Tax deductions for your home: possible or not | key4.ch

Tax deductions for your home: smart savings

© Getty Images
19.01.2021 | 3 minutes

When you own your own home, your tax return becomes more extensive, but your tax contribution is not necessarily higher. In this article you will learn what the imputed rental value is and which expenses can be deducted on your tax return.

As a homeowner, you have several options for optimizing your tax burden. The terms imputed rental value, maintenance costs and debt interest don’t mean anything to you yet? Then it’s high time to familiarize yourself with the tax deductions available in relation to your home. We provide an overview of the biggest savings factors here.

Imputed rental value: a brief explanation

Anyone who occupies their own property in Switzerland must pay tax on the “imputed rental value”, also known as the “rental value of owner-occupied property”. This is a tax on notional income – i.e. an estimated rental income that the owner would receive if the property were rented.

Since property owners live in their own home, they don’t receive any rental income, but they do earn income in kind which is equivalent to the amount of rental costs they save. The imputed rental value varies from canton to canton – generally speaking, it is about 60 to 70 percent of the amount that a tenant would have to pay in annual rent for the residential property in question.

This fictitious income, like actual income from rental property, is subject to income tax and must be declared accordingly. At the end of the year, on the other hand, a whole range of tax deductions can be claimed, which will be discussed in detail later in this article.

A man is carrying a solar panel towards a house; trees can be seen in the background.
© Getty Images

Tax deductions: what’s possible

Below is a list of items with more detailed explanations of the associated deductions that homeowners can claim on their tax returns.

Debt interest

Regardless of the debt, interest can be deducted on your tax return – this applies to mortgage debt as well as private loans from family members or credit card debt. The following rule must be observed: mortgage and other debt interest corresponding to the value of taxable property income, plus an additional CHF 50,000, may be deducted from your taxable income.

If you are amortizing your mortgage, a distinction must be made as to whether the payments are direct or indirect. Indirect amortization payments to a pillar 3a account are deductible, while direct amortization payments are not.

Energy-saving measures

Investments aimed at improving the energy efficiency of residential property and thus contributing to environmental protection are generally deductible. Examples include measures such as installing a photovoltaic or solar thermal system on the roof, fitting a more environmentally friendly heating system or insulating the house facade.

Renovation and maintenance costs

To determine whether renovation and maintenance costs are tax-deductible, the crucial factor is whether or not they allow the homeowner to increase or simply to maintain the value of their property. The property would lose value without this work and, in the worst-case scenario, could even become uninhabitable.

For tax purposes, measures taken to preserve property value are part of property maintenance and are therefore deductible from income. Here is a list of possible measures:

  • Renovation and repair (for example to renovate the facade or replace the windows)
  • Replanting the garden
  • Repair or replacement of household appliances (for example a dishwasher or washing machine) and heating systems
  • Clearing of paths and accesses
  • Fees for craftsmen (such as painters, carpenters or plumbers)
  • Insurance premiums (for example for fire, water and liability insurance)

However, financial expenses that result in an increase in value (such as a new garage, a fireplace or an attic conversion) cannot be claimed as tax deductions. But more on that below.

Close-up of a person planting a small tree; more trees can be seen in the background.
© Getty Images

Tax deductions: what’s not possible

Here are some examples of items that cannot be deducted from your taxes.

Value-enhancing investments

Wondering whether you can turn the bathroom into a luxurious wellness oasis and then claim the whole thing back on your tax return? Since this is a value-enhancing investment, it’s not eligible. The same applies to additions and conversions such as building a garage or converting the attic, for example.

In some cases, it is not immediately obvious whether a measure is value-preserving or value-enhancing. For example, if you replace your old oven with a high-quality steamer oven as part of a kitchen renovation, the cost probably won’t be deductible – but fitting structurally identical cabinets and countertops of the same value as before will be. If in doubt, it’s advisable to submit the project to the tax authorities of your municipality of residence and obtain confirmation of which costs can be deducted from your income.

Tip: even if value-enhancing investments can’t be taken into account for income tax purposes: keep the receipts for these financial expenses for 20 years, as they can be deducted on any real estate capital gains tax.

Operating costs

Financial expenses incurred as living costs do not qualify for tax deductions. Examples include the cost of heating oil, electricity, water, wastewater, telephone, cable connections and the Internet.

Flat-rate deduction or effective deduction

When homeowners fill in their tax return, there are two different options for deducting expenses.

