Real estate: should you rent or buy? | key4.ch

Which is better – to rent or buy a property?

@Getty Images
23.02.2022 | 6 minutes

Many people would love to own their own home, often due to the sense of comfort and long-term security it gives them, as well as the ability to really make the place their own. But what are the more rational, financial reasons for doing so?

Rising real estate prices

Property is generally considered to be a safe investment. Currently, low mortgage interest rates make real estate an attractive investment and the Swiss real estate market is very stable. Property prices have risen sharply in recent years and homeowners have benefited from an increase in the value of their homes.

This trend is expected to continue, especially due to continued low mortgage interest rates. Other factors in favour of further price rises are a lack of investment alternatives and the impact of the Coronavirus pandemic on personal living requirements.

Have you decided to buy?

Here you’ll find exactly the right mortgage for you.

Real estate is better than a savings account

It’s clear that savings accounts are currently paying zero interest. And experts say this is unlikely to change over the next few years. This means that you cannot earn money on a conventional savings account.

The math is quite simple: If a savings account pays 0.3% interest but inflation is running at 1%, your savings are losing 0.7% of their value every year. The picture is not much better for other reliable investments that are not high risk, such as fixed-term deposits. Even government or corporate bonds only yield returns if there are price gains during the holding period. This is why, in the current climate, real estate is considered a sensible investment option.

Real estate – the perfect pension plan

Real estate has long been one of the most popular retirement investments in Switzerland. This is because pension income from the AHV and a pension fund are usually not enough to maintain the same standard of living in retirement. One of the most common misconceptions concerns the amount of mortgage debt remaining in retirement. Most people want the smallest possible mortgage in retirement but underestimate their expenses after they stop working. The mortgage debt should only be amortized to the extent necessary to ensure affordability while still providing for sufficient liquidity.

Pillar 2 is also under pressure due to higher life expectancy and low interest rates, meaning the minimum interest rate on pension savings is likely to fall. Private retirement savings in pillar 3 are also suffering from low interest rates.

A woman with gray hair waters her garden.
@Getty Images

Which makes most financial sense – to buy or to rent?

Whether it makes more sense to buy or to rent can be assessed using a simplified calculation:

Suppose your monthly rental costs are CHF 1,500, i.e., just under CHF 20,000 a year. And let’s also assume that an equivalent apartment would cost CHF 500,000 to buy.The lending criteria of financial institutions stipulate that at least 20 percent of the property value, i.e., CHF 100,000 must be financed using your own funds. It is important to remember that this money would then be firmly tied up in the property, reducing your overall liquidity. In other words, you could not earn money on this capital by investing it elsewhere.

You take out a mortgage for the remaining CHF 400,000. With an interest rate of 1.00 percent, your monthly interest costs will be CHF 333. In addition, you’ll need to budget 1.00 percent of the property value for maintenance and ancillary costs, i.e., CHF 416. Interest, maintenance and ancillary costs amount to approximately CHF 750.

We now turn to the amortisation. A mortgage debt must be repaid to two-thirds of the purchase price after 15 years or before you retire, whichever comes sooner. In this example, CHF 371 would go towards the amortization. This means the total monthly costs are now CHF 1,121 – CHF 379 a month lower than if you were to rent. This calculation is somewhat simplified but makes it clear that the monthly costs of repaying a mortgage are generally lower than paying rent. This is just one specific example; you must bear in mind that interest costs can change during the period of ownership. Given current low interest rates, you could face much higher interest costs when you come to renew the mortgage.

The key4 mortgage calculator lets you plan using your own figures, calculate what your monthly mortgage would be and compare it to your rental expenses.

Taxes: the obligations and benefits

Taxes must also be included in the calculation: When you buy a property in Switzerland, you become liable to pay a variety of taxes, depending on your individual situation. However, various types of tax relief are also available.

Incidental taxes

Property owners must pay the following taxes:

  • Wealth tax
    Wealth tax on real estate depends on the taxable value of the real estate, which will vary depending on the canton. Mortgage debt can be deducted from the tax due.
  • Income tax
    Income from renting or leasing a property is taxed. And if you live in the property yourself, you’ll need to pay tax on the imputed rental value as if it were income. This value depends on the amount that the property could be rented for on the open market.
  • Property tax
    Property tax is also payable, in addition to the wealth and capital tax already payable by the owner. Unlike wealth tax, property tax is calculated based on the gross value of the plot, i.e., without deducting the value of the mortgage loans. However, some cantons do not levy this tax.

