Home ownership: points for cohabiting couples | key4.ch

Home ownership: points for cohabiting couples to observe

© Getty Images
28.01.2021 | 2 minutes

No marriage certificate, but joint home ownership: when couples in Switzerland plan their future together, they should settle all the important financial and legal aspects of their future cohabitation before buying real estate – so that they can look to the future with peace of mind. We explain what needs to be considered.

Concubinage is the cohabitation of two persons who are not married to each other, of opposite sex or of the same sex. To acquire residential property as a couple without a marriage certificate, no separate cohabitation agreement is necessary. However, the law governing the purchase of residential property by this type of couple is very fragmented, so it’s advisable to settle some important points yourself before signing the purchase contract.

Determine the ownership conditions

Unmarried couples generally have a choice of three forms of ownership when purchasing property. The pros and cons of these three options must be carefully weighed up before deciding on the best solution.

Option 1: sole ownership

In the case of sole ownership, only one partner acts as the buyer of the property and is entered accordingly in the land register as the sole owner. This means that all rights and obligations rest with this person. They can therefore make all decisions concerning the residential property independently without consultation. The second partner, on the other hand, has no rights to the property. In theory, sole owners should even sign a rental agreement with their partner.

Option 2: co-ownership

In the case of co-ownership, both cohabiting partners are owners of the property and can be listed in the land register according to their share in it. The ownership ratio can be defined individually. The proportions are given in the form of fractions, for example ⅔ to ⅓. As a rule, the division corresponds to the financial participation in the purchase. With this form of ownership, each partner can freely dispose of their share.

Co-ownership as a form of ownership is mandatory if mortgage borrowers decide to contribute part of their pension provision to the financing, i.e. sums from their second or third pillar, in other words from their pension fund or private pension provision. For some people, this measure is necessary to meet the 20 percent equity requirement for a mortgage. At least ten percent must comprise their own, privately saved funds. The remainder may generally come from the pension fund. If, for example, one partner makes an early withdrawal of pension fund assets, this must also be documented in the land register.

Option 3: joint ownership

In the case of joint ownership, both cohabiting partners buy the property together. Both are entered in the land register as owners. In contrast to co-ownership, however, no pro-rata share is specified. The property automatically belongs equally to both partners, even if one cohabiting partner invests more equity.

With joint ownership, both owners can only make decisions regarding their residential property by mutual agreement, for example if a sale is up for discussion. However, in the case of joint ownership, it is not possible for an unmarried couple to withdraw pension funds to finance the purchase of the property.

A couple is sitting at a table in an office for an appointment with an advisor. There is an open laptop on the table.
© Getty Images

Settling debt liability between cohabiting couples

Cohabiting couples can take out a mortgage regardless of the chosen form of ownership and the corresponding ownership relationships. The bank accepts either a sole debtor or a joint and several debtor when granting the mortgage. If both partners take out the mortgage together, both are jointly and unrestrictedly liable.

Therefore, as well as defining the terms of ownership, it’s advisable to obtain clarity regarding the division of debt liability. For example, if one partner contributes 25 percent of the funds but is liable for 50 percent as a mortgage borrower, discrepancies are likely to arise if the worst comes to the worst. Therefore, in this type of situation, it may be a good idea for the partners to balance out varying equity shares, for example with the help of a private loan agreement.

A safety net for couples without a marriage certificate: a cohabitation agreement

Although the Swiss Civil Code (CC) contains numerous provisions on marriage, there are virtually no rules on the rights and obligations of cohabiting couples. Therefore, each couple should specify their individual obligations by having a cohabitation agreement drawn up by an expert. The agreement should be made in writing and signed by both partners. Notarization is not a requirement. This agreement should address all the essential issues relating to home ownership and mortgages so that the couple can rely on binding agreements if something were to go wrong between them. The following points are especially important:

  • Property: it is important to set out the exact division of ownership, in particular the form of ownership, quotas and voting rights of both partners, and to indicate the origin of the contributed capital.
  • Costs: agreement on the distribution of all current expenses such as interest, incidental expenses, maintenance, renovations, etc. – in equal shares or according to income.
  • Separation: how would residential property and assets be divided up if the couple were to separate? Under what conditions can one of the partners take over the residential property?
  • Inheritance: there are no provisions for cohabitation in Swiss inheritance law. Therefore, couples should draw up a will as well as a cohabitation agreement. This regulates the inheritance, taking into account all compulsory shares of other heirs (parents, children). Regulations with further heirs can be determined in an additional inheritance contract.
  • Death: cohabiting couples can protect themselves with a death risk insurance policy in addition to a will. This allows them to cover the financial risks of the surviving partner. The insured sum should correspond to an amount that would allow the insured person to continue to financially afford the home.

