Buying a house: 12 steps to success | key4.ch

Home ownership: 12 steps to success

© Getty Images
19.10.2021 | 3 minutes

Anyone following their dream of buying a house or apartment has two tasks ahead of them: firstly, to find the right property, and secondly, to arrange financing. Below we explain all the key steps on the path toward your dream property.

Step 1: Check your financial situation

The first step is to clarify: “what can I afford?” There are two figures to take into account: the affordability and the loan-to-value ratio. The affordability indicates the ratio between the financing costs (mortgage interest, amortization, maintenance costs and incidental expenses etc.) and gross income. For the property to be considered affordable, the financing costs must not exceed one-third of gross income. Check your financial situation with the key4 affordability calculator.

Click here for the key4 affordability calculator

The next thing to do is to look into the loan-to-value ratio. For owner-occupied residential property, a maximum of 80% of the property value may be financed by a mortgage. The remaining 20% must be financed from equity. Equity includes savings and capital from occupational and private pension plans (2nd and 3rd pillar), plus any advance inheritance or gifts, where applicable. Remember that at least ten percent of the property must be financed with equity that does not come from your occupational pension plan.

Learn more about the possible components of equity here

Step 2: Obtain a financing certificate

A financing certificate is a non-binding assessment of the purchaser’s financial situation. It shows whether a mortgage provider accepts the principle of financing the desired property on the basis of income, assets and other financial factors. If you have a financing certificate ready for the viewing, you can show the broker and the seller that you are not only interested, but also solvent. The certificate can also help the buyer to find out which properties correspond to their financial situation. This allows them to target their search more effectively.

You can easily apply for a financing certificate online here

Step 3: Search for a property

It may take some time to find a suitable property. There are no general rules about how long the search will take, as the duration depends on several factors: Is there a clearly defined profile of requirements? How difficult will it be to meet these requirements? Are multiple sources being consulted to find the right property?

It usually helps to make a list where you note down and prioritize your personal requirements. Are you looking for a house for a young, growing family? Or an accessible senior residence? What’s more important: a large garden, a short commute or being close to the rest of the family? Do you want a half-timbered house, a bungalow or an architect’s house? Would you prefer an urban environment or a rural area? This type of list ultimately represents a profile of requirements that you can use during discussions with a broker, for instance.

In addition to regional brokers, proven research sources include real estate portals on the Internet, advertisements in daily and weekly newspapers, and word of mouth. Information about upcoming forced sales can be found in the official cantonal gazette, the Swiss Official Gazette of Commerce (SOGC) and on the websites of the relevant bankruptcy or debt enforcement office.

Read about the five most important factors in real estate searches here

A couple is sitting on a sofa looking at a tablet.
© Getty Images

Step 4: Arrange and prepare viewing appointments

Once you have identified potentially interesting properties, the next step is to arrange viewing appointments. Under no circumstances should you go to these appointments unprepared. Note down important questions in advance so you don’t forget anything. Before the appointment, it’s best to ask the broker or seller to provide a comprehensive presentation with all the plans and relevant documents.

Tip: The appointment itself should take place in daylight, because aspects such as the condition of the roof and facade are difficult to assess at dusk or in the evening. If possible, you should visit the property several times at different times of day – because not only the lighting conditions will vary, but also other elements such as the noise level (e.g. due to commuter traffic).

Even before the actual viewing, you should establish whether the existing infrastructure fits your own life. You should also take a close look at the local area before the appointment. This will give you an idea of the surroundings and the location of the property in advance.

Step 5: View the property

The most difficult part of a viewing is paying attention to several things at once: the atmosphere, room layout and equipment, as well as any damage or renovation requirements. And don’t forget the cellar and the attic. You should pay special attention to the condition of the heating and drinking water systems, windows, doors and facade. You should also obtain information on any renovation work that has already been carried out.