Tax deductions

The following tax deductions are possible:

  • Mortgage interest
    Interest on debts is 100% deductible from your taxable income and this also applies to mortgage interest. The more interest you pay, the lower your taxable income.
  • Indirect amortization
    When a loan is amortized, a certain part of the mortgage is repaid to the lender by the dates stipulated in the agreement. With indirect amortization, these amounts are paid into a retirement savings account or an insurance policy as part of pillar 3a. These deposits can be deducted from your taxable income. After retirement, the capital in pillar 3a is paid out and used to repay the mortgage. This means that the amount of mortgage debt and deductible debt interest remains stable while the payments into pillar 3a reduce your taxable income.
  • Value-preserving renovation and maintenance work
    As a rule, all value-preserving expenses relating to the property are tax-deductible. These include, for example, renovation of the façade, a new roof or a new heating system. The owner can choose whether to deduct the actual costs or use the option of a lump-sum deduction. What exactly counts as deductible maintenance is decided in individual cases by the relevant tax office. Tip: retain copies of the decisions of the tax office about deductions not granted (because they were deemed to add rather than preserve value). You will be able to use them to lower the property gains tax payable when you come to sell the property.

Rent or buy?

Rent or buy? Both alternatives have their pros and cons. The advantages of one are the disadvantages of the other – and vice versa. Below we have summarized the arguments for each option:

Renting – the main benefits

  • Straightforward and flexible (able to move at short notice)
  • Uncommitted financial resources
  • The property management company deals with the running, maintenance, repairs, heating, etc.
  • Repairs and maintenance costs are paid for by the owner

Buying – the main benefits

  • High level of security (no risk of eviction or rent increases)
  • A way of growing your wealth 
  • A reliable way of providing for your retirement
  • Potential increase in value
  • Ability to furnish and decorate your home as you wish
  • You decide on modernization and renovation measures
  • Tax benefits (building maintenance and mortgage interest)
The benefits of buying include a high standard of fitting and interior decoration to your own taste. Example: walk-in wardrobe
@Getty Images

Summary

Owning your own property naturally also means taking responsibility for many things that are not your concern when you rent: interior design, operating costs, maintenance. With a rented property, you are also more flexible and more free to invest your financial resources. From a financial point of view, however, owning your own home has many attractive advantages, given that most of the money you put in is effectively returned to you as a capital investment.

With a clever financing strategy and a good location, your property should also go up in value. Then there are the sentimental factors such as the security of owning your own home, providing for your retirement and the feeling of being, quite literally, “at home.” Which arguments weigh more heavily in the decision whether to rent or buy is also a question of personality type.


Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your vote!


More articles on the topic


Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Immobilier: Louer ou acheter? | key4.ch

Vaut-il mieux louer ou acheter un bien immobilier?

@Getty Images
23.02.2022 | 6 minutes

L’accession à la propriété est souvent un objectif central de la vie de nombreuses personnes qui est motivé purement par l’affect: avoir son chez-soi, c’est être plus en sécurité, avoir plus de marge de manœuvre et moins risquer d’être pris au dépourvu. Mais qu’est ce qui justifie l’achat du point de vue rationnel et financier?

Les biens immobiliers gagnent en valeur

L’investissement dans l’immobilier est un placement peu risqué. Le marché de l’immobilier en Suisse est connu pour sa constance. Les propriétaires ont vu la valeur de leur bien augmenter en raison de la hausse conséquente des prix de l’immobilier de ces dernières années.

Vous souhaitez investir dans l’immobilier?

Vous trouverez ici l’offre d’hypothèque qui vous convient.

L’investissement immobilier est plus performant que le plan d’épargne

Actuellement, il est évident que les comptes épargnes ne génèrent pas d’intérêts. Selon les experts, cela ne changera pas au cours des prochaines années. Cela veut dire que les comptes épargnes classiques ne rapportent plus rien.

C’est facile à constater avec un simple calcul: supposons qu’un compte épargne rapporte 0,3% d’intérêts, mais que l’inflation soit de 1%: cela veut dire qu’un épargnant perd 0,7% de son capital par année. La situation ne semble pas meilleure pour les autres formes d’investissements avec des risques probabilisables, comme p.ex. le dépôt à terme. De plus, les obligations souveraines et d’entreprises n’apportent des bénéfices que si les cours augmentent pendant la durée de propriété. C’est pourquoi l’immobilier est considéré comme une option viable pour placer son argent.