Conclusion: it’s best to obtain professional advice

For all the joy and happiness that comes with buying a home – the financing and ownership arrangements require serious planning. Failing this, unmarried couples in particular run the risk of unpleasant surprises because the legal regulations for cohabiting couples are very incomplete. In order to avoid any unpleasant surprises later on, the drafting of documents with such far-reaching implications should always be left to an expert.


Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your vote!


More articles on the topic


Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Propriété: ce qu’il faut garder en tête | key4.ch

Propriété: ce à quoi les concubins doivent prêter attention

© Getty Images
28.01.2021 | 2 minutes

Pas d’acte de mariage, mais une propriété commune: en Suisse, lorsque les couples planifient leur avenir ensemble, ils doivent régler tous les aspects financiers et juridiques importants de leur future cohabitation avant d’acheter – afin de pouvoir envisager sereinement l’avenir. Nous vous présentons ce que vous devez garder à l’esprit.

Le concubinage est la cohabitation de deux personnes qui ne sont pas mariées, de sexe différent ou de même sexe. Un contrat de concubinage spécial n’est pas nécessaire pour acquérir une propriété en tant que couple sans acte de mariage. Toutefois, la loi ne réglemente l’achat de propriétés par ces couples que de manière fragmentaire, il est donc conseillé de régler vous-même certains points importants avant de signer le contrat de vente.

Régler les rapports de propriété

En général, les couples non mariés ont le choix entre trois formes de propriété lorsqu’ils achètent un bien immobilier. Les avantages et les inconvénients de ces trois options doivent être soigneusement pesés avant de choisir la meilleure option.

Option 1: propriété exclusive

Avec la propriété exclusive, un seul partenaire agit en tant qu’acheteur du bien immobilier et est donc inscrit au registre foncier en tant que propriétaire unique. Dans ce cas précis, tous les droits et obligations incombent à cette personne. Cela signifie que cette dernière peut prendre toutes les décisions concernant la propriété de manière indépendante, sans aucune consultation. Le deuxième partenaire, en revanche, n’a aucun droit sur l’objet. Si l’on prend cela très au sérieux, les propriétaires uniques doivent même signer un contrat de location avec leur partenaire.

Option 2: copropriété

Dans le cas de la copropriété, les concubins sont propriétaires d’un bien immobilier et peuvent être inscrits au prorata dans le registre foncier. La quote-part de possession peut être définie individuellement. Les parts sont données sous forme de fractions, par exemple ⅔ à ⅓. En règle générale, la division correspond à la participation financière à l’achat. Avec cette forme de propriété, chaque partenaire peut disposer librement de sa part.

La copropriété en tant que forme de propriété est obligatoire si les emprunteurs hypothécaires décident de contribuer au financement d’une partie de leur prévoyance, à savoir du deuxième ou du troisième pilier, c’est-à-dire de la caisse de pension ou de la prévoyance privée. Pour certains, cette mesure est nécessaire pour respecter l’obligation de 20% de fonds propres pour un prêt hypothécaire. Au moins 10% doivent être des fonds propres, épargnés de manière privée. Le reste peut, en principe, provenir de la caisse de pension. Si, par exemple, l’un des partenaires effectue un retrait anticipé des avoirs de la caisse de pension, cela doit également être documenté dans le registre foncier.

Option 3: propriété commune

Dans le cas d’une propriété commune, les concubins achètent ensemble le bien immobilier. Tous deux sont inscrits au registre foncier en tant que propriétaires, contrairement à la copropriété, sans toutefois préciser une répartition proportionnelle. Le bien immobilier appartient automatiquement aux deux partenaires à parts égales, même si l’un des concubins investit plus de fonds propres que l’autre.