Asking about incidental expenses will help you to assess the energy condition of the house at an early stage: poor insulation of the roof or basement or an outdated heating system are factors that can lead to high renovation costs. It’s best to have an expert such as an appraiser accompany you to the viewing to assess the condition of the property.

Step 6: Determine the value of the property

If you decide to go ahead with the purchase, the question that quickly arises is: is the property worth the asking price? A professional real estate valuation will ensure clarity for all parties involved. A real estate valuation involves examining the house or apartment according to objective criteria in order to adequately determine the market value of the property.

An online real estate valuation is a good option for conveniently calculating the value of private single-family houses and apartments. This compares the desired property with thousands of others in the region and works out an average price. It takes into account criteria such as the macro-location (region, municipality, transport connections, etc.), and the micro-location (schools, type of street, orientation of the house, shopping facilities, etc.).

Click here for the key4 property assessment

In addition to these hedonic methods usually used in online real estate valuations, there are other real estate valuation methods.

Learn more about the different methods of real estate valuation here

Step 7: Clarify the financing

Have you found your dream property? With the mortgage calculator from key4, you can work out the right financing conditions – and immediately receive a free, non-binding offer. Once you’ve found the right mortgage, all the other steps on the way to financing the mortgage can be completed conveniently online here.

Click here for the key4 mortgage calculator

It’s best to give the mortgage provider a comprehensive dossier about the property including the land register extract, plans, energy assessment and photos. This will allow them to determine the market value of the property for financing purposes. This valuation can also be very helpful for a future negotiation if there is a major difference between the bank’s estimate and the provider’s price. As well as providing documents concerning the desired property, you will also need to compile the applicant’s dossier and give details of your financial situation – excerpt from the debt enforcement office, leasing contracts and other documents.

Here you can obtain an overview of the documents to be submitted for the credit check.

Whether house or apartment

Here you’ll find the right mortgage offer for you.

A woman’s hand is holding an open notebook. In the background there is a desk with office equipment including a laptop and a calculator.
© Getty Images

Step 8: Negotiate the price

Good arguments are needed to negotiate the price. If the house has been for sale for a while, the conditions could be right for negotiation. Basically, however, price negotiations require tact and sensitivity. At the end of the day, the seller is often in a better position due to the state of the real estate market. In the worst case scenario, another interested party will have their offer accepted for your dream house.

The best arguments for reducing the price are linked to the market value of the property. If a real estate valuation determines a lower value than the sales price, there is reason enough to negotiate. Structural defects or the need for renovation or refurbishment can also be helpful in negotiating the price. The more accurate the description, the better: lead pipes that need to be replaced, an attic with no insulation, a damp basement, etc.

The bidding process is a special case when it comes to price negotiation. After viewing the property, the prospective buyers submit their bids in several bidding rounds, like in a standard auction.

You can find more information about the bidding process in this article

Step 9: Draw up the reservation & purchase contract

Before the actual purchase of the house, the seller and the buyer often conclude a reservation contract. This can be kept very concise. It specifies the designation of the property, the agreed purchase price, the division of land register costs, the date of transfer and the amount of any down payment – including a provision in case the buyer or seller withdraws from the contract. The definitive purchase contract is drawn up on the basis of this reservation contract. The purchase contract for the property must always be notarized. The seller or the broker passes on all the relevant information about the property and personal arrangements to the notary. The latter then prepares a draft purchase contract referred to as the preliminary contract. Both parties receive a copy of this to check through.

The parties usually have about two weeks to review the purchase contract. It’s advisable to have the contract examined by a lawyer during this time. Once no more changes are requested by either party, the next step is to sign the contract with the notary.

Step 10: Arrange an appointment with the notary and transfer ownership

(All) sellers, buyers (or their authorized representatives) and the notary are always present at the authentication appointment. Everyone present receives a reading copy of the contract, which the notary subsequently reads aloud. This is the time to ask any final questions and make any necessary additions. Finally, the purchase contract is signed by both contracting parties and the notary. This seals the purchase, and the buyer is obliged to pay the purchase price.