L’immobilier comme outil de prévoyance-vieillesse – la couverture idéale

En Suisse, l’immobilier est l’une des formes d’investissements les plus populaires pour la prévoyance vieillesse. Les retraites de l’AVS et de la caisse de pension ne suffisent généralement pas pour maintenir son niveau de vie habituel. L’une des plus grandes idées reçues concerne la hausse des prix de l’hypothèque à la retraite. La plupart des gens veulent partir à la retraite avec le moins de dettes hypothécaires possibles et sous-estiment les dépenses courantes. L’hypothèque ne doit donc être amortie que tant qu’elle reste viable et que le besoin en liquidités est correctement pris en compte.

Une séniore aux cheveux gris arrose le jardin de sa propriété.
@Getty Images

Vaut-il mieux acheter ou louer?

Un calcul simplifié permet de savoir quand l’achat est financièrement plus avantageux que la location.

Imaginons que le coût d’une location soit de 1 500 francs par mois: cela représente un peu moins de 20 000 francs par an. Allons encore plus loin et imaginons qu’un appartement équivalent en propriété par étage coûte 500 000 francs à l’achat. Les directives des taux d’avance de l’établissement bancaire imposent qu’au moins 20% de la valeur du bien soit financés par des apports personnels (soit 100 000 francs ici). Il ne faut pas oublier que ces apports sont fixes et que leur utilisation entraîne une diminution de la capacité financière. Ce capital ne peut donc pas être investi dans d’autres placements de façon rentable.

Une hypothèque est donc conclue pour les 400 000 francs restants à payer. Avec des taux d’intérêts à 1%, les intérêts mensuels s’élèvent à 333 CHF. 1% de la valeur du bien immobilier doit être budgétisé pour les frais d’entretien et les frais annexes, soit 416 francs. En additionnant ces deux chiffres, on obtient un total de 750 francs.

Il faut également penser à l’amortissement. Un emprunt hypothécaire doit être remboursé aux deux tiers du prix d’achat au bout de 15 ans ou au plus tard à l’âge de la retraite. Dans cet exemple, 371 francs sont consacrés à l’amortissement. Le coût total mensuel de l’achat s’élève donc à 1 121 francs. Économie par rapport à la location: 1 500-1 121=379 francs. Ce calcul est évidemment simplifié, mais l’idée générale est suffisamment claire: payer une hypothèque revient moins cher que payer un loyer. Ce calcul n’est basé que sur des données à une date déterminée. Il faut garder à l’esprit que les taux d’intérêts peuvent changer au cours de la durée de propriété. Le renouvellement d’une hypothèque peut engendrer des taux d’intérêts plus élevés que cela a été le cas dans le passé.

Grâce au calculateur d’hypothèque key4, vous pouvez planifier et calculer le coût mensuel de votre hypothèque pour le comparer avec vos dépenses moyennes de loyer.

Impôts: avantages et obligations

Les impôts doivent également être pris en compte dans le calcul: Lorsque vous achetez un bien immobilier en Suisse, le droit fiscal vous impose de payer divers impôts en fonction de votre situation individuelle. Néanmoins, vous pouvez à nouveau faire valoir des déductions fiscales.

Impôts exigibles

Les propriétaires sont soumis aux impôts suivants:

  • Impôt sur la fortune
    La valeur fiscale du terrain est déterminante pour le calcul de l’impôt sur la fortune immobilière, qui s’effectue de façon différente selon les cantons. La dette hypothécaire fera ensuite l’objet d’une déduction fiscale.
  • Impôt sur le revenu
    Le revenu locatif ou les baux d’un bien foncier sont imposables en tant que revenu. Même les propriétaires qui vivent dans leur propre logement doivent payer l’impôt sur la valeur locative en tant que revenu. Cet impôt se base sur le montant du loyer auquel ils peuvent prétendre en louant sur le marché libre.
  • Impôt foncier
    L’impôt foncier est prélevé en plus de l’impôt sur la fortune et de l’impôt sur le capital, qui frappent déjà les biens immobiliers. Contrairement à l’impôt sur la fortune, l’impôt foncier est calculé sur la valeur brute des biens-immobiliers, c’est-à-dire sans déduction de la dette hypothécaire. Cependant, certains cantons renoncent à prélever ces impôts.

