you can reuse the component as a whole. In the cycle context, “screwing” and “joining” are used as joining techniques. This was exemplified in the UMAR unit we built at Empa’s NEST. In the two bathrooms, there are no silicone joints or any glued or welded components, and the whole unit could be disassembled into reusable parts by two people with a cordless screwdriver at any time. And this is exactly the point of circular construction: everything has to be built in such a way that it can be taken apart again, and it has to be documented in such a way that in 30 or 40 years’ time, you will still know which building elements are part of the building in order to be able to continue planning with them. If you think of buildings as temporary material stores, you also need a good inventory for each building. Without an inventory, a warehouse is useless. Digitization tools, which are now becoming more and more widespread in the construction industry as well, help to simplify the documentation of these processes.

About Dr. Peter Richner

As Deputy CEO of Empa, Dr. Peter Richner is responsible for the research strategy in the energy sector and heads the “Engineering Sciences” department. His research is centered on reducing the ecological footprint of a building stock. From 2014 to 2016, he headed the Swiss Competence Center for Energy Research (SCCER). In addition, Dr. Peter Richner is in charge of NEST, a unique research and innovation platform that promotes the development and validation of new solutions for buildings in real conditions.

Since June 2020, Mr. Richner has hosted the monthly podcast “NEST Podcast: The Future of Construction”, in which he discusses current topics relating to the construction sector with guests from industry, science and politics.

You explained that sustainability in construction plays a role as early as the planning stage. Does that mean that circular construction starts with the design?

Peter Richner: Exactly, circular construction is not just a big research topic, it is actually also a crucial aspect for planners and designers or even architects. There are certain areas, such as timber construction, where research projects are required to find out how to optimize the flow of forces in large structures despite the use of other joining techniques. But in many fields, this type of research is not necessary. The main thing that is needed is creativity. The planning is currently perhaps a little more complex, because owners and tenants are not yet accustomed to these new concepts. And suitable business models are often not yet available. Imagine that you are building a house. In keeping with the spirit of the circular economy, it would be best not to buy new windows, but to rent them from the manufacturer. If the house ever has to be demolished, the company in question could then remove the windows and put them back into another building. Many people still cannot imagine anything like that today. But this creates completely new business opportunities and services that would not be possible without circular construction.

What is the current status of the circular economy in the construction industry in Switzerland?

Peter Richner: In Switzerland, there are some pioneers in the field of the circular economy who are strongly driving this development. It is also clear that there is a great deal of interest in the subject. However, although there are various component exchanges, the market for reused materials is still limited and components are only available in small quantities. The problem is that if we want to close the loop, there needs to be a reasonable amount of material to use. In construction, we often have the problem that the accumulation of these materials is quite scattered and we simply do not have enough of them available. For example, it is difficult to equip an apartment block with 40 identical windows. Since the accessibility and availability of material are not yet very good, finding the necessary material is very time-consuming and cost-intensive. In my opinion, this is currently the biggest challenge.

You are responsible for NEST, Empa’s research, demonstration and innovation platform that allows research to be carried out and new solutions to be developed in and on a real building. What sets NEST apart?

Peter Richner: NEST is a place where research and industry come together and objects can be scaled up from lab scale to real scale to test whether everything works as hoped in reality. The leap of scaling up is always associated with great risks. At NEST, we can conduct tests in a safe setting. However, people also work and live in the NEST units, which involves putting the systems we have developed to the test.

Switzerland has a very strong research scene and we have a large construction industry. But the speed of innovation is, in my opinion, far too slow for the major challenges we are confronted with. It is precisely when faced with this acceleration of the pace of innovation that NEST can play an important role.

There is even a NEST podcast that you host, which airs every month. What topics do you address in this podcast?

Peter Richner: The podcast is called “NEST Podcast: The Future of Construction” and it revolves around innovation in our sector. One of the more recent episodes was recorded with Empa researcher Mirko Kovac, who is studying the role of aerial drones in the construction, maintenance and operation of buildings.

Otherwise, the podcast often evokes the reasons why we are making such slow progress in the circular economy. And why there could soon be a turnaround, for very unfortunate reasons. Suddenly, everyone is thinking about how to get by without Russian gas and oil. Unfortunately, changes can only be made very slowly in the real estate sector. At NEST, we have developed various solutions over the last few years that are now ready for practical application. However, the problem is that there are not enough of the craftsmen and planners required to ensure a rapid transition. But I very much hope that a change will take place in society.


Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your vote!