Legally speaking, the transfer of ownership and the authentication of the purchase contract are two different processes. Depending on the procedures in force in the notary’s offices and land registers in the particular canton, the property may change hands immediately after authentication by the notary. However, there may also be a considerable delay between the authentication of the purchase contract and the actual transfer of ownership.

Step 11: Pay the purchase price and enter the details in the land register

After the transfer of ownership, the buyer receives a written request from the notary to pay the purchase price. This results in the mortgage provider paying out the mortgage.

For the mortgage provider to pay out the mortgage, several conditions must be met:

  • The buyer must have chosen a suitable mortgage and signed the mortgage contract with the mortgage provider.
  • The buying party must have paid in the equity, and the necessary collateral must be available (i.e. mortgage certificates or pledges).
  • The purchase contract must have been authenticated by notary.

In addition, the mortgage provider must be registered as the creditor in the land register entry for the new property. Once the seller has confirmed receipt of payment, the notary arranges for the land register to be amended. The purchase process is now complete.

Step 12: Obtain the keys and move in

The final act is the appointment for the handover of the property. This also includes the handover of the keys. Any payments already made, e.g. for heating oil, building insurance or taxes to the public authorities, must be settled on the handover date. Building insurance is the keyword here: it’s not only worth planning the move early on, it’s also important to check the insurance coverage for your new home.

You will find an overview of the insurance you need after buying a house here



Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your vote!


More articles on the topic


Ready for the best offer?


Stay informed

Read exciting articles on a regular basis and obtain useful tips on buying a house or apartment.

Subscribe to key4 newsletter

We use cookies to make sure you get the best experience on our website. For further information please consult the Privacy Statement. You are free to change your cookies’ settings in the privacy settings. Go to privacy settings

Acheter une maison: 12 étapes | key4.ch

12 étapes vers sa propre maison

© Getty Images
19.10.2021 | 3 minutes

Toute personne désireuse de devenir propriétaire de sa maison ou de son appartement a deux tâches à accomplir: d’une part, il faut trouver le bien adapté, et de l’autre, il faut organiser le financement. Découvrez dans ce qui suit, les étapes essentielles sur le chemin de la propriété de vos rêves.

Étape 1: déterminer le cadre financier

La première étape consiste à clarifier: «Que puis-je me permettre?» À cette fin, deux critères sont pris en compte: la capacité financière et le nantissement . La capacité financière indique le rapport entre les coûts de financement (intérêts hypothécaires, amortissement, frais d’entretien et frais annexes, etc.) et le revenu brut. Pour que le bien soit considéré comme abordable, les coûts de financement ne doivent pas dépasser un tiers du revenu brut. Découvrez votre cadre financier grâce au calculateur de capacité financière key4.

Cliquez ici pour accéder au calculateur de capacité financière key4

En outre, la question du nantissement doit être clarifiée: dans le cas d’un logement occupé par son propriétaire, un maximum de 80% de la valeur du bien peut être financé par une hypothèque. Les 20% restants doivent être financés par des fonds propres. Les fonds propres comprennent l’épargne, les capitaux de la prévoyance professionnelle et privée (2e et 3e piliers) et, le cas échéant, un héritage anticipé ou une donation. Ce qu’il faut prendre en considération: au moins 10% doivent être financés par des fonds propres qui ne proviennent pas de votre prévoyance professionnelle.

Pour en savoir plus sur les composantes possibles des fonds propres, cliquez ici

Étape 2: obtenir le certificat de financement

Un certificat de financement est une évaluation non contraignante de la situation financière de la partie acheteuse. Il indique si un fournisseur d’hypothèques considère que le financement d’un bien immobilier souhaité est en principe possible sur la base des revenus, du patrimoine et d’autres facteurs financiers. Avoir un certificat de financement à sa disposition lors de la visite permet de montrer à l’agent immobilier et au vendeur que l’on est non seulement intéressé mais aussi solvable. L’accord aide également l’acheteur à s’orienter pour savoir quels sont les objets que le cadre financier personnel permet d’envisager. Cela permet une recherche plus ciblée.

