Land register: ordering extracts and viewing entries

Land register – what is it?

17.07.2020 | 3 minutes

When people hear “land register”, they probably think of a huge book with a leather cover. There is actually no such thing as a central land register. Instead, there is a land register office in charge of each individual canton. In most cases, they keep a digital register that is continuously updated: there is a land register page for each of the four million properties in Switzerland which documents the ownership situation and rights to the land. For example, it provides information on whether the owners have taken out a mortgage or pledged their property and if so, when.

Principles of the land register

Although most people have never looked at the land register, the principle of public access applies: anyone who is interested can contact the land register office to inquire about the most important key data of a property. Specifically, this includes the description of the property (e.g. its size), the owners, the date of acquisition, the forms of ownership (e.g. condominium ownership) as well as easements (rights of use such as right of abode and right of way) and land charges (e.g. obligation to supply water).

For this reason, the law requires that all parties negotiating over a plot of land must be informed of the associated entries in the land register. In the event of legal disputes, this means that no one can claim to have been unaware of the facts. The land register is always right: what’s written there applies. And everyone should be aware of this information.

A notary sitting at her desk puts her official stamp on a document.

The principle of “positive legal force”, as it is referred to by lawyers, provides legal certainty: anyone who acquires residential property in good faith in accordance with a land register entry does not need to carry out any further clarifications regarding the ownership situation.

However, the land register also has a flip side: “negative legal force”. The right to make decisions concerning a property only exists if the information is entered accordingly in the land register. Based on this principle, the purchaser of a property only becomes its owner when the change of ownership is entered in the land register.

Each entry in the land register must be recorded in writing by the owners – in line with the application principle. For example, a purchase of land requires public certification by a notary.

Land register extracts and land register information

When information is requested from the land register, the extent of detail provided depends on the purpose of the request. Partial information is sometimes sufficient to “satisfy curiosity”. For major construction projects and before signing important contracts, it is advisable to obtain a full land register extract, which discloses all the entries relating to a property. Some business partners – especially public authorities – even require the land register entry to be certified.

Anyone can partially inspect the land register easily and free of charge. Access is available to information including:

  • Designation of the land and description
  • Names of the owners
  • Form of ownership and date of acquisition
  • Easements (e.g. rights of way, usufruct, right of abode) and land charges (e.g. obligation to supply timber, maintenance of walls)

Anyone who wishes to obtain detailed information or a full extract from the land register must assert their “legitimate interest” at the land register office. Interest is qualified as legitimate if the request is made by owners, persons with rights or creditors such as craftsmen, for example.

What documents are required to request an extract from the land register?

Anyone wishing to obtain an extract from the land register needs to give the land register office the land register page number, the address and the E-GRID reference (federal property identification) of the property. This is the only way in which the land register office can identify the property.

In some cases, the land register office may also ask for an identity card or further information. The decision regarding the extent to which someone can gain access to the data remains at the discretion of the officials.

Several boats are moored along a river next to some houses.

How to order a land register extract

Most land register offices are flexible: you can order an extract by phone, email, letter or online. The document should usually arrive by post within three days.

Verbal information is provided free of charge by the land register office. A written extract from the land register is subject to a fee. The fees vary from canton to canton. As a rule, they range between 20 and 30 francs, although the cost is as high as 45 francs in Zug. In addition, there is usually a surcharge of about 20 francs when requesting certification.

Viewing land register entries online

In many cantons, a land register plan (showing the official cadastral survey in which the plots of land are numbered) is available on the Internet for property owners to refer to. In addition, many cantonal land registries have an online counter where the relevant extract from the land register can be ordered in just a few clicks.

Land register offices – who is in charge?

Switzerland does not yet have a central land register – responsibility lies with the cantons (the Federal government has overall control). Some cantons get by with just one land register, while others have several regional or municipal offices. There are combined notary’s offices and land register offices in a large number of cantons. The advantage is that information can be registered at a single office and publicly certified.


Cookies

This website uses cookies to ensure that you get the best experience on our website. For further information, please refer to the Privacy Statement. You can change the settings of your cookies in the Privacy Settings.

Change settings

Grundbuch: Auszug bestellen und Eintrag einsehen

Grundbuch – was ist das?

17.07.2020 | 3 Minuten

Manche denken beim Stichwort «Grundbuch» wohl an ein riesiges Buch mit Ledereinband. Dabei gibt es gar kein zentrales Grundbuch. Vielmehr sind die verschiedenen Grundbuchämter der einzelnen Kantone federführend. Meist ist ihr Grundbuch ein digitales Register, das laufend fortgeschrieben wird: Für jedes der vier Millionen Grundstücke in der Schweiz existiert ein Grundbuchblatt. Dieses dokumentiert, wie die Eigentumsverhältnisse und die Rechte am Grundstück definiert sind. So gibt es etwa Auskunft, ob und wann die Eigentümer eine Hypothek aufgenommen oder ihr Grundstück verpfändet haben.

Die Prinzipien des Grundbuchs

Obwohl die meisten Menschen noch nie einen Blick ins Grundbuch geworfen haben, gilt das Prinzip der Öffentlichkeit: Jede und jeder Interessierte kann sich beim Grundbuchamt über die wichtigsten Eckdaten eines Grundstücks erkundigen. Konkret zählen dazu die Beschreibung des Grundstücks (Beispiel: Grösse), die Eigentümer, der Erwerbszeitpunkt, die Eigentumsformen (Beispiel: Stockwerkeigentum) sowie die Dienstbarkeiten (Nutzungsrechte wie Wohnrecht und Wegrecht) und Grundlasten (Beispiel: Wasserlieferungspflicht).

