Early redemption penalty: Costs and alternatives | key4.ch

Early redemption penalty: How much does it cost to terminate a mortgage early?

© Getty Images
30.05.2021 | 6 minutes

Previously, the five-year fixed-rate mortgage was the most popular mortgage product in Switzerland. Today, the trend is moving towards mortgage terms of ten years or more. Many homebuyers are primarily concerned with playing it safe with their budget. Their main priority is a fixed interest rate, but what would happen if you needed to terminate the mortgage agreement unexpectedly?

Terminating a mortgage early

Sometimes life gets in the way of our best-laid plans. When faced with divorce or a move away for work-related reasons, the following question arises: “Can I terminate my mortgage early?”. The same is true for unexpected events and strokes of misfortune such as prolonged unemployment, serious illness, disability or the death of a partner.

“Early redemption penalty” (Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung) is the key term around which everything subsequently revolves. In mortgage agreements and general terms and conditions, certain rules of play apply in these scenarios because terminating or paying off a mortgage early ultimately poses some tricky questions. Are there provisions for this in the mortgage agreement? And if so, how quickly and under which conditions would a customer be released from the loan agreement?

Early redemption penalty – the basic facts

Since the bank originally refinanced the mortgage on a long-term basis, it is entitled, in accordance with established case law, to demand compensation in the event of the mortgage loan being terminated early. The exit costs are always based on the interest rate differential:

  • For example, the bank contractually guaranteed and refinanced a fixed-rate mortgage of CHF 500,000 at an interest rate of 1.2%. The capital procurement (Kapitalbeschaffung) and the interest rate guarantee (Zinsgarantie) involve a great deal of expense and administrative effort on the part of the bank.
  • If, contrary to the agreement, a mortgage is paid off early, the investment interest revenue is lower. In this current environment of extremely low interest rates, even a reinvestment interest rate (Wiederanlagezins) of 0% or less would be conceivable (i.e. an environment with negative interest rates).
A father is painting the walls with his son.
© Getty Images

Terminating a mortgage – three factors

The early redemption penalty essentially depends on three factors:

  • The mortgage amount already repaid
  • The interest rate difference between the contractual mortgage interest rate and the interest rate revenue on the money and capital market (reinvestment interest rate)
  • The remaining contractual term

In individual cases, it is not easy to calculate the early redemption penalty to which the bank is entitled. Specifically, it depends on the wording of the respective mortgage agreement and the general terms and conditions. Often, in practice, only experts can assess what the realistic reinvestment rate might be on any given date.

The situation becomes even more complex if a borrower wishes to pay off or terminate several tranches with different terms early.

The standard industry practice of compensation applies regardless of what prompted the customer to terminate the mortgage early. Sometimes, the desire to pay off a mortgage early arises because interest rates have fallen since the agreement was signed. In these cases, property owners should only pay off the existing mortgage if the interest savings will exceed the early redemption penalty. Key4 can advise homeowners who are thinking about paying off their mortgage early and provide support every step of the way. Learn more about switching options here.

Compensation for SARON mortgages

The principle whereby banks must receive compensation for refinancing and lost interest also applies to SARON mortgages. However, these products are much more flexible in this regard. Consequently, the customer has the right to switch from a SARON mortgage to a fixed-rate mortgage from the same provider at all times, and to do so free of charge.

Incidentally, the SARON mortgage from key4 is subject to a 13-month notice period. If a customer wants to pay off or terminate the mortgage within an even shorter period of time, they must pay compensation in accordance with the aforementioned rules, the only difference being that, for this comparatively short remaining term, the outstanding amount is usually not too high. If flexibility is important to you, you should incorporate SARON mortgages into your strategy.

Early redemption penalty – examining alternatives

In recent years, fixed-rate mortgages with long fixed interest rates have proven to be extremely popular. The vast majority of customers wants to secure their budget with low-cost fixed-rate mortgages for as long as possible. However, in the case of very long-term agreements, the early redemption penalty could be correspondingly high. Nonetheless, the following constructive solutions are available in real life:

Solution 1: Transfer the mortgage to another owner

If a homeowner is forced to sell after a divorce, for example, it may be worth talking to the future owner. Instead of terminating the mortgage early, it may be possible to transfer the mortgage to the buyer. Of course, both the future owner and the bank must agree to this. If the mortgage in question has a higher interest rate than current mortgage offers, it would be fair to negotiate compensation in this case.