Déductions fiscales

En contrepartie, il est possible de faire valoir les déductions fiscales suivantes:

  • Intérêts hypothécaires
    Les intérêts passifs sont déductibles à 100 % des revenus imposables. C’est également le cas pour les d’intérêts hypothécaires: Plus l’on paye d’intérêts, moins le revenu est imposable.
  • Amortissement indirect
    Lors de l’amortissement d’un crédit, l’hypothèque est remboursée d’un montant précis au bailleur de fonds pendant une période déterminée par contrat. En cas d’amortissement indirect, ce montant est déposé sur un compte épargne ou sur une police d’assurance au pilier 3a. Ces versements peuvent être déduits des revenus imposables. La somme du capital doit être versée sur le pilier 3a au plus tard à l’âge de la retraite et être utilisée pour le remboursement de l’hypothèque. Ainsi, la dette hypothécaire et les intérêts débiteurs restent stables et les versements du pilier 3a peuvent être déduits du revenu imposable.
  • Maintien de la valeur et travaux d’entretien 
    En principe, toutes les dépenses liées au bon maintien du bien immobilier peuvent être déductibles fiscalement (p.ex. ravalements de façade, réparations du toit ou encore installation d’un nouveau système de chauffage). Le propriétaire foncier peut choisir s’il veut déduire les frais effectifs ou recourir à une déduction forfaitaire. L’administration fiscale compétente désigne au cas par cas de l’octroi ou du rejet de la déduction fiscale pour chaque frais. Un conseil: conservez les décisions de rejet de déduction fiscale (étant donné que ces frais seront taxés comme plus-value). En cas de vente, ces dernières peuvent être déduites lors de l’évaluation de l’impôt sur les gains immobiliers.

Louer ou acheter

Louer ou acheter? Les deux options présentent des avantages et des inconvénients. Les avantages de l’un sont les inconvénients de l’autre, et vice-versa. Vous trouverez ci-dessous la liste des avantages pour chacune des options de financement:

Les avantages majeurs de la location

  • Simple et flexible (changement de domicile plus rapide)
  • Pas d’engagement bancaire
  • L’administration s’occupe du maintien, des réparations, du chauffage etc…
  • Les frais d’installation et de réparation sont payés par le propriétaire

Les avantages majeurs de l’achat

  • Plus de sécurité (préavis, loyers)
  • Constitution de son propre patrimoine
  • Prévoyance vieillesse fiable
  • Potentielle augmentation de la valeur du bien
  • Plus de liberté d’aménagement
  • Plus de liberté de rénovation et de décoration
  • Avantages fiscaux (frais d’entretien, taux d’intérêts hypothécaires)
La plus grande liberté d’aménagement et de décoration fait partie des avantages liés à l’achat d’un bien immobilier. Voici par exemple une garde-robe aménagée.
@Getty Images

En conclusion

Contrairement au locataire d’un bien immobilier, le propriétaire a des responsabilités à prendre: aménagement, bon fonctionnement, maintenance. Avec une location, vous êtes plus flexible et plus libre financièrement. Néanmoins, être propriétaire possède de nombreux avantages financiers: une grande partie des frais de maintenance se transforme en investissement pour votre bien.

Une bonne stratégie de financement et une situation avantageuse du bien-immobilier souhaité engendrera très probablement une plus-value. Le sentiment de sécurité que procure la propriété, la prévoyance vieillesse et le sentiment d’être vraiment chez-soi sont des facteurs émotionnels qu’il ne faut pas oublier. Savoir quels arguments ont le plus de poids est aussi une question de personnalité qu’il faut prendre en compte au moment de faire le choix de façon définitive.


Cet article a-t-il été utile?
Merci pour votre vote!


Plus d’articles sur ce thème


Prêt(e) pour la meilleure offre?


Restez au fait de l’actualité

Lisez régulièrement des articles passionnants et recevez des conseils utiles en lien avec l’achat d’une maison ou d’un appartement.

S’abonner à la newsletter key4

Ce site web utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience de navigation. Vous trouverez plus d’informations dans la déclaration de confidentialité. Vous pouvez modifier vos paramètres de cookies dans les paramètres de confidentialité. Accédez aux paramètres de confidentialité