Deswegen setzt das Gesetz voraus, dass alle Parteien, die über ein Grundstück verhandeln, über solche Einträge im Grundbuch informiert sind. Bei Rechtsstreitigkeiten kann also niemand behaupten, er habe von einem Sachverhalt nichts gewusst. Das Grundbuch hat immer recht: Es gilt, was hier eingetragen ist. Und diese Informationen sollten allen bekannt sein.

Eine Notarin am Schreibtisch setzt den Stempel auf ein Dokument.

Die «positive Rechtskraft», wie Juristen diesen Grundsatz nennen, gibt Rechtssicherheit: Wer im guten Glauben an einen Grundbucheintrag Wohneigentum erwirbt, muss keine weiteren Abklärungen über die Besitzverhältnisse treffen.

Allerdings hat das Grundbuch auch eine Kehrseite: die «negative Rechtskraft». Das Recht, über ein Grundstück zu bestimmen, besteht nur dann, wenn dies im Grundbuch auch so eingetragen ist. Aus diesem Eintragungsprinzip leitet sich auch ab, dass der Käufer einer Liegenschaft erst mit dem Eintrag ins Grundbuch deren Eigentümer wird.

Jede Eintragung im Grundbuch müssen die Eigentümer – gemäss dem Antragsprinzip – schriftlich anmelden. Für einen Grundstückskauf wird beispielsweise eine öffentliche Beurkundung durch einen Notar benötigt.

Grundbuchauszug und Grundbuchauskunft

Wie detailliert die angefragten Informationen aus dem Grundbuch ausfallen, ist abhängig vom Zweck der Anfrage. Um nur die Neugier zu stillen, reichen teilweise Auskünfte. Für grössere Bauprojekte und wichtige Vertragsabschlüsse empfiehlt sich ein vollständiger Grundbuchauszug, der die Einträge zu einem Grundstück offenlegt. Manche Geschäftspartner – vor allem Amtsstellen – verlangen gar, dass der Grundbucheintrag beglaubigt wird.

Eine teilweise Einsicht ins Grundbuch erhält jede Person unkompliziert und kostenlos. Sie umfasst unter anderem folgende Punkte:

  • Bezeichnung des Grundstücks und Beschreibung
  • Namen der Eigentümer
  • Eigentumsform und Erwerbsdatum
  • Dienstbarkeiten (zum Beispiel Wegrechte, Nutzniessung, Wohnrecht) und Grundlasten (zum Beispiel Holzlieferungspflicht, Mauerunterhalt)

Wer einen erweiterten Einblick beziehungsweise einen kompletten Grundbuchauszug wünscht, muss sein «schutzwürdiges Interesse» beim Grundbuchamt geltend machen. Ein solches Interesse liegt beispielsweise bei Eigentümern, Personen mit Rechten oder Gläubigern wie Handwerkern vor.

Welche Unterlagen benötigt man für die Anfrage nach einem Grundbuchauszug?

Wer einen Grundbuchauszug wünscht, sollte dem Grundbuchamt die Grundbuchblatt-Nummer, die Adresse und die E-GRID (eidgenössische Grundstücksidentifikation) des Grundstücks angeben. Nur so kann das Grundbuchamt das Grundstück identifizieren.

Je nach Fall ist es möglich, dass das Grundbuchamt zusätzlich um einen Personalausweis oder weitere Auskünfte bittet. Der Entscheid, inwieweit jemand Einblick in die Daten bekommt, bleibt im Ermessen der Beamten.

An einem Fluss entlang mehrerer Häuser liegen einige Boote.

So ist der Grundbuchauszug zu bestellen

Die meisten Grundbuchämter sind flexibel: Einen Auszug kann man telefonisch, per E-Mail, Brief oder online bestellen. Innert drei Tagen sollte das Dokument in der Regel per Post eintreffen.

Mündliche Auskünfte erteilt das Grundbuchamt kostenlos. Ein schriftlicher Grundbuchauszug ist kostenpflichtig. Die Gebühren variieren von Kanton zu Kanton. In der Regel bewegen sie sich zwischen 20 und 30 Franken, wobei Zug mit 45 Franken oben ausschwingt. Hinzu kommt meist ein Zuschlag von etwa 20 Franken, wenn man eine Beglaubigung bestellt.

Grundbucheintrag online einsehen

Viele Kantone stellen im Internet einen Grundbuchplan (Plan mit der amtlichen Vermessung, in dem die Grundstücke mit Nummern versehen sind) zur Verfügung, den Eigentümer nutzen können. Ausserdem bieten viele kantonale Grundbuchämter einen Online-Schalter an, über den sich mit wenigen Klicks der passende Grundbuchauszug bestellen lässt.

Grundbuchämter – wer ist zuständig?

Für die Schweiz besteht noch kein zentrales Grundbuch – die Zuständigkeit obliegt den Kantonen (der Bund hat die Oberaufsicht). Einige Kantone kommen mit nur einem Grundbuchamt aus, andere unterhalten mehrere regionale oder kommunale Ämter. In sehr vielen Kantonen sind die Notariate und Grundbuchämter vereint. Das hat den Vorteil, dass man einen Sachverhalt bei derselben Amtsstelle eintragen und öffentlich beglaubigen lassen kann.


Cookies

Diese Website verwendet Cookies, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie die beste Erfahrung auf unserer Website erhalten. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Datenschutzerklärung. Sie können die Einstellungen Ihrer Cookies in den Datenschutzeinstellungen ändern.