Mortgage interest rates: what should you take into account?

Current mortgage interest rates: trends over the past few months

22.06.2020 | 3 minutes

As far as mortgages and general interest rate trends are concerned, Switzerland is experiencing what is no doubt a historically unique period. Over the past 30 years, interest rates have known almost only one direction: apart from a few swings, they have generally gone down. This means that financing your own home has become increasingly attractive since the 1990s.

The markets were disrupted firstly by the financial crisis of 2008, and secondly by the outbreak of the coronavirus crisis in 2020. Governments and central banks are currently trying to support companies and banks with aid packages worth billions. Interest rates rose sharply in the meantime, as some market participants attempted to cover their liquidity shortages by selling government bonds. However, this is likely to have been only a short-term phenomenon.

Mortgage interest rates: will the historic low continue?

Leading experts are debating longer-term interest rate trends. The key question is whether a global increase in national debt and aid programs could lead to inflation and hence to rising interest rates. Scientific publications such as “low for long” (low interest rates in the long term) or “low forever” suggest a longer phase with fundamentally low interest rates. Mortgage interest rates are therefore likely to remain at a very low level for some time yet.

View of the town of Interlaken.

A brief guide: mortgage interest rate trends

To put it simply, inflation or general inflation, economic development and the monetary policy of the Swiss National Bank (SNB) play a decisive role. If a bank anticipates inflation, this inflation rate is normally integrated into the interest rate. The SNB influences interest rates, and indirectly mortgage rates, via the key interest rate and the money supply.

The essential difference with Libor or SARON mortgages as an alternative is that the interest rate is variable. The interest rate is usually adjusted to the current market rate every three months. The interest rate charged to the client may vary from quarter to quarter.

Libor or SARON mortgages are the right choice if the client expects low interest rates. Generally speaking: in a “normal” interest rate environment, financing on a short-term basis is cheaper. For the simple reason that there are no costs for interest hedging. However, depending on mortgage interest rate trends, liquidity should be kept available in case mortgage interest rates rise. Ability and willingness to take risks are considered key prerequisites for financing on the basis of Libor or SARON. Anyone who opts for this type of financing should also closely follow mortgage interest rate trends.

A family is sitting in their living room.

Mortgage interest rates: the advantages of a fixed-rate mortgage

Fixed-rate mortgages, on the other hand, offer interest rate hedging. But each year added to the term involves extra cost. In the current interest rate environment, this extra cost is nonetheless historically favorable. There were phases in interest rate trends when the extra cost per year added to the term was 0.2 percent, for example. Today, however, the premium for each year of additional interest rate hedging is comparatively low.

Three conclusions can be drawn from this

  • As long as these conditions continue to shape interest rate trends in Switzerland, longer-term fixed-rate mortgages will remain very attractive.
  • The probability is relatively high that mortgage interest rates will develop moderately over the next few years. The interest rate on most mortgages remains historically favorable.
  • Anyone who decides on a longer-term interest rate today already knows how much they will have to pay in the coming years.

Mortgage interest rates: what role does the term play?

For most people, realizing their individual property dream is a major investment. Thus the desire for budget security and predictability often takes priority. These are good reasons for choosing a fixed-rate mortgage.

Anyone who prefers dynamic and flexible financing, on the other hand, should opt for a shorter mortgage term. A combination of several terms may of course also be possible, in line with the frequently quoted stock market rule: “Don’t put all your eggs in one basket.”

Living conditions must also be taken into account. If you are looking at a shorter or medium-term horizon or are considering selling your home, you should not conclude contracts with a term of eight or ten years. The unplanned cancellation of a long-term fixed-rate mortgage can be expensive under certain circumstances.

Mortgage interest rate forecasts

There will be no such thing as a mortgage at zero cost in Switzerland either. Banks make sure that interest rates cover the risks and costs. However, interest rates for acquiring residential property will most likely remain attractive for many years to come.


Cookies

This website uses cookies to ensure that you get the best experience on our website. For further information, please refer to the Privacy Statement. You can change the settings of your cookies in the Privacy Settings.

Change settings

Intérêts hypothécaires: que faut-il prendre en considération?

Les intérêts hypothécaires actuels: l’évolution des derniers mois

22.06.2020 | 3 minutes

En ce qui concerne les hypothèques et l’évolution générale des intérêts, la Suisse connaît probablement une période exceptionnelle d’un point de vue historique. Au cours des 30 dernières années, les intérêts n’ont connu qu’une seule tendance: à part quelques exceptions, ils étaient pour la plupart en baisse. Depuis les années 1990, le financement des biens immobiliers est devenu de plus en plus attractif.

D’abord la crise financière de 2008, puis la pandémie du coronavirus en 2020 ont bouleversé les marchés. Actuellement, les états et les instituts d’émission essaient de soutenir les entreprises et les banques avec des aides de plusieurs milliards. Entre-temps, les intérêts ont fortement augmenté car certains acteurs du marché ont couvert leur manque de liquidités en vendant des emprunts d’État. Toutefois, il est probable que ce phénomène reste de courte durée.

