Home ownership dream: 5 key questions & answers | key4.ch

The dream of home ownership: 5 key questions & answers

© Getty Images
17.12.2020 | 2 minutes

Purchasing property – whether a single-family house or an apartment – is a project that involves many decisions and substantial investments. With so many unanswered questions, you can soon become disheartened. As an initial guide, we summarize the most important frequently asked questions and answers in this article.

1. Rent or buy?

Anyone living in a rented apartment knows that making major changes is only possible to a limited extent, or always requires permission from the landlord. It is of course still possible to put a shelf up on the wall and to paint the living room a different color, but the basic structure of the apartment must not be altered. In addition, any modifications you make, such as painting the walls, drilling holes or integrating cat flaps must be undone when you move out.

The situation is completely different if the property actually belongs to you: you are free to design everything in any way you like, providing you observe the applicable building regulations – and, in the case of condominiums, the regulations of the condominium owners’ association. This gives you long planning reliability because it is more difficult for either party to terminate the living arrangements.

The advantages at a glance

  • High quality of life – it simply feels good to live in your own house
  • Good provision for old age
  • Potential tax advantages
  • Home ownership as a financial investment (possible increase in value depending on location and property)
  • Ability to benefit from low mortgage interest rates

In addition to the differences in quality of life and design options mentioned above, the difference between living in your own property or in rented accommodation naturally entails other obligations in terms of running costs.

And here too, you might assume that the average costs incurred for maintaining your own home are much higher than those for a comparable rented property. However, since interest rates are currently so low, it is usually the other way around: the average monthly charges are lower for property owners than for tenants. It should be pointed out that the trend is now reversing – especially in exclusive locations. Renting houses and apartments is becoming increasingly cheaper while residential property prices are on the rise.

Bird’s eye view of Zurich and the Limmat.
© Getty Images

2. Which should you buy, a house or an apartment?

A house usually has more floor space and more stories than an apartment – so it follows that a house must be more expensive to buy. Or is it? The purchase price of apartments has risen so much in recent years that single-family houses are now cheaper per square meter. Consequently, the total investment depends mainly on the living area of the property in question. Apartments are only cheaper overall if they have fewer square meters than a house.

Ultimately, the choice between a house or an apartment no longer depends mainly on the budget, but above all on the buyer’s personal preference. An apartment is more likely to be worth considering for future owners who feel more comfortable in an urban environment than in a rural or suburban one.

3. Build or buy?

Many people dream of building their own house instead of buying one. The idea of being able to design everything from scratch according to their own wishes and ideas is part of the dream of building a new property. But only very few people today have the choice between buying and building. In Switzerland, building land is scarce and expensive, especially in central locations. Nevertheless, you don’t have to completely abandon the idea of your own dream home: even if you “only” buy a property, you can still help shape and determine its design. If you purchase your home off plan or convert a house or apartment, it is possible to customize it to your needs.

4. What can I afford?

Many potential buyers begin pursuing the dream of owning their own home by looking for information about properties currently being advertised on real estate portals, websites or in real estate agency windows. Not infrequently, they pick their first favorite at this stage. An initial calculation of an approximate mortgage interest rate makes the purchase of a house seem within reach – after all, the interest rate calculated is lower than the rent they are currently paying. It is not uncommon for them to have a rude awakening – namely when they take a closer look at the bill and realize that their annual income is too low or their equity insufficient.

To avoid disappointment, instead of asking “Can I afford my dream house?”, the question to be clarified in advance by prospective buyers should be: “What is the maximum price I can afford?”. This can easily be checked using the key4 purchase price calculator.

The basic rules are:

  • The desired property should not cost more than five times your annual gross income.
  • Buyers should have freely available equity that amounts to at least 20 percent of the property value. Only half of this may be obtained from their pension fund. The remaining 80 percent can be financed by a mortgage.

Here is an overview of what counts as equity:

  • Own assets: savings in accounts, cash, securities
  • Pension assets: advance withdrawals from pillar 2 or pillar 3a
  • Family assistance: gifts, advance inheritance, loans

Affordability calculation

A further factor in determining whether or not a property can be financed is known as affordability. This indicates the ratio between the cost of the property and your income. The costs consist mainly of mortgage interest, amortization payments, maintenance costs and incidental expenses.
The higher the costs and the lower your income, the greater the burden on your annual income in order to cover the financing of your home. This figure is often expressed as a percentage and should be as low as possible. You can find more information about affordability here.