Flat-rate deduction

If they only expect to make small deductions, homeowners can opt for a flat-rate deduction. In most cantons, this corresponds to between ten and 20 percent of the imputed rental value. In this case, evidence of any maintenance or renovation measures is not required.

Effective deduction

If the measures carried out on the property exceed the flat rate, homeowners should consider choosing the effective deduction. Here, a detailed list of all the costs is submitted to the tax authorities, stating the date, service, recipient and amount, with the relevant receipts as proof. If inconsistencies arise at the end of the day, the tax administration will request further evidence. If the worst comes to the worst, you can still deduct the flat rate amount.

Conclusion: tax deductions – good preparation is vital

When homeowners fill in their annual tax return, they should be well prepared because there are a number of ways to optimize taxes. Debt interest, a new photovoltaic system and value-preserving measures such as repairing windows are among them. On the other hand, value-enhancing measures and operating costs are excluded.

Tip: it’s important to plan extensive renovations and refurbishments with foresight and to clarify in advance whether it is more advantageous from a tax perspective to spread the costs over several years.

Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Déduction fiscale pour son domicile: des économies intelligentes

© Getty Images
19.01.2021 | 3 minutes

Avec l’accession à la propriété, la déclaration d’impôts devient plus complexe, mais la contribution fiscale n’est pas nécessairement plus élevée. Dans cet article, vous apprendrez ce qu’est la valeur locative et les dépenses qui peuvent être déduites sur votre déclaration d’impôts.

En tant que propriétaire, vous disposez de plusieurs options pour optimiser votre charge fiscale. Les termes valeur locative, frais d’entretien et intérêts débiteurs ne vous disent toujours rien? Il est alors grand temps de vous familiariser avec les déductions fiscales relatives à votre propriété. Nous donnons un aperçu des principaux facteurs d’économie.

Valeur locative: en bref

Les personnes qui habitent dans leur propre propriété en Suisse doivent payer l’impôt sur la «valeur locative», également appelée «valeur locative pour propriété à usage propre». Cette valeur est un impôt sur des revenus fictifs – à savoir un revenu locatif estimé que le propriétaire recevrait si la propriété était louée.

Les propriétaires ne perçoivent pas de revenus locatifs, mais un revenu en nature sous la forme de frais de location économisés. La valeur locative varie d’un canton à l’autre – en général, elle est d’environ 60 à 70% du montant qu’un locataire devrait payer comme loyer annuel pour le logement en question.

Le revenu fictif, tout comme les revenus réels des locations, est soumis à l’impôt sur le revenu et doit être déclaré en conséquence. En revanche, à la fin de l’année, toute une série de déductions fiscales peuvent être demandées, qui seront examinées en détail plus loin dans cet article.

Un homme porte un module solaire vers une maison; on peut voir des arbres en arrière-plan.
© Getty Images

Déduction fiscale: ce qui est possible

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des éléments expliqués plus en détail que les propriétaires peuvent faire valoir dans leur déclaration d’impôts.

Intérêts débiteurs

Quelle que soit la dette, les intérêts peuvent être déduits dans votre déclaration d’impôts – cela s’applique aux dettes hypothécaires ainsi qu’aux prêts personnels des membres de la famille ou aux dettes de cartes de crédit. Il faut, pour cela, veiller à la règle suivante: les intérêts des hypothèques et autres intérêts débiteurs à hauteur des revenus de placement et CHF 50’000 supplémentaires peuvent être déduits du revenu imposable.

Dans le cas de l’amortissement d’une hypothèque, il faut distinguer si les paiements sont directs ou indirects. Les paiements d’amortissement indirects sur un compte du pilier 3a sont déductibles, mais les paiements d’amortissement directs ne le sont pas.

Mesures d’économie d’énergie

Les investissements visant à améliorer l’efficacité énergétique de la propriété et à contribuer ainsi à la protection de l’environnement sont généralement déductibles. Cela comprend, par exemple, des mesures telles que l’installation d’un système photovoltaïque ou solaire thermique sur le toit, ou l’installation d’un système de chauffage plus respectueux de l’environnement ou l’isolation de la façade.

Frais de rénovation et d’entretien

Le facteur décisif pour la déductibilité fiscale des frais de rénovation et d’entretien est de savoir si les propriétaires augmentent ou maintiennent ainsi la valeur de leur propriété. Le bien immobilier perdrait de la valeur sans ces travaux et pourrait même devenir inhabitable dans le pire des cas.