Solution 2: Transfer the mortgage to another property

A second alternative is to transfer the mortgage to another property. Let’s assume a property owner is moving from Basel to St. Gallen for work reasons and acquires another residential property in their new place of residence. The mortgage “moves” too. This scenario is not so simple from an administrative and legal perspective, for example, issuing promissory notes (Schuldbriefe). In principle, however, it is a good idea to negotiate with the bank on transferring the mortgage to your new home.

Solution 3: Adjust the early redemption penalty

Can the early redemption penalty be negotiated? Perhaps, but all lawyers unanimously agree on the binding force of an agreement (pacta sunt servanda). In practice, the bank will take individual circumstances into consideration. For example, it makes a difference whether follow-up financing after this extraordinary termination (ausserordentliche Kündigung) will be with the same bank or not. The bank must also take cases of exceptional hardship into consideration.

Three people seated together in a room examining documents
© Getty Images

Early redemption penalty partly tax-deductible

Finally, the question arises as to whether an early redemption penalty is deductible from taxable income in the same way as interest on debt. Reminder: Under Swiss tax law, every homeowner is entitled to deduct private debt interest (including mortgage interest) from their taxable income, up to the amount of property income plus CHF 50,000.

In legal terms, however, it would be too simple to just add an early redemption penalty to the debt interest. According to a landmark federal court ruling, the early redemption penalty is only deductible if the customer takes out a new mortgage with the same bank. In other words, there must be a connection with the original mortgage.

It is a different scenario if a customer terminates a mortgage because they wish to sell the house unencumbered (i.e. without a continuing mortgage). According to case law, the early redemption penalty is not deductible from income in this case. However, these costs are considered as an expense by the owner and are therefore included in the investment costs, which, in turn, may be deducted when calculating any taxable gain on the property.

Conclusion: Consider the early redemption penalty from the outset

To sum up, when signing a mortgage agreement, homebuyers should give some thought to various aspects of the agreement and find the most suitable solution for them. In addition to the interest costs alone, this also includes the general terms and conditions of the agreement and, in particular, any provisions in relation to extraordinary termination. In other words, if you deal with the issue of an early redemption penalty in advance of taking out a mortgage, you won’t be unpleasantly surprised later if the worst comes to the worst.


Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your vote!


More articles on the topic


Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung: Kosten, Alternativen | key4.ch

Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung: Was kostet das vorzeitige Auflösen einer Hypothek?

© Getty Images
30.05.2021 | 6 Minuten

Früher war die fünfjährige Festhypothek des Schweizers liebste Hypothek. Heute geht der Trend sogar zu Laufzeiten von zehn Jahren oder mehr. Vielen Immobilienkäufern liegt in erster Linie daran, dass sie beim Budget auf Nummer sicher gehen. Hauptsache, der Zins ist fix. Fragt sich bloss: Was wäre, wenn der Vertrag unplanmässig aufgelöst werden muss?

Die Hypothek vorzeitig auflösen

Manchmal treten nun einmal Ereignisse ein, die die Pläne durchkreuzen. Bei einer Scheidung oder bei einem beruflich bedingten Wegzug stellt sich die Frage: «Kann ich die Hypothek vorzeitig kündigen?» Dasselbe gilt bei unerwarteten Ereignissen und Schicksalsschlägen, etwa bei längerer Arbeitslosigkeit, bei schwerer Krankheit, Invalidität oder dem Tod eines Partners.

«Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung» heisst der zentrale Fachbegriff, um den sich in der Folge alles dreht. Die Verträge und Geschäftsbedingungen sehen für diesen Fall meist gewisse Spielregeln vor. Denn soll eine Hypothek gekündigt bzw. vorzeitig abgelöst werden, wirft das einige knifflige Fragen auf. Ist dies vertraglich überhaupt vorgesehen? Und wenn ja, wie schnell und zu welchen Konditionen wäre ein Kunde aus dem Kreditvertrag entlassen?

Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung: Die Grundlagen

Weil die Bank die Hypothek langfristig refinanziert hat, darf sie laut der gängigen Rechtsprechung bei vorzeitiger Auflösung des Kredits eine Entschädigung verlangen. Die Höhe der Ausstiegskosten hat immer etwas mit einer Zinsdifferenz zu tun:

  • Die Bank hat zum Beispiel eine Hypothek über 500 000 Franken als Festhypothek bei einem Zins von 1,2 Prozent vertraglich zugesichert und refinanziert. Die Kapitalbeschaffung und auch die Zinsgarantie sind für jede Bank mit Aufwand und Kosten verbunden.
  • Wenn das Geld entgegen der vertraglichen Vereinbarung vorzeitig zurückgezahlt wird, fällt der noch realisierbare Anlagezins tiefer aus. Im aktuellen Umfeld mit extrem tiefen Zinsen wäre sogar ein so genannter Wiederanlagezins von 0 Prozent oder noch weniger denkbar (Umfeld mit negativen Zinsen).
Ein Vater arbeitet mit seinem Sohn in einem unfertigen Zimmer an den Wänden.
© Getty Images

Hypothek auflösen: Drei Komponenten

Die Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung hängt im Wesentlichen von drei Komponenten ab:

  • Der Höhe der zurückbezahlten Hypothek
  • Der Zinsdifferenz zwischen dem vertraglichen Hypothekarzins und dem aktuell noch realisierbaren Zinssatz am Geld- und Kapitalmarkt (Wiederanlagezins)
  • Der verbleibenden vertraglichen Laufzeit

Im konkreten Einzelfall ist die Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung, auf die die Bank ein Anrecht hat, nicht einfach herzuleiten. Im Einzelnen kommt es auf den Wortlaut im jeweiligen Vertrag und auf die Geschäftsbedingungen an. Und in der Praxis können oft nur Fachleute beurteilen, was an einem bestimmten Stichtag der realistische Wiederanlagezins sein könnte.

Erst recht komplex wird es, wenn ein Kreditnehmer mehrere Tranchen mit unterschiedlichen Laufzeiten vorzeitig ab- oder auflösen möchte.

Die branchenübliche Praxis einer Entschädigung gilt ganz unabhängig davon, welches für den Kunden der konkrete Auslöser ist. Manchmal kommt der Wunsch nach einer Ablösung auf, weil seit Vertragsabschluss die Zinsen gesunken sind. In diesen Fällen sollten Immobilienbesitzer die bestehende Hypothek nur ablösen, wenn die erzielten Zinseinsparungen mehr ausmachen als die Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung. Key4 berät Eigenheimbesitzer, die über eine Ablösung nachdenken und unterstützt sie dabei Schritt für Schritt. Hier erfahren Sie mehr zu den Wechselmöglichkeiten.

Entschädigung bei SARON-Hypotheken

Auch für eine SARON-Hypothek gilt der Grundsatz, dass die Bank für die Refinanzierung und entgangene Zinsen entschädigt werden muss. Diese Produkte sind unter diesem Aspekt aber wesentlich flexibler. So hat der Kunde jederzeit das Recht, von einer SARON-Hypothek in eine Festhypothek des gleichen Anbieters zu wechseln – und zwar kostenlos.

Im Übrigen gilt für die SARON-Hypothek von key4 eine 13-monatige Kündigungsfrist. Will der Kunde die Hypothek innerhalb noch kürzeren Frist ablösen bzw. kündigen, muss er nach den gleichen Regeln wie oben beschrieben Schadenersatz leisten – nur mit dem Unterschied, dass bei dieser vergleichsweise kurzen Restlaufzeit der Betrag meist nicht allzu hoch ausfällt. Wem in hohem Mass Flexibilität wichtig ist, sollte SARON-Hypotheken in die Strategie einbeziehen.

Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung: Alternativen prüfen

In den letzten Jahren haben sich Festhypotheken mit langer Zinsbindung als ausgesprochen populär erwiesen. Die weitaus meisten Kundinnen und Kunden wollen Ihr Budget so lange als nur möglich mit günstigen Festhypotheken absichern. Doch gerade bei sehr langjährigen Verträgen könnte die Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung entsprechend hoch ausfallen. Aus der Praxis sind allerdings auch konstruktive Lösungen bekannt.

Lösung 1: Übertragung der Hypothek auf einen anderen Eigentümer

Wenn ein Eigenheimbesitzer zum Beispiel nach einer Scheidung zum Verkauf gezwungen ist, lohnt sich das Gespräch mit dem künftigen Eigentümer. Anstatt die Hypothek vorzeitig aufzulösen, wäre eine Übertragung auf den Käufer möglich. Voraussetzung ist natürlich, dass sowohl der künftige Eigentümer als auch die Bank einverstanden sind. Sollte die fragliche Hypothek höheren Zinssatz ausweisen als aktuelle Angebote, müsste fairerweise über eine Ausgleichszahlung verhandelt werden.