Vous pouvez facilement demander un certificat de financement en ligne ici

Étape 3: recherche du bien immobilier

Trouver le bien immobilier adapté peut prendre un certain temps. Il n’existe pas de réponse générale à la question de savoir combien de temps prendra la recherche d’un logement, car la durée dépend de plusieurs facteurs: existe-t-il un profil d’exigences clairement défini? Celui-ci est-il difficile à remplir? Plusieurs sources sont-elles utilisées pour trouver le bien adapté?

Il est généralement utile de dresser une liste dans laquelle on rassemble et on hiérarchise ses besoins personnels. S’agit-il d’une maison pour une jeune famille en pleine croissance? Ou d’une résidence pour personnes âgées sans obstacles? Un grand jardin, peu de trajet pour se rendre au travail ou la proximité du reste de la famille sont-ils importants? Doit-il s’agir d’une maison à colombages, d’un pavillon ou d’une maison d’architecte? Préfère-t-on un environnement urbain ou des zones rurales? Une telle liste permet de disposer d’un profil d’exigences pertinent que l’on peut utiliser, par exemple, pour l’entretien avec l’agent immobilier.

Outre les agences immobilières régionales, les portails immobiliers sur Internet, les annonces dans les quotidiens et les hebdomadaires, ainsi que le bouche-à-oreille, constituent des sources de recherche éprouvées. Les informations sur les ventes forcées à venir peuvent être trouvées dans le journal officiel cantonal, la Feuille officielle suisse du commerce (FOSC) et sur les sites Internet de l’office des faillites ou de l’office des poursuites compétent.

Découvrez ici les 5 facteurs les plus importants lors de la recherche d’un bien immobilier

Un couple est assis sur un canapé et regarde une tablette.
© Getty Images

Étape 4: organiser et préparer les visites

Une fois que les biens intéressants ont été identifiés, l’étape suivante consiste à organiser les visites. Il ne faut en aucun cas se rendre à ces rendez-vous sans être préparé et il faut noter au préalable les questions importantes pour ne rien oublier. Il est préférable de demander à l’avance à l’agent immobilier ou au vendeur qu’il fournisse un exposé complet avec tous les plans et documents pertinents.

Un conseil: le rendez-vous lui-même doit avoir lieu à la lumière du jour, car l’état du toit et de la façade, par exemple, est difficile à évaluer au crépuscule ou en soirée. L’idéal est de visiter le bien immobilier plusieurs fois à des moments différents, car non seulement les conditions d’éclairage changent, mais aussi le niveau de bruit, par exemple, qui dépend de l’heure de la journée (p. ex. le trafic pendulaire).

Avant même la visite proprement dite, il convient également de vérifier si l’infrastructure existante convient à sa vie personnelle. Il faut également examiner de près le quartier avant le rendez-vous. Cela permet de se faire une idée des environs et de l’emplacement de la propriété à l’avance.

Étape 5: effectuer une visite

Lors d’une visite de maison, il faut faire attention à plusieurs choses en même temps: l’atmosphère, la disposition des pièces, l’équipement, mais aussi les éventuels dommages ou les besoins de rénovation. La cave et le grenier doivent également être visités. Il convient d’accorder une attention particulière à l’état des installations de chauffage et d’eau potable, des fenêtres, des portes et de la façade, et d’obtenir des informations sur les rénovations qui ont déjà été effectuées.

Les frais annexes permettent d’évaluer l’état énergétique de la maison à un stade précoce: une mauvaise isolation du toit ou du sous-sol, un système de chauffage obsolète, tous ces facteurs engendrent des coûts de rénovation élevés. Il est préférable d’être accompagné d’un expert lors de la visite, par exemple un géomètre, afin de pouvoir évaluer l’état.