A man and a woman are concentrating on documents that the man is holding in his hands; kitchen shelves are visible in the background.
© Getty Images

5. Which mortgage from which provider?

Nowadays, it is not only banks that offer mortgages, but also insurance companies and pension funds – some even do so online. This increasing competition and the wider variety of offers is certainly positive for prospective buyers. On the other hand, as a client you can soon lose track due to the large number of contact persons and different offers. With key4 it is possible to obtain several offers from different providers in just one click. This creates transparency, and advisory sessions by phone help clients decide on the most suitable offer. It is essential to consider the following points:

Mortgage models

Fixed-rate mortgage or SARON mortgage? Here are the main differences between the two mortgage models:

  • Fixed-rate mortgage: the most characteristic features are predictability and security. This is because the interest rate remains the same over the fixed term. The borrower benefits if interest rates rise during this period.
  • SARON: the SARON mortgage has a variable interest rate and an unlimited term. The interest rate depends on the SARON (Swiss Average Rate Overnight). This is calculated on the basis of completed transactions in the Swiss money market. The key4 SARON mortgage is particularly suitable for people who follow events on the money and capital markets and can cope financially with short-term rises in interest rates.

Breakdown of the mortgage

It is possible to split a mortgage into several tranches with different terms. This allows the borrower to minimize the interest rate risk. This is because it may not be necessary to refinance the entire mortgage at a higher interest rate level, but only one tranche. At key4, it’s even possible to combine tranches from different providers, allowing borrowers to benefit from particularly favorable conditions.

Mortgage terms

The term of a fixed-rate mortgage can usually be anything up to ten years. At key4, fixed-rate mortgages of up to 15 years are available. In general, the longer the term, the higher the interest rate charged to the borrower. This is because they are more or less paying for a safety margin in relation to the interest rate guarantee granted by the lender.

Conclusion: fulfilling the dream of owning your own home

Even if the many unanswered questions about buying your own home may seem daunting at first glance, it is definitely worth addressing them. After all, as well as benefiting from the financial advantages of owning your own house or apartment, you will feel good about having a safe home that you can design just the way you want.

Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your vote!


More articles on the topic


Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Logement en propriété: 5 questions et réponses | key4.ch

Logement en propriété: 5 questions et réponses

© Getty Images
17.12.2020 | 2 minutes

L’achat d’un bien immobilier – qu’il s’agisse d’une maison individuelle ou d’un appartement en copropriété – est un projet qui implique de nombreuses décisions et des investissements élevés. Toutes ces questions peuvent rapidement vous décourager de franchir le pas. Dans cet article, nous avons donc compilé les questions ainsi que les réponses les plus fréquentes et les plus importantes en guise de première orientation.

1. Louer ou acheter?

Les résidents d’un appartement en location savent que des changements majeurs dans leurs quatre murs ne sont possibles que dans une mesure limitée, ou nécessitent toujours l’accord du propriétaire. Il est, bien sûr, possible d’installer une étagère murale et de peindre le salon dans une couleur différente, mais la structure de base de l’appartement ne doit pas être changée. En outre, toutes les modifications apportées, telles que la couleur des murs, les trous de chevilles ou les chatières, doivent être corrigées ou retirées lors du déménagement.

En tant que propriétaire, la situation est totalement différente: on est entièrement libre de concevoir son logement selon ses propres souhaits, à condition de respecter les règlements de construction – ainsi que, dans le cas des appartements en copropriété, les règlements de la communauté de copropriétaires. On dispose, par ailleurs, d’une sécurité de planification à long terme, car personne ne peut rompre le bail.

Les avantages en un coup d’œil

  • Qualité de vie élevée – il est tout simplement agréable de vivre dans sa propre maison
  • Bonne prévoyance à un âge avancé
  • Avantages fiscaux possibles
  • Logement en propriété comme placement (augmentation possible de la valeur en fonction de l’emplacement et du bien immobilier)
  • Profiter des faibles intérêts hypothécaires

Outre les différences de qualité de vie et de conception décrites ci-dessus, vivre dans un logement en propriété ou dans un logement loué entraîne naturellement d’autres exigences en termes de frais courants.