Lösung 2: Übertragung der Hypothek auf ein anderes Objekt

Ein zweiter Ausweg ist die Übertragung auf ein Ersatzobjekt. Nehmen wir an, ein Immobilienbesitzer zieht beruflich bedingt von Basel nach St. Gallen. Am neuen Wohnort erwirbt er wieder Wohneigentum. Dann «zügelt» die Hypothek mit ihm. Der Fall ist zwar administrativ und rechtlich nicht ganz einfach (aushändigen von Schuldbriefen etc.). Aber grundsätzlich bietet es sich an, mit der Bank über eine Übertragung der Hypothek auf Ihr neues Eigenheim zu verhandeln.

Lösung 3: Anpassung der Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung

Ist die Höhe der Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung verhandelbar? Jein. «Pacta sunt servanda», sagen übereinstimmend alle Juristen. Verträge sind einzuhalten. In der Praxis wird die Bank die individuellen Umstände berücksichtigen. So macht es einen Unterschied, ob der ausserordentlichen Kündigung eine Anschlussfinanzierung bei der gleichen Bank folgt oder nicht. Und ob es sich um einen aussergewöhnlichen Härtefall handelt, muss ebenfalls in Bezug auf den konkreten Fall erwogen werden.

Drei Personen sitzen in einem Raum und prüfen Dokumente
© Getty Images

Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung teils steuerlich absetzbar

Schliesslich stellt sich noch die Frage, ob eine Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung analog wie die Schuldzinsen beim steuerbaren Einkommen zum Abzug zugelassen ist. Zur Erinnerung: Nach dem Schweizer Steuerrecht ist jeder Wohneigentümer berechtigt, private Schuldzinsen (inklusive Hypothekarzinsen) von seinen steuerbaren Einkünften abzuziehen, und zwar bis zur Höhe der Vermögenserträge plus 50 000 Franken.

Nun wäre es aber rechtlich zu einfach, eine Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung ganz einfach bei den Schuldzinsen hinzuzurechnen. Nach einem wegweisenden Bundesgerichtsurteil ist die Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung nur dann abziehbar, wenn der Kunde bei der gleichen Bank erneut eine Hypothek abschliesst. Es muss also ein Konnex mit der ursprünglichen Hypothek gegeben sein.

Noch einmal anders liegt der Fall, wenn ein Kunde eine Hypothek auflöst, weil er das Haus unbelastet verkaufen will (d.h. ohne weiterlaufende Hypothek). In diesem Fall ist zwar die Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung nach der Rechtsprechung ebenfalls nicht vom Einkommen abziehbar. Diese Kosten gelten aber quasi als Aufwand des Eigentümers und zählen zu den Anlagekosten. Und diese wiederum dürfen bei der Berechnung eines allfälligen, steuerbaren Grundstückgewinns abgezogen werden.

Fazit: Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung von Anfang an berücksichtigen

Fassen wir zusammen: Bei jedem Abschluss eines Hypothekarvertrags sollten Immobilienkäufer verschiedene Aspekte prüfen und die für sie passende Lösung finden. Dazu zählen nebst den reinen Zinskosten auch die Vertragsbedingungen und insbesondere die Bestimmungen unter dem Titel «ausserordentliche Kündigung». Wer sich also schon vor dem Abschluss der Hypothek mit dem Thema Vorfälligkeitsentschädigung auseinander setzt, kann im Fall der Fälle später nicht unangenehm überrascht werden.


War dieser Artikel hilfreich?
Vielen Dank für Ihre Stimme!

Lesen Sie mehr über


Weitere Artikel zum Thema


Bereit für das beste Angebot?


Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden

Lesen Sie regelmässig spannende Beiträge und erhalten Sie hilfreiche Tipps rund um den Haus- und Wohnungskauf.

key4-Newsletter abonnieren

Wir verwenden Cookies, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie die beste Erfahrung auf unserer Website erhalten. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Datenschutzerklärung. Sie können die Einstellungen Ihrer Cookies in den Datenschutzeinstellungen ändern. Zu den Datenschutzeinstellungen