Intérêts hypothécaires: le niveau plancher historique se maintient-il?

D’éminents experts discutent de l’évolution à long terme des intérêts. La question clé est de savoir si l’augmentation globale de la dette publique et les programmes d’aide pourraient conduire à une inflation et donc à une hausse des intérêts. Des publications scientifiques, telles que «low for long» (intérêts bas à long terme) ou «low for ever», tendent vers une phase plus longue avec des intérêts fondamentalement bas. Les intérêts hypothécaires devraient donc rester à un niveau très bas pendant un certain temps encore.

Vue de la ville d’Interlaken.

En bref: évolution des intérêts hypothécaires

En d’autres termes, l’inflation ou le renchérissement général des prix, le développement économique et la politique monétaire de la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) jouent un rôle décisif. Si une banque prévoit une inflation, ce taux d’inflation est normalement inclus dans le calcul de l’intérêt. Pour sa part, la BNS influence les intérêts, et donc indirectement les taux hypothécaires par le biais du taux directeur et de la masse monétaire.

Les hypothèques Libor ou SARON, comme alternative, diffèrent essentiellement par le fait que l’intérêt est variable. Le taux d’intérêt est généralement adapté en fonction du taux d’intérêt du marché tous les trois mois. Le montant du taux d’intérêt facturé aux clients peut ainsi varier d’un trimestre à l’autre.

Les hypothèques Libor ou SARON sont un bon choix si le client s’attend généralement à des intérêts bas. Principe général: dans un paysage de taux d’intérêt «normal», les financements à court terme sont plus avantageux. Pour la simple raison qu’il n’y a pas de coûts pour la couverture des intérêts. Toutefois, en fonction de l’évolution des intérêts hypothécaires, il convient de garder des liquidités disponibles au cas où les intérêts hypothécaires augmenteraient. La capacité de risque et la disposition à assumer des risques sont considérées comme une condition préalable essentielle pour un financement sur la base du Libor ou du SARON. Toute personne qui le choisit doit également suivre de près l’évolution des intérêts hypothécaires.

Une famille est assise dans son salon.

Intérêts hypothécaires: les avantages d’une hypothèque fixe

Les hypothèques fixes, en revanche, offrent une couverture des intérêts. Mais chaque année supplémentaire entraîne une certaine majoration. Toutefois, dans le contexte actuel des intérêts, les majorations sont historiquement avantageuses. Plusieurs phases ont existé dans l’évolution des intérêts où les majorations par année supplémentaire étaient, par exemple, de 0,2%. Aujourd’hui, cependant, la prime pour chaque année de couverture supplémentaire des intérêts est relativement faible.

On peut en tirer trois conclusions

  • Tant que ces conditions continueront à influencer l’évolution des intérêts en Suisse, les hypothèques fixes à long terme resteront très intéressantes.
  • La probabilité est relativement élevée que les intérêts hypothécaires évoluent modérément dans les années à venir. Le taux d’intérêt de la plupart des hypothèques reste historiquement bas.
  • Quiconque opte aujourd’hui pour un intérêt à long terme sait déjà ce qu’il devra payer dans les années à venir.

Intérêts hypothécaires: quel rôle jouent les échéances?

Pour la plupart des gens, la réalisation de leur rêve immobilier individuel représente un investissement important. Par conséquent, le désir de sécurité et de prévisibilité budgétaires devient souvent prioritaire. Ces raisons pertinentes parlent en faveur des hypothèques fixes.

En revanche, ceux qui préfèrent un financement dynamique et flexible, optent pour des échéances d’hypothèque plus courtes. En fonction de la situation, une combinaison de plusieurs échéances est bien sûr également possible. Conformément à une règle du marché boursier, souvent citée: «Ne pas mettre tous ses œufs dans le même panier.»

Les conditions de vie doivent également être prises en compte. Si vous avez un horizon temporel à court ou moyen terme, ou si vous envisagez de vendre votre bien immobilier, vous ne devez pas conclure de contrats d’une durée de huit ou dix ans. Une résiliation imprévue d’une hypothèque fixe à long terme peut s’avérer être coûteuse dans certaines circonstances.

Prévision des intérêts hypothécaires

Il n’y aura pas non plus d’hypothèque à taux zéro en Suisse. Les banques s’assurent que les intérêts couvrent les risques et les coûts. Toutefois, l’intérêt pour votre bien immobilier restera très probablement avantageux pendant de nombreuses années.


Cookies

Ce site Internet utilise des cookies afin de vous garantir la meilleure expérience possible sur notre site. Vous trouverez de plus amples informations dans la politique de confidentialité. Vous pouvez modifier les paramètres de vos cookies dans les paramètres de confidentialité.

Modifier les paramètres