Ici aussi, on pourrait avoir tendance à penser que les coûts moyens d’un logement en propriété sont sensiblement plus élevés que les coûts de location d’un bien comparable. En raison des faibles taux d’intérêt actuels, c’est pourtant généralement l’inverse: les charges mensuelles sont en moyenne moins élevées pour les propriétaires que pour les locataires. Cependant, la tendance est actuellement en train de s’inverser – surtout dans les emplacements exclusifs. La location de maisons et d’appartements est de moins en moins chère par rapport à la hausse des prix de l’immobilier résidentiel.

Vue en plongée de Zurich et de la Limmat.
© Getty Images

2. Acheter une maison ou un appartement?

Une maison présente généralement une surface plus importante et un plus grand nombre d’étages qu’un appartement en copropriété – elle devrait donc être plus chère à l’achat. Non? Le prix d’achat des appartements en copropriété a tellement augmenté ces dernières années que les maisons individuelles sont aujourd’hui moins chères au mètre carré. Par conséquent, l’investissement total dépend principalement de la surface habitable du bien immobilier concerné. Les appartements en copropriété ne sont globalement moins chers que s’ils ont moins de mètres carrés qu’une maison.

En fin de compte, la décision d’acheter une maison ou un appartement ne dépend donc plus en première ligne du budget, mais plutôt du choix de l’acheteur. Pour les futurs propriétaires qui se sentent davantage à l’aise dans un environnement urbain que rural ou suburbain, un logement en copropriété constitue ainsi une option plus intéressante.

3. Construire ou acheter?

Beaucoup rêvent de construire leur propre maison au lieu d’en acheter une. Ce souhait est basé sur l’idée de pouvoir tout concevoir de A à Z selon ses propres idées. Toutefois, de nos jours, rares sont les personnes à avoir le choix entre acheter et construire. En Suisse, les terrains à bâtir, surtout dans les régions centrales, sont rares et onéreux. Cela ne signifie pas pour autant qu’il faille renoncer au logement de ses rêves: en effet, les personnes qui se «contentent» d’acheter peuvent participer à la conception et à la prise de décision. Avec un achat sur plan ou une transformation, la maison ou l’appartement peut être adapté(e) en fonction des besoins de chacun.

4. Que puis-je me permettre?

De nombreux acheteurs potentiels commencent leur rêve de logement en propriété en consultant les annonces de biens immobiliers sur des portails immobiliers, des sites Internet ou des affiches dans les agences immobilières. Il en résulte souvent un premier favori. Un premier calcul d’un taux d’intérêt hypothécaire approximatif donne l’impression que l’achat d’une maison est à portée de main – après tout, l’intérêt ainsi calculé est inférieur au loyer actuellement dû. Il n’est pas rare qu’un réveil brutal se produise ensuite – lorsque l’on examine de plus près la facture et que l’on constate que les revenus annuels ou que les fonds propres sont trop faibles.

Pour éviter toute déception, la question ne doit donc pas être «Puis-je m’offrir la maison de mes rêves». Mieux vaut clarifier à l’avance le point suivant: «Que puis-je me permettre au maximum?» Cela peut être facilement vérifié grâce au calculateur de prix d’achat key4.

Voici la règle d’or:

  • Le bien souhaité ne doit pas coûter plus de cinq fois le revenu annuel brut.
  • La partie intéressée doit disposer de fonds propres librement disponibles d’au moins 20% de la valeur du bien. Seule la moitié de cette somme peut être prélevée sur la caisse de pension. Les 80% restants peuvent être financés par une hypothèque.

Voici un aperçu de ce en quoi pourraient consister les fonds propres:

  • Patrimoine personnel: épargnes sur les comptes, espèces, titres
  • Capitaux de prévoyance: versement anticipé du 2e pilier ou du pilier 3a
  • Soutien de la famille: dons, avance sur héritage, prêts

Calculer la capacité financière

La capacité financière est un autre indice permettant de déterminer si un bien immobilier peut être financé ou non. Celle-ci indique le rapport entre le coût du bien immobilier et ses propres revenus. Les coûts se composent essentiellement des intérêts hypothécaires, des amortissements et des frais d’entretien et annexes.