Étape 6: déterminer la valeur du bien

Si l’achat du bien immobilier se concrétise, la question se pose rapidement de savoir s’il vaut son prix. Une évaluation professionnelle du bien immobilier permet de clarifier la situation pour toutes les parties concernées: dans le cadre d’une évaluation immobilière, la maison ou l’appartement est examiné selon des critères objectifs afin d’établir de manière adéquate la valeur marchande de la propriété.

Une évaluation immobilière en ligne est un moyen pratique de calculer la valeur des maisons individuelles et des appartements. Elle compare le bien souhaité avec des milliers de biens dans la région et détermine ainsi un prix moyen. Des critères tels que la macro-localisation (région, commune, desserte, etc.) et la micro-localisation (écoles, type de rue, orientation de la maison, commerces, etc.).

Cliquer ici pour accéder à l’évaluation immobilière key4

Outre les méthodes hédoniques mentionnées ci-dessus, généralement utilisées dans les évaluations de biens en ligne, il existe d’autres méthodes d’évaluation immobilière.

Pour en savoir plus sur les différentes méthodes d’évaluation immobilière, cliquez ici

Étape 7: clarifier le financement

Vous avez trouvé la propriété de vos rêves? Le calculateur d’hypothèques de key4 permet de trouver les bonnes conditions – et propose immédiatement une offre gratuite et sans engagement. Une fois la bonne hypothèque trouvée, toutes les autres étapes du financement peuvent être effectuées en ligne ici.

Cliquez ici pour accéder au calculateur d’hypothèques de key4

Il est préférable de fournir au fournisseur hypothécaire un dossier complet sur le bien, comprenant un extrait du registre foncier, des plans, une évaluation énergétique et des photos. De cette manière, il peut déjà déterminer la valeur marchande du bien immobilier par rapport au financement. Cette évaluation peut également être très utile pour une négociation à venir s’il existe un écart important entre l’évaluation de la banque et le prix du fournisseur. Outre les documents relatifs au bien en question, il est également nécessaire de constituer le dossier et de connaître la situation financière du demandeur – extrait du registre des poursuites, contrats de leasing et autres documents.

Vous trouverez ici un aperçu des documents à soumettre pour la vérification de la solvabilité.

Maison ou appartement,

vous trouverez ici l’offre d’hypothèque qui vous convient parfaitement.

Une femme tient un cahier ouvert entre ses mains, à l’arrière-plan un bureau avec des accessoires de bureau tels qu’un ordinateur portable et une calculatrice.
© Getty Images

Étape 8: négocier le prix

Pour négocier le prix, de bons arguments sont nécessaires. Par exemple, si la maison est en vente depuis un certain temps, les conditions pour négocier dans un cadre raisonnable sont assez bonnes. De manière générale, cependant, les négociations de prix exigent du tact. Les vendeurs sont en effet souvent dans une meilleure position en raison de la situation sur le marché de l’immobilier. Dans le pire des cas, une autre partie intéressée finit par remporter l’offre pour la maison de vos rêves.

Les meilleurs arguments en faveur d’une réduction du prix sont fournis par la valeur vénale du bien. Si une évaluation du bien immobilier détermine une valeur inférieure au prix de vente, c’est une raison suffisante pour négocier. Les défauts structurels, les besoins de rénovation ou d’assainissement peuvent également être utiles pour négocier le prix. Plus la liste est précise, mieux c’est: des tuyaux en plomb à remplacer, un grenier sans isolation, une cave humide, etc.

Un cas particulier de négociation de prix est l’appel d’offres. Après la visite, des acheteurs potentiels soumettent leurs offres en plusieurs tours d’enchères, comme dans une vente aux enchères.