D’un point de vue fiscal, les mesures de maintien de la valeur font partie de l’entretien de la propriété et sont donc déductibles du revenu. Voici une liste de mesures possibles:

  • Rénovation et entretien (par exemple, rénovation des façades, remplacement des fenêtres)
  • Replantation du jardin
  • Réparation ou remplacement des appareils ménagers (par exemple, lave-vaisselle, lave-linge) et des systèmes de chauffage
  • Déblayage des chemins
  • Honoraires des artisans (par exemple, peintres, charpentiers, plombiers)
  • Primes d’assurance (par exemple, incendie, eau, responsabilité civile)

Au contraire, les charges financières qui entraînent une plus-value (comme un garage neuf, une cheminée ou la transformation d’un grenier) ne peuvent pas être déduites fiscalement. Nous en dirons toutefois plus à ce sujet ci-dessous.

Gros plan d’une personne plantant un petit arbre; on peut voir d’autres arbres en arrière-plan.
© Getty Images

Déduction fiscale: ce qui n’est pas possible

Voici maintenant des exemples d’éléments qui ne peuvent pas être déduits de l’impôt.

Investissements à plus-value

Transformer la salle de bain en une luxueuse oasis de bien-être et tout déclarer sur votre déclaration d’impôts? Comme il s’agit d’un investissement à valeur ajoutée, cela n’est pas possible. Il en va de même, par exemple, pour les extensions et les transformations telles que la construction d’un garage ou la transformation d’un grenier.

Dans certains cas, il n’est pas immédiatement évident de savoir si une mesure permet de maintenir ou d’augmenter la valeur. Par exemple, si le vieux four est remplacé par un four à vapeur de haute qualité dans le cadre d’une rénovation de la cuisine, le coût ne sera probablement pas remplacé – mais les placards et les plans de travail de même construction et de même valeur le seront. Si vous n’êtes pas sûr(e), il est fortement conseillé de soumettre le projet aux autorités fiscales de la commune de résidence et d’obtenir une confirmation des coûts qui peuvent être déduits de vos revenus.

Conseil: même si les investissements à plus-value ne peuvent être pris en compte aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu, conservez les reçus de ces charges financières pendant 20 ans, car elles peuvent être déduites de l’impôt sur les gains immobiliers.

Coûts d’exploitation

Les charges financières utilisées pour la subsistance ne sont pas éligibles à la déduction fiscale. Cela comprend notamment les coûts du mazout, de l’électricité, de l’eau, des eaux usées, du téléphone, de la connexion au câble et de la connexion Internet.

Déduction forfaitaire ou déduction effective

Pour ce qui est de la déclaration d’impôts, deux possibilités de déduction existent pour les propriétaires en matière de dépenses déductibles.

Déduction forfaitaire

Si l’on ne prévoit que de petites déductions, les propriétaires peuvent bénéficier d’une déduction forfaitaire. Dans la plupart des cantons, cela représente entre 10 et 20% de la valeur locative. Dans ce cas, il n’est pas nécessaire de fournir la preuve d’une quelconque mesure d’entretien ou de rénovation.

Déduction effective

Si les mesures prises dépassent le montant forfaitaire, il convient d’envisager la déduction effective. Ici, tous les coûts sont listés en détail à l’administration fiscale, en indiquant la date, le service, le destinataire et le montant, et sont justifiés par les reçus correspondants. En cas d’incohérence, l’administration fiscale demandera des preuves supplémentaires. Dans le cas défavorable, le montant forfaitaire est déduit.

Conclusion: déduction fiscale – une bonne préparation est importante

Lorsque les propriétaires s’attaquent à leur déclaration d’impôts annuelle, ils doivent être bien préparés, car il existe de nombreuses façons de l’optimiser. Cela comprend les intérêts débiteurs, une nouvelle installation photovoltaïque et des mesures de maintien de la valeur comme la réparation des fenêtres. En revanche, les mesures à plus-value et les coûts d’exploitation sont exclus.

Conseil: il est donc essentiel de planifier les rénovations et les réaménagements importants avec prévoyance, et de clarifier à l’avance s’il est plus avantageux d’un point de vue fiscal de répartir les coûts encourus sur plusieurs années.

Prêt(e) pour la meilleure offre?


Restez au fait de l’actualité

Lisez régulièrement des articles passionnants et recevez des conseils utiles en lien avec l’achat d’une maison ou d’un appartement.

S’abonner à la newsletter key4

Ce site utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience sur notre site. Vous trouverez plus d’informations dans la déclaration de confidentialité. Vous pouvez modifier vos paramètres de cookies dans les paramètres de confidentialité. Accédez aux paramètres de confidentialité