En cas de copropriété, les deux propriétaires ne peuvent prendre des décisions concernant leur propriété que d’un commun accord, par exemple si une vente est en cours de discussion. Toutefois, il n’est pas possible pour un couple non marié de faire appel à des avoirs de prévoyance à des fins de financement dans le cas d’une copropriété.

Un couple est assis à une table avec un conseiller lors d’un rendez-vous dans un bureau, un ordinateur portable est ouvert.
© Getty Images

Régler la responsabilité des débiteurs en cas de concubinage

Pour les concubins, la dette hypothécaire est contractée indépendamment de la forme de propriété choisie et des rapports de propriété associés. Lors de l’octroi de l’hypothèque, la banque accepte soit un débiteur unique, soit des débiteurs solidaires. Si les deux partenaires contractent l’hypothèque conjointement, ils sont tous deux responsables de manière conjointe et illimitée.

Il est donc conseillé de clarifier la répartition de la responsabilité des débiteurs en plus des rapports de propriété. Par exemple, si un partenaire apporte 25% des fonds, mais est responsable en tant que preneur d’hypothèque à 50%, il faut s’attendre à des divergences si le pire devait arriver. Dans ce cas précis, il peut donc être souhaitable que les partenaires équilibrent les différentes parts de capital propre, par exemple au moyen d’un contrat de prêt privé.

Filet de sécurité pour les couples non mariés: le contrat de concubinage

Bien que le Code civil (CC) contienne de nombreuses dispositions sur le mariage, il n’existe pratiquement aucune règle sur les droits et les obligations en matière de concubinage. Chaque couple devrait donc s’engager en demandant à un expert de rédiger un contrat de concubinage. Le contrat doit être établi par écrit et signé par les deux partenaires. Une authentification notariale n’est pas nécessaire. Dans cet accord, toutes les questions essentielles concernant le logement et l’hypothèque doivent être incluses afin de pouvoir recourir, si nécessaire, à des accords contraignants. Les points suivants sont particulièrement importants:

  • Propriété: il s’agit ici de la répartition exacte de la propriété, en particulier la forme de propriété, les quotes-parts et les droits de vote des deux partenaires ainsi que l’origine du capital apporté.
  • Coûts: accord sur la répartition de toutes les dépenses courantes telles que les intérêts, les frais annexes exclus, l’entretien, les rénovations, etc. – à parts égales ou en fonction des revenus.
  • Séparation: comment la propriété et les actifs sont-ils répartis en cas de séparation? Dans quelles conditions l’un des partenaires peut-il reprendre la propriété?
  • Testament: le droit successoral ne prévoit pas de dispositions relatives au concubinage. Par conséquent, en plus du contrat de concubinage, vous devez également rédiger un testament. La décision régit les parts héréditaires, en tenant compte de toutes les autres réserves héréditaires (parents, enfants). Les dispositions relatives aux autres héritiers peuvent être fixées dans un contrat d’héritage supplémentaire.
  • Décès: en plus d’un testament, les couples en concubinage peuvent se protéger grâce à une police risque-décès. Cette dernière couvre les risques financiers du partenaire survivant. La somme assurée doit être fixée de manière à ce qu’il puisse continuer à soutenir financièrement la propriété.

Conclusion: faites appel à un professionnel

Malgré toute la joie et le bonheur que procure l’achat d’un bien, les modalités de financement et de propriété doivent être sérieusement planifiées. Sinon, les couples non mariés, en particulier, risquent d’avoir de mauvaises surprises, car les dispositions légales relatives aux couples en concubinage sont très incomplètes. Afin d’éviter des écueils par la suite, il est recommandé de laisser à un expert le soin de rédiger des règlements d’une telle portée.


Cet article a-t-il été utile?
Merci pour votre vote!


Plus d’articles sur ce thème


Prêt(e) pour la meilleure offre?


Restez au fait de l’actualité

Lisez régulièrement des articles passionnants et recevez des conseils utiles en lien avec l’achat d’une maison ou d’un appartement.

S’abonner à la newsletter key4

Ce site web utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience de navigation. Vous trouverez plus d’informations dans la déclaration de confidentialité. Vous pouvez modifier vos paramètres de cookies dans les paramètres de confidentialité. Accédez aux paramètres de confidentialité