More articles on the topic


Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Comment l’économie circulaire révolutionne le secteur du bâtiment - key4 by UBS

Comment l’économie circulaire révolutionne le secteur du bâtiment

© Getty Images
17.08.2022 | 6 minutes

Le secteur du bâtiment contribue de manière significative aux émissions de CO2 en Suisse. Dans le contexte de la réduction de ces émissions, on entend de plus en plus souvent parler de ce que l’on appelle la «construction circulaire» ou «l’économie circulaire». Dr Peter Richner, directeur adjoint de l’Empa et responsable de la célèbre plateforme de recherche et d’innovation NEST, explique dans une interview ce qui se cache derrière ces termes et les possibilités qu’ils offrent dans le secteur du bâtiment.

Que se cache-t-il derrière les termes «construction circulaire» et «économie circulaire»? Comment le mode de construction influence-t-il les émissions de CO2 dans le secteur immobilier?

Peter Richner: Lorsque l’on parle d’émissions de CO2 dans le secteur immobilier, on fait généralement référence aux émissions de CO2 causées par le chauffage au mazout ou au gaz. On oublie souvent que la fabrication et le transport des matériaux nécessaires à la construction d’un bâtiment émettent également de grandes quantités de CO2. Ce sont les émissions de CO2 dites «grises». Celles-ci sont souvent omises dans le calcul du bilan énergétique d’un bâtiment. Un exemple très connu est le ciment. La production de ciment pour la construction d’une cave ou d’un mur entraîne d’importantes émissions de CO2. Dans notre économie linéaire, les matières premières nécessaires sont prélevées dans la nature, transformées et éliminées à la fin de la vie d’un objet. Si l’on veut maintenant se diriger vers une société «zéro net», l’utilisation des énergies renouvelables est certes très importante pour la vie quotidienne, mais il faut également compenser les émissions de CO2 générées par la construction d’un bâtiment. C’est là que l’économie circulaire entre en jeu. Dans l’immobilier, il s’agit plus précisément de la construction circulaire. Nous ne considérons pas les bâtiments comme des produits finis, mais comme des entrepôts temporaires de matériaux. Les matériaux utilisés pour la construction d’un bâtiment sont prélevés dans la nature ou dans le cycle des matériaux existant, puis sont réintroduits dans ce cycle à la fin de la durée de vie du bâtiment pour être réutilisés. L’empreinte écologique peut ainsi être fortement réduite, en particulier dans le secteur du bâtiment, qui est le plus grand transformateur de matériaux de notre économie.

Comment fonctionnent la réintégration dans le cycle des matériaux et la réutilisation des matériaux de construction?

Peter Richner: En général, il existe quatre possibilités. Bien entendu, le mieux est de construire d’emblée de manière à ce que les bâtiments puissent être utilisés le plus longtemps possible. Cette opération commence dès la planification et la conception. Lorsqu’un bâtiment est conçu de manière à ce que ses différents composants puissent être utilisés le plus longtemps possible et de manière flexible, cela maximise sa longévité.
Une deuxième possibilité est le «re-use», autrement dit la réutilisation de certains composants. Par exemple, si une porte n’est plus nécessaire dans un bâtiment, elle peut être utilisée dans une autre construction. Mais jusqu’à présent, en Suisse, on a rarement construit d’une manière qui permette la déconstruction, c’est-à-dire le démontage d’un bâtiment en ses différents composants. La fin de vie d’un bâtiment reste généralement synonyme de démolition.
La troisième possibilité est le «recyclage», c’est-à-dire la remise à neuf et la réutilisation de certains composants de construction. C’est le béton qui est le plus avancé dans ce domaine. En Suisse notamment, l’utilisation du béton recyclé est bien établie, surtout dans la construction de bâtiments. Les objets en béton démolis sont pour cela retransformés en agrégats. Mélangé à du ciment frais, le matériau peut ainsi être utilisé comme un nouveau béton.
Une quatrième possibilité est la mise à niveau de composants existants. Les fenêtres en sont un bon exemple. L’idéal serait bien entendu de pouvoir simplement replacer une fenêtre démontée à un nouvel endroit. Mais la question se pose souvent de savoir si cela a vraiment un sens, en particulier pour les fenêtres, qui ont connu une grande évolution ces dernières années du point de vue énergétique. Dans de tels cas, il est possible d’améliorer une ancienne fenêtre avec peu de matériel et à un coût relativement faible en ajoutant un vitrage supplémentaire ou en remplaçant le gaz isolant entre les vitres.

Votre bien immobilier est certifié durable?

Contactez-nous et nous vérifierons si vous pouvez bénéficier d’une hypothèque «Green Mortgage» à taux préférentiel.