Plus les coûts sont élevés et plus les revenus sont faibles, plus la charge sur le propre revenu annuel pour couvrir le financement du logement en propriété est élevée. Cette valeur est souvent donnée en pourcentage et doit donc être aussi basse que possible. Vous trouverez, ici, davantage d’informations au sujet de la capacité financière.

Ein Mann und eine Frau betrachten konzentriert Unterlagen, die der Mann in den Händen hält. Im Hintergrund sind Regale einer Küche zu sehen.
© Getty Images

5. Quelle hypothèque de quel fournisseur?

Nicht nur Bae nos jours, non seulement les banques, mais aussi les compagnies d’assurance et les caisses de pension proposent des hypothèques – certains même en ligne. Cette concurrence croissante et la variété des offres ont des effets positifs pour les parties intéressées. En tant que client, on peut toutefois rapidement perdre le fil en raison des nombreux interlocuteurs et des différentes offres. Chez key4, il est possible d’obtenir plusieurs offres de différents fournisseurs en un seul clic. Cela crée de la transparence, et le conseil à la clientèle par téléphone aide les clients à choisir l’offre qui leur convient le mieux. Les points suivants sont, ici, déterminants.

Modèles hypothécaires

Hypothèque fixe ou hypothèque SARON – voici les principales différences entre les deux modèles hypothécaires.

  • Hypothèque fixe: les principales caractéristiques sont la prévisibilité et la sécurité. En effet, le taux d’intérêt reste le même pendant toute la durée déterminée. Cela est surtout intéressant pour l’emprunteur lorsque les intérêts augmentent pendant cette période.
  • SARON: L’hypothèque SARON a un taux d’intérêt variable et une durée indéterminée. Cela signifie que le taux d’intérêt est basé sur le SARON (Swiss Average Rate Overnight). Ce dernier est calculé sur la base des transactions effectuées sur le marché monétaire suisse. L’hypothèque key4 SARON est avant tout adaptée aux personnes qui suivent les événements sur le marché monétaire et le marché des capitaux, et qui sont en mesure de supporter financièrement des hausses de taux d’intérêt à court terme.

Composition de l’hypothèque

Il est possible de diviser une hypothèque en plusieurs tranches de durée différente. L’emprunteur minimise, de cette façon, le risque d’intérêt. En effet, cela permet de ne pas devoir renouveler l’intégralité de l’hypothèque à un niveau d’intérêt plus élevé, mais seulement une tranche. Chez key4, il est même possible de combiner des tranches de différents fournisseurs, ce qui permet de bénéficier de conditions particulièrement favorables.

Durée de l’hypothèque

La durée d’une hypothèque fixe est généralement de dix ans au maximum, mais key4 permet des hypothèques fixes d’une durée maximale de 15 ans. Il est courant que le taux d’intérêt pour l’emprunteur progresse avec l’augmentation de la durée. En effet, il paie pour ainsi dire une marge de sécurité pour la garantie de taux d’intérêt qui lui a été promise.

Conclusion: réaliser son rêve de logement en propriété

Même si les nombreuses questions sans réponse concernant l’achat d’un logement en propriété peuvent sembler décourageantes à première vue, cela vaut dans tous les cas la peine de les examiner. Après tout, cela permet non seulement de bénéficier des avantages financiers liés au fait d’avoir sa maison ou son appartement à soi, mais aussi de vivre avec le sentiment agréable d’avoir un logement sûr que l’on peut concevoir selon ses propres souhaits.

Cet article a-t-il été utile?
Merci pour votre vote!


Plus d’articles sur ce thème


Prêt(e) pour la meilleure offre?


Restez au fait de l’actualité

Lisez régulièrement des articles passionnants et recevez des conseils utiles en lien avec l’achat d’une maison ou d’un appartement.

S’abonner à la newsletter key4

Ce site web utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience de navigation. Vous trouverez plus d’informations dans la déclaration de confidentialité. Vous pouvez modifier vos paramètres de cookies dans les paramètres de confidentialité. Accédez aux paramètres de confidentialité