Vous trouverez plus d’informations sur la procédure d’appel d’offres dans cet article

Étape 9: rédiger le contrat de réservation et de vente

Avant l’achat effectif de la maison, le vendeur et l’acheteur concluent souvent un contrat de réservation. Ce document peut être très concis et comprend la désignation du bien, le prix d’achat convenu, la répartition des frais du registre foncier, la date de transfert et le montant d’un éventuel acompte, y compris la disposition relative dans le cas où l’une des deux parties devait se retirer du contrat. Sur la base de ce contrat de réservation, le contrat de vente définitif est établi. Le contrat de vente d’un bien immobilier doit toujours être notarié. Le vendeur ou l’agent immobilier transmet au notaire toutes les informations pertinentes concernant le bien et les accords personnels. Ce dernier rédige alors une ébauche de contrat de vente, appelée contrat préliminaire. Les deux parties en reçoivent alors un exemplaire pour examen.

Les deux parties disposent généralement d’environ deux semaines pour examiner le contrat de vente. Il est conseillé de faire vérifier le contrat par un avocat pendant cette période. S’il n’y a plus de demandes de modifications, l’étape suivante consiste à signer le contrat devant le notaire.

Étape 10: rendez-vous chez le notaire et transfert de propriété

Lors du rendez-vous d’authentification chez le notaire, (tous) les vendeurs, les acheteurs (ou leurs mandataires) et un notaire sont toujours présents. Toutes les personnes présentes reçoivent une copie du contrat que le notaire lit ensuite à haute voix. Les dernières questions peuvent alors être posées et des compléments peuvent être ajoutés si nécessaire. Pour finir, le contrat de vente est signé par les deux parties contractantes et le notaire. Cela scelle l’achat et l’acheteur est obligé de payer le prix d’achat.

Sur le plan juridique, le transfert de propriété et l’authentification du contrat de vente sont deux procédures différentes. Selon la réglementation des notaires et des registres fonciers du canton concerné, le bien immobilier change de mains immédiatement après l’authentification. Cependant, il arrive souvent que l’authentification du contrat de vente par le notaire et le transfert effectif de propriété aient lieu à des dates différentes.

Étape 11: payer le prix d’achat et procéder à l’inscription au registre foncier

Après le transfert de propriété, l’acheteur reçoit du notaire une demande écrite de paiement du prix d’achat. De cette façon, il donne l’ordre au fournisseur hypothécaire de verser l’hypothèque.

Pour que le fournisseur hypothécaire puisse verser l’hypothèque, plusieurs conditions doivent être remplies:

  • l’acheteur a choisi une hypothèque appropriée et a signé le contrat hypothécaire du fournisseur hypothécaire.
  • La partie acheteuse a versé les fonds propres et les garanties nécessaires (cédules hypothécaires, nantissement) sont disponibles.
  • Le contrat de vente a été authentifié.

En outre, le fournisseur hypothécaire est inscrit comme créancier dans le registre foncier du nouveau bien. Une fois que le vendeur a confirmé la réception du paiement, le notaire fait en sorte que le registre foncier soit modifié et le processus d’achat est terminé.

Étape 12: remise du bien et emménagement

Le dernier acte est le rendez-vous pour la remise du bien. Cela inclut également la remise des clés. Les paiements déjà effectués, tels que le mazout, l’assurance bâtiment ou les redevances aux autorités publiques, doivent être réglés à la date de la remise des clés. En parlant d’assurance bâtiment: il est utile de planifier le déménagement à l’avance, mais aussi de vérifier la couverture d’assurance du nouveau logement en propriété.

Vous trouverez ici un aperçu des assurances appropriées après l’achat d’une maison



Cet article a-t-il été utile?
Merci pour votre vote!


Plus d’articles sur ce thème


Prêt(e) pour la meilleure offre?


Restez au fait de l’actualité

Lisez régulièrement des articles passionnants et recevez des conseils utiles en lien avec l’achat d’une maison ou d’un appartement.

S’abonner à la newsletter key4

Ce site web utilise des cookies afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience de navigation. Vous trouverez plus d’informations dans la déclaration de confidentialité. Vous pouvez modifier vos paramètres de cookies dans les paramètres de confidentialité. Accédez aux paramètres de confidentialité