On entend parler du «zéro net» partout. La construction circulaire permet-elle réellement de construire une maison «zéro net»?

Peter Richner: Le cycle de vie d’un bâtiment commence par sa construction et se termine par sa déconstruction. Le zéro net est atteint lorsque le bâtiment ne modifie pas la concentration de CO2 dans l’atmosphère sur l’ensemble de son cycle de vie. Certains processus seront cependant toujours associés à des émissions de CO2. D’autres processus doivent donc récupérer le CO2 de l’atmosphère pour pouvoir atteindre un bilan de zéro net. L’une des possibilités est de construire en bois. Mais pour pouvoir compenser la combustion du bois qui entraîne également des émissions de CO2, le bois doit circuler pendant environ 100 ans dans le cycle de vie du matériau.

La pyrolyse des matériaux biogènes représente une autre option. Le carbone que les plantes ont extrait de l’air via la photosynthèse est récupéré sous forme solide et peut être utilisé comme additif dans le béton, comme matériau d’isolation ou dans la construction de routes. Les applications du domaine de la construction se prêtent particulièrement bien à ce type d’utilisation, car de très grandes quantités de matériaux sont déplacées et un effet de réduction correspondant peut être obtenu.

Outre le bois, quels sont les matériaux qui, selon vous, ont le plus de potentiel?

Peter Richner: Presque tous les matériaux ont le potentiel de faire partie du cycle de vie des matériaux. La technique d’assemblage est centrale ici. Dès que quelque chose est collé ou soudé, on a un problème, sauf si l’on peut réutiliser l’élément de construction dans son ensemble. Ainsi, on parle de «visser» et d’«emboîter» comme de techniques d’assemblage dans le contexte circulaire. Cela a été mis en œuvre de manière exemplaire dans l’unité UMAR que nous avons construite au NEST de l’Empa. Dans les deux salles de bains, on ne trouve ni joints en silicone, ni éléments collés ou soudés, et l’ensemble de l’unité pourrait à tout moment être démonté en pièces détachées réutilisables par deux personnes à l’aide d’une visseuse sans fil. Et c’est précisément le point essentiel de la construction circulaire: tout doit être construit de manière à pouvoir être démonté et tout doit être documenté de sorte que, dans 30 à 40 ans, on sache encore quels éléments de construction font partie de ce bâtiment afin de pouvoir continuer à planifier avec ces derniers. Si l’on considère les bâtiments comme des entrepôts temporaires de matériaux, il faut aussi un bon inventaire pour chaque bâtiment. Sans inventaire, un entrepôt ne sert à rien. Les outils de numérisation, qui se répandent désormais de plus en plus dans le secteur de la construction, contribuent à simplifier la documentation de ces processus.

À propos du Dr Peter Richner

En tant que directeur adjoint de l’Empa, le Dr Peter Richner est responsable de la stratégie de recherche dans le secteur de l’énergie et dirige le département «Sciences de l’ingénieur». La réduction de l’empreinte écologique d’un parc immobilier est au cœur de ses recherches. De 2014 à 2016, il a dirigé le Centre de compétences suisse pour la recherche énergétique (SCCER). En outre, le Dr Peter Richner est responsable du NEST, une plateforme de recherche et d’innovation unique en son genre qui encourage le développement et la validation de nouvelles solutions pour les bâtiments dans des conditions réelles.

Depuis juin 2020, M. Richner anime le podcast mensuel «NEST: Die Zukunft des Bauens» (l’avenir de la construction), dans lequel il discute de sujets d’actualité concernant le secteur de la construction avec des invités des mondes de l’industrie, de la science et de la politique.

Vous avez expliqué que la durabilité dans la construction joue un rôle dès la planification. La construction circulaire commence-t-elle donc dès la conception?

Peter Richner: Exactement, la construction circulaire n’est pas simplement un grand sujet de recherche; il s’agit en fait d’un thème décisif pour les planificatrices et planificateurs ainsi que pour les architectes. Il y a des domaines, comme la construction en bois, où des projets de recherche sont nécessaires pour découvrir comment optimiser le flux des forces dans de grandes structures malgré l’utilisation d’autres techniques d’assemblage. Mais pour de nombreux domaines, une telle recherche n’est pas nécessaire. Ici, il faut surtout faire appel à la créativité. La planification est peut-être encore un peu plus compliquée à l’heure actuelle, étant donné que les propriétaires et les locataires ne sont pas encore habitués à ces nouveaux concepts. En outre, il manque encore souvent des modèles d’entreprise adaptés. Imaginez que vous construisez une maison. Dans une optique d’économie circulaire, il serait préférable de ne pas acheter de nouvelles fenêtres, mais de les louer auprès du fabricant. Si la maison devait être déconstruite, l’entreprise concernée pourrait retirer les fenêtres et les installer dans un autre bâtiment. Beaucoup de personnes ne peuvent pas encore s’imaginer une telle chose aujourd’hui. Mais c’est de cette manière que naissent des opportunités commerciales et des offres entièrement nouvelles, qui ne seraient pas possibles sans la construction circulaire.

Où en sommes-nous actuellement en Suisse dans le domaine de l’économie circulaire dans la construction?

Peter Richner: Dans le domaine de l’économie circulaire, la Suisse compte quelques pionniers qui font fortement avancer cette évolution. On constate également qu’il y a beaucoup d’intérêt pour le sujet. De plus, bien qu’il existe différentes bourses des matériaux de construction, le marché des matériaux réutilisés est encore restreint et les composants ne sont disponibles qu’en petites quantités. Le problème, c’est que si nous voulons boucler la boucle, il faut une quantité raisonnable de matériaux à utiliser. Dans la construction, le problème est souvent que ces matériaux sont produits de manière très diffuse et que nous n’en avons tout simplement pas assez à disposition. Il est donc difficile, par exemple, d’équiper un bloc d’habitation de 40 fenêtres identiques. Le fait que l’accessibilité et la disponibilité du matériel ne soient pas encore particulièrement bonnes rend la recherche du matériel nécessaire très laborieuse et coûteuse. C’est à mon avis le plus grand défi à l’heure actuelle.

Vous êtes responsable du NEST, la plateforme de recherche, de démonstration et d’innovation de l’Empa, qui permet de faire de la recherche dans et sur un bâtiment réel et de développer de nouvelles solutions. Qu’est-ce qui caractérise le NEST?

Peter Richner: Le NEST est un lieu où la recherche et l’industrie se rencontrent et où les objets peuvent passer de l’échelle du laboratoire à l’échelle réelle, ce qui permet de faire des tests pour voir si tout fonctionne dans la réalité comme on le souhaite. Le changement d’échelle comporte toujours d’importants risques. Le NEST nous permet de faire des tests dans un cadre sécurisé. Mais les unités du NEST sont aussi des lieux de travail et de vie où l’on met à l’épreuve les systèmes développés.

En Suisse, la recherche est très forte et nous avons une grande industrie du bâtiment. Mais la vitesse d’innovation est à mon avis bien trop faible pour les grands défis auxquels nous sommes confrontés. C’est précisément dans cette accélération du rythme de l’innovation que NEST peut jouer un rôle important.

Il existe même un podcast NEST dont vous êtes l’animateur et qui est diffusé chaque mois. Quels sont les thèmes que vous abordez dans ce podcast?

Peter Richner: Le podcast s’appelle «NEST Podcast: Die Zukunft des Bauens» (l’avenir de la construction) et traite de l’innovation dans notre secteur. L’un des épisodes les plus récents a été enregistré avec le chercheur de l’Empa Mirko Kovac, qui s’intéresse au rôle des drones volants dans la construction ainsi que dans l’entretien et l’exploitation des bâtiments.

Pour le reste, le podcast traite souvent des raisons pour lesquelles nous progressons si lentement dans le domaine de l’économie circulaire, et pourquoi un tournant pourrait avoir lieu actuellement en raison d’événements malheureusement regrettables. Tout le monde s’inquiète soudain de savoir comment se passer du gaz et du pétrole russes. Seulement, les changements ne peuvent malheureusement se faire que lentement dans le domaine de l’immobilier. Au sein du NEST, nous avons développé ces dernières années différentes solutions qui peuvent désormais être appliquées. Le problème est toutefois que les artisans et les planificateurs nécessaires à une conversion rapide font défaut. Mais j’espère vraiment un changement au sein de la société.


Cet article a-t-il été utile?
Merci pour votre vote!


Plus d’articles sur ce thème


Prêt(e) pour la meilleure offre?


Restez au fait de l’actualité

Lisez régulièrement des articles passionnants et recevez des conseils utiles en lien avec l’achat d’une maison ou d’un appartement.

S’abonner à la newsletter key4

Ce site web utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience de navigation. Vous trouverez plus d’informations dans la déclaration de confidentialité. Vous pouvez modifier vos paramètres de cookies dans les paramètres de confidentialité. Accédez aux paramètres de confidentialité